We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern charm and hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue

Save Saved
You added The Vendue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Vendue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Exclusive Amenities
Ranked #14 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Fairport, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Southern charm and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here on the recommendation of some friends, who live in the area. The flight to Charleston had its usual mishaps with delayed flights, but is good to remember you can either catch a taxi and pay around $30-40 or share a cab with 2 or 3 others at $12 one way. It does mean you take a little longer to get to your hotel if you are not the first drop off, but as the airport is only about 20 mins from downtown Charleston it is hardly a long drive.

The Vendue Inn is on the edge of the historic district, literally a hop skip and jump from some of the top restaurants in the town.

I was told the building is actually 3 old buildings made into one, which gave the nooks and crannies a special charm all of their own. It is not a cheap place to stay, but what was nice if you had the children with you, some rooms were organized in a way that you could close off a door to 2 rooms, and also got a little seating area, away from beds but still behind a locked door.

The room we had was full of southern charm, complete with fireplace and an over sized tv above - which in a place like Charleston seemed not necessary, but then maybe that is because I love old buildings and history more than fox, CNN or msnbc!

The bed was a king, and stood off the floor at hip height so at 5'6" this is quite a way off the floor. The cute thing was the little step stool you needed to climb up into the bed and out as I could not touch the floor while sitting on the bed so was needed to help you out too! Now I could go into the history of why beds used to be this high off the floor, but I won't, all I would say was it was a nice old world charm they did not remove from the hotel. There was enough drawer space and just enough hanging space for us, but if I was there for an event that required a ball gown, I would have struggled where my husband and I would have hung our clothes.

The bathroom had a jacuzzi bath - which we did not use so why did we book a room with one??? - who knows, but then we do not use the jacuzzi bath in our own house! The toiletries they provided were lovely and clearly not the sort that dried your hair out. The hot water did not run out, and the shower had a lovely big rain head. Hair dryer was provided which is a must and for once it actually had some clout behind it rather than the less powerful ones you find in a lot of hotels.

There was a lack of power points in the room, which bearing in mind the age of the building I can understand, but in this day and age where everyone has an iPad, iPod, phone, laptop etc each that makes 8 things to charge a charging station might be an idea to provide in future.

There was no safe in the room either which we have come to expect, especially when you carry so many high cost but n the palm of your hand items these days. This we find a little annoying as when you travel for work and have laptops in tow it is nice to lock them away and take them out of temptations eye view.

The only down side was the first night, the air-con seemed to have a rattle and a squeak. Not sure where it was coming from and kept me awake, but then it disappeared and did not reappear for the rest of our stay. Bearing in mind these properties were built well before the invention of air-con I can live with the short lived squeak for one night.

We joined their preferred guest and breakfast was included. As the Inn is 3 old houses made into one, there were several little breakfast rooms, which was a nice touch and you were not overcrowded. You had a choice for breakfast, and there was something that would suit everyone.

The Inn also held a manager's reception each evening with wine cheese, fruit etc. which was a nice way to start your evening before heading out for dinner. At 9pm they put out a tray of cookies and milk for bedtime - where else but in America !!! The cookies were lovely and clearly very popular. We were told if we were late back in the evening, if we wanted cookies and milk just to ask the staff and they will sort it out for us.

Restaurants abound in Charleston and there are several exquisite ones literally just across the road - but that is for another review. But a reservation for thursday, friday and saturday is a must if you do not want to be sitting holding the bar up until a table becomes free. Staff are helpful, and are also able to book you a table at one of the restaurants. I was quite impressed with this as they clearly have a central booking system, so the hotel could see what times tables were free and book us accordingly - none of this having to telephone around the restaurants and see what they have available.

As for location, you are right by the waterfront and the park. If you want to go to Fort Sumter it is quite a walk down to the pier which is at the other end of the historic district and I would advise to save your feet you get a cab or a little peddler carriage, which I am sure are manned by university students a what a great way to supplement your finances!

However if architecture is your thing and you want to wander the old streets and houses of Charleston and imagine yourself sitting on one of those glorious piazzas cooling down from the on shore breezes, then this is literally just around the corner.

