We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but poor hotel ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge Alley Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge Alley Inn to your Saves list
Lodge Alley Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location but poor hotel ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The main hotel building city view room was old n outdated. The beds has a huge dip. It felt like I was in a motel. The beds only had 2 pillows. The bathtub wasn't clean. There was hair on the soap dish. N there was a palmetto roach in our room. The blinders was also filthy. Some of the staff was rude. Not sure if they are used to inter-racial and very successful young couples. Almost had the feeling that we wasn't wanted just because we didn't fit the typical. Location was great.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Hello PRNichole,

At Bluegreen, our goal is to share happiness with all of our guests and provide outstanding accommodations and service. We regret to learn that this was not your experience. We welcome you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com to provide additional details or to discuss further. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    86
    36
    26
    23
See reviews for
47
109
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amory, Mississippi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Very good location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Close to City Market, many nice eating place, Battery Park and the water activities. I highly recommend this place if you are wanting to see Charleston.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello gkeeton,

Thank your for your recommendation for Lodge Alley Inn. We are pleased you enjoyed the location and found the staff very friendly and helpful. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were not offered place to give our reviews while staying on the property, so I will use this forum to share my observations.

Overall, this charming property was in decent condition. It is located in Charleston's French Quarter inside a group of converted warehouses. The front desk staff, valets, and concierge were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were nicely decorated although the furnishings felt a bit sparse. A few of the power outlets didn't work and several of them were stripped. The WiFi was spotty at best, so don't count on streaming movies for entertainment. At the time of writing, free WiFi was not included for guests but only timeshare owners. There were no ceiling fans in our one bedroom loft and it could get quite warm in the evening. We were informed that the property is currently undergoing renovation so hopefully these issues will be addressed. Date of expected completion was not shared.

The location cannot be beat. Lodge Alley Inn is located within 1-2 miles from the best tourist spots -- Rainbow Row, the Battery, Gallery Row, the Harbor, City Market, King St., etc. Excellent restaurant and bar choices are also available right on East Bay St. The concierge is very helpful and can assist with most questions and the locals can provide you with the best 'off the beaten path' choices. Cabs cannot be hailed in the city of Charleston however make sure to take advantage of the low-priced bike taxi or just walk and see this beautiful city.

Luckily I was able to tour this property and can provide some suggestions for those looking to book a stay here. There are only seven 2-bedroom units on the property and they are usually booked several months in advance. Be wary of the 1 bedroom lofts if you or your travel mates are not in good physical condition. The spiral staircase was manageable however I was the designee to haul the 30+ pound suitcases upstairs. I suggest booking one of the spacious studio suites instead. If you are traveling with more than 2 adults, book two studio suites instead of the one bedroom suite. The difference in square footage is minimal. The major difference is that the studio's only have a kitchenette (microwave, small refrigerator) versus the one bedroom's full kitchen. Note: Charleston is known for it's delicious Low Country cuisine so one shouldn't have much need for cooking at this particular destination. Cheap breakfast options (Dixie Supply Store, Toast) are in walking distance as well. We never found a need to eat more than two meals per day.

The major caveat to this property is that it is a timeshare. If you have not already purchased a package with Bluegreen Resorts (or via RCI, Interval International, etc.) than be prepared for a lengthy sales presentation and high pressure tactics to persuade you to buy one.

Since my family is part of Interval International, I will stay here again (in a studio suite and not the loft) because the location is wonderful. If you are not looking to purchase a timeshare property or struggle through a 2-3+ hour presentation & sales meeting, than I strongly advise researching different accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello rld_vol,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Lodge Alley Inn. We are delighted you enjoyed the location of the resort. WE appreciate your comments regarding the rooms and the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Lodge Alley is an amazing place to stay in the heart of Charleston's historic district. It's made even better by Jake, who is attentive, smiling, and always remembers us. We are timeshare guests and have hosted family events at Lodge Alley for the past couple of years. Jake is the "can do" guy who always makes it happen ... whatever we need, he figures it out.

