We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great inn - great location - great staff - great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Courtyard Inn to your Saves list
Kings Courtyard Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$239 (USD)
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great inn - great location - great staff - great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

This is a very historic inn, quaint, at a very good price and I would highly recommend it. They serve complimentary wine and cheese every evening and breakfast in the morning.
The location is perfect right in the middle of the historic and shopping areas.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    126
    28
    17
    6
See reviews for
64
186
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

The staff were friendly, parking was convenient, everything is within walking distance. The rooms were nicely decorated, clean and roomy. We had our continental breakfast served in the room so our teenagers didn't have to get up and get dressed too early. I have been to Charleston numerous times and stayed in other hotels that were not as nice and conveniently located. The next time we come back we will definitely be staying at the Kings Courtyard!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

The front desk and concierge services epitomize Charleston's gracious hospitality. The front desk staff made us feel "at home" the moment we walked in the door. The concierge staff answered questions, gave advice, and seemed to genuinely love the city of Charleston. The quality of guest services which I experienced during my previous stay at Kings Courtyard Inn was the reason the hotel earned my repeat business on this trip--and will earn my future business on any other trips I take to Charleston.

Additionally, the decor is appropriate, and guests will appreciate the historic feel of the entire facility. Staying at the Kings Courtyard is truly like staying in a 150-year-old historic home--from the 18th-century reproduction furniture and original hardwood floors to the warmth and hospitality of the staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

I stayed in the Kings Courtyard Inn while traveling with colleagues. In the historic district you can get "nice" or you can get "charming" or you can spend a boatload of cash and get both. Kings Courtyard nearly does both at a reasonable price, but not quite. If you love large rooms, plush surroundings, large HD televisions, etc. -- Kings Courtyard is not your kind of place. The showers were particularly annoying as millimeters can make the difference between scalding and freezing. That said, I liked my stay at the Inn. The Kings Courtyard puts you in the mood of historic Charleston w/out the overly intimate feel of a bed & breakfast (which would be weird for a work trip). The breakfast was good, the fire and free Sherry in the lobby were better -- particularly during the winter. Since we stayed for a few days, I also paid the $10 for access to an actual fitness center two blocks away, which worked out really well -- I really hate the lame basement closet-size gyms that most hotels have, even high end ones.

Most people rave about the location and the staff. The location is awesome, but it's the basic difference of being in the historic district or not. The staff was also friendly, but I didn't find them as knowledgeable about the surroundings as one would hope -- they recommended touristy places for a pre-dinner drink.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Kings Courtyard is in the historic district of Charleston on King Street. The hotel is old and as such the rooms are small but quaint with hardwoods and fireplaces. The room was clean, and the bathroom was small but renovated. There was a small, dorm-sized refrigerator in the bathroom and a small tv in an armoire. The staff of the hotel were all extremely friendly and helpful. They were amoung the best staff I have encountered. There is off street parking in a lot (for $12 a day) with very narrow spaces not meant for today's vehicles. This was still better than other hotels offer. Be aware that only a "continental" breakfast comes with the room. This consists of a muffin, a small croissant, and a cinnamon roll, or cereal, bagel, and yogurt. If you want a real breakfast, it will cost between $6-$10. My only complaint would be the noise. Being an old building with single pane windows, one can hear all the noise from the street below. Also, the non-covered courtyard and open walkways make for a ton of internal hotel noise. Overall, this is a fine place to stay if you are determined to be in the heart of Charleston, but if you want quiet and space, go across the river and drive into town during the day. This is also a much cheaper option.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley of the Sun
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

After several annual trips to Charleston, thought I'd give this hotel a try and I'm very glad I did. The staff was really service oriented and put service first. My friend and I LOVED the free breakfast (tho I wish the breakfast room was a tad bigger) and we REALLY took advantage of the wine/cheese reception every night. We talked to several other guests during breakfast and wine receptions and really enjoyed the conversations.

Location could not be better, just a few steps to the old market area and countless choices of superb restaurants. It got very chilly one of the nights we were there and I called down at 9:30 pm wondering where I could get a cup of decaf (to warm me!) Jason brought up a tray of just-brewed coffee to my room which was fantastic-all just "part of the service."

We found the hotel a rather noisy place when sleeping. We could hear other guests conversations whenever they were talking outside their rooms but the beds were very comfortable. Will DEFINITELY stay here again

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We returned to Kings Courtyard Inn after 10 years and were so pleased!!! The staff is so wonderful and helpful, went out of their way to make the trip a memorable one. The hotel is located right off King Street (great shopping) and very close to everything you would want to do in Charleston!

WONDERFUL breakfast every morning - so nice to walk out of the room through the inner-courtyards and go to your breakfast that is waiting for you.

This is a GEM!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#36 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Courtyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.