We did not eat in the Inn's dining room for dinner, but we did enjoy the roof top bar the first evening we were there, whilst there is not that much to see by comparison to other cities, it was enjoyable to sit up there on a balmy October evening.

I would definitely put this place on my revisit list for future years

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    672
    223
    62
    43
    34
See reviews for
86
681
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Charming with wonderful service. Delicious breakfast, attentive staff and good value. Rooms are clean and charming. Love the rooftop bar. Wonderful restaurants nearby and right at the Waterfront park area. Perfect location for seeing Charleston!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We could not have chosen a better place to stay. The location is right in the middle of downtown Charleston. We could walk or bike everywhere. ( they have bikes to use )
The continental breakfast that was included in our room price was beyond our expectations.
The hotel staff was gracious and most helpful. We would highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Vendue Inn while attending a family wedding. The location was unbeatable. We walked everywhere and really enjoyed being close to all the action. Our only complaint was the early morning noise from outside when the trash truck came to collect things. The room was small but nicely decorated with a small Juliet balcony. We enjoyed our stay and would do it again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

stayed at the Vendue for 4 nights. the staff is very nice and helpful but the housekeeping stinks. we were first put in a room across the street in a parking lot! then we were shown 3 other rooms and ended up with one in the main building on the 3rd floor with 3 large windows that didn't open so the AC had to be run constantly. the bed is very comfy, the bathroom a bit "tight" ... we had no bathtub and the shower doors were installed backwards so turning on the shower was a bit awkward. we had friends staying at the same time and they were upgraded when they checked in, we weren't and we thought we had booked the same category of rooms! so I guess there are several to pick from. our room was large enough, not enough electrical outlets to charge your phone and computer. the wine hour each night is very nice and generous. the breakfasts are very good. my 2 complaints are terrible maid service, our friends had excellent maid service though. one day our room was never cleaned. we had 2 days of no hand towels or shampoo etc. and my bedside table was never cleaned off and the room was never vacuumed. also the room and bathroom are very dark. they could both use more lights on dimmers. the full length mirror is in the closet of all places so hard to see yourself. the hotel has odd stairs so it's not easy hauling your suitcases around. but the location is very good, close too lots of restaurants

Room Tip: get a room with lots of windows and not in the back parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a beautiful inn as others have said ... it is clean and the staff is great... very friendly and willing to help. There is, however, no excuse for the poor quality of the bed... firmness is a matter of each person's taste.. but the mattress in our room was just awful .. one of the worst beds I have ever seen in any hotel anywhere without question. Then there was the heating system... the noise was loud... very loud... wake you up loud...thank goodness we had turned the thing down so that it came on toward the morning... once it came on you were up out of the awful bed. I am sorry to have to review the Vendue Inn in such negative terms but if a hotel has an uncomfortable bed and loud noise in the room does anything else matter? We cut our stay here short and checked out. Such a shame........

Room Tip: check out the bed and the noise level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkerwin, Manager at The Vendue, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Vendue Inn.
We are committed to providing a top-notch experience for every guest and we are disappointed that we missed the mark during your stay. We usually receive high praises on our bedding from the majority of our guests, but sadly it was not to your level of comfort.
We do take noise very seriously and although historic buildings do not have the sound insulation characteristics of modern buildings, we have put a lot of effort into trying to close the gap.
Ultimately, if you cannot sleep, you cannot be happy and we only wish you happiness wherever life leads you.

Jerry Kerwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have stayed here a few times & have never been disappointed. The rooms are gorgeous & immaculate. The breakfast is devine. The roof top bar is the perfect spot for a night cap. Love, Love the Vendue Inn! I graduated from the College of Charleston 20+ years ago & return every year. This is by far our favorite place to stay.

Room Tip: More romantic than family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Vendue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue

Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc
Vendue Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rare blend of genteel warmth and exquisite luxury that is uniquely our own at The Vendue Charleston hotel. Offering upscale services, amenities and attentive service, our boutique hotel in the historic Downtown French Quarter of Charleston features a prime location with the best of the city at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Vendue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vendue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.