We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great smaller hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Vendue to your Saves list
The Vendue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter in Charleston
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great smaller hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great smaller hotel. Fabulous location close to best restaurants, tourist attractions and the water. Wonderful staff and best made to order breakfast included in the price of the room. Some rooms on the lower street level maybe noisy, but I would inquire about that when reserving a room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    263
    75
    49
    38
See reviews for
103
809
36
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Vendue for a brief stop off to see relatives. I had been to Charelston and he had not. When we arrive the staff was excellent, and friendly, the room has very very nice, but the ice machine right by our room was noisy. We requested to move to a new room that was quieter. The staff did not hesitate and move us right away, and it was even an upgrade. How awesome! The late night cookies are a MUST, and morning coffee and breakfast was excellent. I will not use another hotel when visiting Charelston again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I visited the Venue Inn the week before Christmas and had a wonderful stay. The staff was very professional and courteous and anticipated our every need. Loved the breakfasts, restaurant and Rooftop bar. The snow machine was a fabulous touch. We also liked having the fireplace in our room. The area is quiet yet within walking distance to everything. We requested dinner reservations be made for us and they listened to what we requested and we loved each one. We had a wonderful vacation full of memories.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights to break up a long driving trip to FL from CT. Hotel is very pretty - even more so since it was decorated for the holidays. Very central location - I just parked my car with the valet and was able to walk everywhere! I did join the Loyalty Club on their website as recommended and that provided me with a beautiful full breakfast each day at no charge. I would highly recommend signing up on their website. Staff was very friendly. Room was nice. I would definitely stay here again when traveling through Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Vendue for Christmas this year, (2012). My husband and I shared a wonderful king suite with a fireplace in the parlor, (along with our two small dogs). Our daughter had a beautiful queen room in the Vendue Suites across the street. It is a beautiful place.

Our recomendation is based firstly on the staff. They are kind, courteous, warm, and above all, professional. They set a very high standard for how to treat people.

The Vendue is historic, beautiful, immaculate, charming and romantic. We had breakfast on Christmas morning in the lovely dining room, with faux snow falling outside the windows. Tourists outside had their pictures taken under the falling snow. It had a fairy tale like quality, but all in fun.

The food is great! We were familer with the Rooftop Bar and Grill, but the Library Restaurant is wonderful, too. The breakfast is cooked to order, and the afternoon wine reception is plain Southern Hospitality at it's best.

Room Tip: There really are no bad rooms. We stayed in a suite right on the street level. Let the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This inn is in a great location, walking distance to everything. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were excellent, especially the banana french toast. I had it twice! The innkeeper's afternoon reception was better than many, with some nice appetizers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folly Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Vendue Inn for our 35th wedding anniversary. The museum, historic sights and the market were close to the Inn and within a few minutes walking or short drive. The owners and staff of the Inn should be commended on their outstanding service. We will be back to spend a few days again. This was the best stay we have experienced in a long time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vendue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rare blend of genteel warmth and exquisite luxury that is uniquely our own at The Vendue Charleston hotel. Offering upscale services, amenities and attentive service, our boutique hotel in the historic Downtown French Quarter of Charleston features a prime location with the best of the city at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Vendue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vendue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.