We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vendue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Vendue to your Saves list
The Vendue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter in Charleston
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Southern Pines, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I just celebrated two nights there for our 40th wedding anniversary and it couldn't have been nicer. The hotel and all of its buildings are beautiful, CLEAN, and safe. Mark, our bellhop, was spectacular. He was always polite, helpful and friendly. Valet parking is available and we recommend that. You can always call for your car if you need it. We walked everywhere and took many tours.
We would definitely stay at the Vendue Inn again.
Thanks Robbie and Mark

Room Tip: If you are a senior citizen ask for ground floor rooms...no elevators at 24 Vendue
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    263
    74
    49
    38
See reviews for
102
808
36
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I cannot say enough wonderful things about the Vendue Inn. My husband and I recently visited Charleston in celebration of our 15th anniversary (it was also our first trip to Charleston). The location of the Inn is right in the heart of everything so we parked our car on Friday and didn't move it until we left on Monday. The staff at the Vendue Inn were extremely attentive and friendly and were willing to help us at anytime. The concierge was very knowledgable and gave us some great ideas of things to do/see. He was also more than happy to make any reservations we needed but I had already taken care of that. We splurged and got a King Jr. Suite. It was a corner room with LOTS of space and windows. My favorite part was the stairs that I had to take to get into our bed (it was that tall!). I felt like a princess each time I climbed up. I hope to stay here again someday!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Vendue Inn is a lovely property with a great staff! The bellman put our bags in our room as it wasn't ready yet. He gave us a tour of the property and explained the amenities! Breakfast downstairs, afternoon cocktails, milk and cookies in the evening, bicycles for guest use, rooftop bar with no waiting for hotel guests and valet parking! He was very knowledgeable and friendly! The concierge gave us some suggestions for dinner-but, we found if you walked around the city you I'll find a plethora of fine restaurants and pubs! We had oysters at the amen street pub, which were delicious! The bartender gave us some suggestions on which beaches to go to! We chose Isle of Palms-gorgeous! Then we headed over t Sullivan's Island and had lunch at Poes Pub-best burger I've ever had!
The next night we had dinner at Magnolias! What a fantastic meal! We did not have reservations but, we're happy to sit at the bar for a short time to wait for our table! My husband told the waitstaff it was my birthday and I thought they would sing that cheesy happy birthday song! Well!!!! This amazing gentleman with this unbelievable voice came out and sang in an operatic voice the mist beautiful happy birthday song ever! It brought tears to my eyes-his singing was incredible - it stopped the entire restaurant! I think when we go back-when it's cooler- I'm going to say its my birthday again just to hear him sing!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia Springs, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This Inn is located smack dab in the middle of the French Quarter in Historic Charleston. While a little hard to locate, once you arrive, you will never want to leave. This inn is within walking distance of all that Historic Charleston has to offer. Even before our arrival, we were contacted by concierge to help us with arranging tours and such. The hotel is nicely renovated with small, but quaint rooms. Believe me, you won't be spending much time inside.
A WONDERFUL breakfast starts every morning. They have a wide selection of foods and they are all delicious prepared to order. Each afternoon, the inn hosts a complementary wine and cheese reception in their main lobby. Evening turn-down service rounds out each day in this beautiful and superbly located inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Loved it! The room was a bit small, but it really did not make a difference. The room was so beautifully decorated, very comfortable 4 poster bed, and gorgeous old hardwood floors. The staff was incredible, so friendly and helpful in every way, this hotel attempts to anticipate and meet your needs moreso than any hotel I've ever stayed in. Bicycles are available on a first come first serve basis, no charge, just for your convenience. Free trolley stop near by. Be sure to check out the rooftop bar to have a drink and catch the sunset...it was wonderful.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor facing the street, there was no noise or disturbance at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Vendue Inn is an immaculate 4-star property with a 5-star staff - everyone we encountered was warm, friendly, helpful, and seemed to genuinely enjoy their job. It's a small 66-room property with a focus on the details and extras that create a good experience. The location is perfect for exploring Charleston - there were days we didn't even need our car to explore the historic district. Breakfast was included with our room, and includes a fairly robust menu plus a chef's special; they also have a complimentary wine reception in the afternoon and cookies at night. They have a well-known rooftop bar with city views.

Room Tip: We were in the building across the street. it was reasonably quiet, although there is some noise as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Vendue Inn the last weekend of January and we had a fantastic experience. Upon our arrival, we were given an upgrade due to particular circumstances which started the trip off well. Our suite featured a king bed, fireplace and a complimentary bottle of sherry. It was very clean and actually very spacious as well. The Vendue Inn has a great charm to it as it combines a hotel with a B&B feel. You really could not beat the location of this place either. We were literally in walking distance of mostly everything we did that weekend. .

The staff was very professional and courteous and would always greet me by name which I found extremely impressive. Robbie, the concierge, was infinitely helpful. He knew exactly what we were looking to do and provided solid and fulfilling recommendations. The rooftop bar was a great place to have a couple of drinks before going out for a night. It was truly a pleasure to be a guest here and the Vendue Inn has earned my perpetual business.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vendue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#13 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a rare blend of genteel warmth and exquisite luxury that is uniquely our own at The Vendue Charleston hotel. Offering upscale services, amenities and attentive service, our boutique hotel in the historic Downtown French Quarter of Charleston features a prime location with the best of the city at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Vendue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vendue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.