We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Vendue to your Saves list
The Vendue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holidays in Charleston
Ranked #14 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Treated like family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Have stayed at Vendue Inn, Millshouse, Harborview Inn, before. Due to treatment from staff we mostly stay and at the Vendue. Due to a special package, we were booked at another hotel. There was a mix up on the "special package" so when we went to check in the package we thought was included wasn't. The desk clerk stated they would either charge us almost $200 more or they would "do us a favor and cancel our stay without charging us the cancelation fee"
Due to the treatment we left that hotel. (It has been recktified since then to our satisfaction)
We stopped immediately at the Vendue.
The staff opens the front door, greeting you as if your a missed family member. I asked about a room for 2 nights and were checked in in minutes. The bellman takes you around and exptains everything neccessary and if you need anything just contact them. Wine/hor'dvs are included and what a spread they put on. My husband drinks beer and they offered to go to the roof top bar to get him anything he wanted.
The staff went out of their way at that time to print out a schedule of the Dock Theater schedule for me, without asking.
We went up to the roof top bar and were treated extremely well.
Hot cookies/milk at night after an evening out. Breakfast is always perfect. That also was included and the little waitress from Russia has a sweet, happy personality wanting to please you.
As stated we have stayed here many times and this treatment never fluckuates. They actually act as if they are sorry to see you leave.

Again, we have never experienced this treatment at any of the other hotels.
The hotel is spotless and rooms are comfortable. It's a wonderful historic hotel with much history.

Room Tip: They have fireplaces in some of the rooms. We enjoy the part of the hotel across the street with a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkerwin, Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay again at the Vendue Inn. It was a pleasure speaking with you on Sunday afternoon, and I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. I will pass on the kind words to Natasha, your breakfast server.

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

Jerry Kerwin
The Vendue Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    259
    73
    48
    38
See reviews for
98
794
35
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We just spent our 30th Anniversary at The Vendue Inn. It was amazing! Attention was paid to every detail. Thank you Robbie! From the time we stepped from our car we were greeted by name. Mark made us feel right at home. Our suite was absolutely beautiful with the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in. The marble fireplace added that special warmth. The staff was incredible. The unexpected "treats" like complimentary bicycles to use during your stay, cookies & milk in the evenings, Wine & Cheese Hour daily, speciality teas & coffees throughout the day and the most delicious full breakfast served by the cutest waitress from Russia, Julia. The location of the Inn must not be left out. We were in the most historic city just voted the #1 Vacation Destination in the World! We were steps from the Charleston Harbor and beautiful 18th century homes with incredible courtyards and gardens. There is nothing more we could have wished for to make this Anniversary one that we will never forget.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sridder, Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I was particularly pleased to learn that you were impressed with the hospitality of the staff and that we succeeded in treating you like family and anticipating your needs. I am also delighted that so many members of our team provided you with a level of service that proved noteworthy. Your kudos will be passed along to all involved and I know that they will be happy to receive such wonderful feedback.

I do hope that you will now consider the Vendue Inn as your home in Charleston. We look forward to the pleasure of your next visit––next weekend or anytime that works for you. Congratulations again on your 30th anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We visited Charleston for the first time in October 2012. I had been told to stay in the Historic District/French Quarter by friends who had been there before. I found the Vendue Inn online and made reservations for what was to be a most wonderfully charming vacation. The staff of this quaint inn are most helpful, especially Brian. The location is central to everything, restaurants, the waterfront, and all historical sites. The rooms were very nice, and we enjoyed wine and cheese in the afternoons and breakfast in the morning, not to mention the free bicycles that we rode around town one day. Three days were not nearly enough here.....I can't wait to go back and will stay at the Vendue Inn again, for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here on the recommendation of some friends, who live in the area. The flight to Charleston had its usual mishaps with delayed flights, but is good to remember you can either catch a taxi and pay around $30-40 or share a cab with 2 or 3 others at $12 one way. It does mean you take a little longer to get to your hotel if you are not the first drop off, but as the airport is only about 20 mins from downtown Charleston it is hardly a long drive.

The Vendue Inn is on the edge of the historic district, literally a hop skip and jump from some of the top restaurants in the town.

I was told the building is actually 3 old buildings made into one, which gave the nooks and crannies a special charm all of their own. It is not a cheap place to stay, but what was nice if you had the children with you, some rooms were organized in a way that you could close off a door to 2 rooms, and also got a little seating area, away from beds but still behind a locked door.