Hotels that have a Jake really shine ... there are many wonderful places to stay, but only a few like Jake.

Lodge Alley is quaint, historic, and comfortable. If you love Charleston and being able to park your car for your entire visit while you walk historic and beautiful streets, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a romantic room, get a room with a spiral staircase or one with a jacuzzi tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello Mary N,

Thank you for continuing to visit Lodge Alley Inn and sharing your comments. We are thrilled that you feel the resort is an amazing place to stay. Thank you for your generous compliments regarding Jake and the service he provides. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and sharing happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

If you are wanting an authentic old Charleston location this is it. It is 2 blocks from the market and there are numerous high quality eateries literally next door. This is a old building and consequently floors are uneven and rooms are all slightly different. The interior of the building seems fairly "worn" and although quaint, the wood floors and cavernous rooms could use a little more sound absorbing stuff in them! There were some odd things that weren't huge deals for several added up to what happers to be oversight on quality (ie: our resort director had benn colored in, no night stand on one side of bed, lose plug-ins). But overall it's a good place to stay, especially if you are wanting to stay downtown. This is a time share place so beware!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the courtyard as you get a balcony or patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hello Michelle H,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Lodge Alley Inn. We are pleased you enjoyed the great location and had a good stay overall. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moosic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was our second stay at Lodge Alley the first being several years ago when we stayed in a studio in the main building. This stay was with another couple and we were in a 2 bedroom townhouse. The unit needs some updating. Couch in the living room was in bad shape, very uncomfortable. We would pity anyone who had to sleep on the sofa. Bathroom could use a shelf. No place to put cosmetics, etc. Also bedroom with balcony could use a mirror and another lamp. Two of the electric wall outlets were defective which could cause a dangerous situation. We did inform the front desk about this. Also no clocks in the bedroom. Also very steep staircase, could be a problem for some people. The location of this resort is great as you are withing walking distance of all the great restaurants, the market and the waterfront. It is a very busy, narrow street and if there are a lot of people checking in at once, there is a lot of congestion. They have valet parking and charge $14 per day for BG owners. You do need to call about 15 minutes before you need your vehcile so they can bring it around. They are pretty prompt. Everyone was very courteous and helpful but they wanted us to go on an Owner Update which we refused and they were not too happy about that.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hello George B,

Thank you for returning to the Lodge Alley Inn. We regret to learn your experience did not leave you with a more favorable impression. We are committed to the highest standards of quality and cleanliness. We welcome you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to discuss further. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 180 cities Reviews in 180 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

In early January we stayed at the Lodge. The location can't be beat as you can walk to just about everything. The staff are helpful and courteous. Parking is non-existent. You drive up and they valet park your car for $14/day + tip. If you leave anything in your car you would want later...too bad. But, they are very prompt in getting your car when asked and are very nice.

The building is older and I like that. We had a room with two queens and a sofa bed. It was a long room with windows facing East Bay. The wooden floors are beautiful and squeak nicely, the little area for coffee was nice with a small refrigerator, the furniture is getting warn and not very comfortable and the lighting was really pitiful. Why do they put such low wattage bulbs in hotels? Another minus was the tiny flat screen mounted on the wall near the two beds. You had to sit on the beds to watch anything and it wasn't convenient at all. We had a gas fireplace which was appreciated this time of year.

The area outside - the courtyard - would be great in the warmer months and I would return to this property again, given the chance. Building old and furnishings too but there is enough here to make it all work out nicely, even if not perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hello bseashore,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Lodge Alley Inn. We are delighted you enjoyed the location and accommodations. We appreciate your compliments regarding the staff as we aim to share happiness with all of our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge Alley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Alley Inn

Address: 195 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown , French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge Alley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lodge Alley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Alley Hotel Charleston
Hotel Alley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge Alley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.