The room we had was full of southern charm, complete with fireplace and an over sized tv above - which in a place like Charleston seemed not necessary, but then maybe that is because I love old buildings and history more than fox, CNN or msnbc!

The bed was a king, and stood off the floor at hip height so at 5'6" this is quite a way off the floor. The cute thing was the little step stool you needed to climb up into the bed and out as I could not touch the floor while sitting on the bed so was needed to help you out too! Now I could go into the history of why beds used to be this high off the floor, but I won't, all I would say was it was a nice old world charm they did not remove from the hotel. There was enough drawer space and just enough hanging space for us, but if I was there for an event that required a ball gown, I would have struggled where my husband and I would have hung our clothes.

The bathroom had a jacuzzi bath - which we did not use so why did we book a room with one??? - who knows, but then we do not use the jacuzzi bath in our own house! The toiletries they provided were lovely and clearly not the sort that dried your hair out. The hot water did not run out, and the shower had a lovely big rain head. Hair dryer was provided which is a must and for once it actually had some clout behind it rather than the less powerful ones you find in a lot of hotels.

There was a lack of power points in the room, which bearing in mind the age of the building I can understand, but in this day and age where everyone has an iPad, iPod, phone, laptop etc each that makes 8 things to charge a charging station might be an idea to provide in future.

There was no safe in the room either which we have come to expect, especially when you carry so many high cost but n the palm of your hand items these days. This we find a little annoying as when you travel for work and have laptops in tow it is nice to lock them away and take them out of temptations eye view.

The only down side was the first night, the air-con seemed to have a rattle and a squeak. Not sure where it was coming from and kept me awake, but then it disappeared and did not reappear for the rest of our stay. Bearing in mind these properties were built well before the invention of air-con I can live with the short lived squeak for one night.

We joined their preferred guest and breakfast was included. As the Inn is 3 old houses made into one, there were several little breakfast rooms, which was a nice touch and you were not overcrowded. You had a choice for breakfast, and there was something that would suit everyone.

The Inn also held a manager's reception each evening with wine cheese, fruit etc. which was a nice way to start your evening before heading out for dinner. At 9pm they put out a tray of cookies and milk for bedtime - where else but in America !!! The cookies were lovely and clearly very popular. We were told if we were late back in the evening, if we wanted cookies and milk just to ask the staff and they will sort it out for us.

Restaurants abound in Charleston and there are several exquisite ones literally just across the road - but that is for another review. But a reservation for thursday, friday and saturday is a must if you do not want to be sitting holding the bar up until a table becomes free. Staff are helpful, and are also able to book you a table at one of the restaurants. I was quite impressed with this as they clearly have a central booking system, so the hotel could see what times tables were free and book us accordingly - none of this having to telephone around the restaurants and see what they have available.

As for location, you are right by the waterfront and the park. If you want to go to Fort Sumter it is quite a walk down to the pier which is at the other end of the historic district and I would advise to save your feet you get a cab or a little peddler carriage, which I am sure are manned by university students a what a great way to supplement your finances!

However if architecture is your thing and you want to wander the old streets and houses of Charleston and imagine yourself sitting on one of those glorious piazzas cooling down from the on shore breezes, then this is literally just around the corner.

We did not eat in the Inn's dining room for dinner, but we did enjoy the roof top bar the first evening we were there, whilst there is not that much to see by comparison to other cities, it was enjoyable to sit up there on a balmy October evening.

I would definitely put this place on my revisit list for future years

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Charming with wonderful service. Delicious breakfast, attentive staff and good value. Rooms are clean and charming. Love the rooftop bar. Wonderful restaurants nearby and right at the Waterfront park area. Perfect location for seeing Charleston!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We could not have chosen a better place to stay. The location is right in the middle of downtown Charleston. We could walk or bike everywhere. ( they have bikes to use )
The continental breakfast that was included in our room price was beyond our expectations.
The hotel staff was gracious and most helpful. We would highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Vendue Inn while attending a family wedding. The location was unbeatable. We walked everywhere and really enjoyed being close to all the action. Our only complaint was the early morning noise from outside when the trash truck came to collect things. The room was small but nicely decorated with a small Juliet balcony. We enjoyed our stay and would do it again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vendue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rare blend of genteel warmth and exquisite luxury that is uniquely our own at The Vendue Charleston hotel. Offering upscale services, amenities and attentive service, our boutique hotel in the historic Downtown French Quarter of Charleston features a prime location with the best of the city at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Vendue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vendue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.