We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Courtyard Inn to your Saves list
Kings Courtyard Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$239 (USD)
Ranked #22 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
New York City
1 review
“A local jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Accommodations: An 1850's - vintage hotel with 41 rooms surrounding two inner courtyards on three floors. Very distinctive, tastefully furnished. All three rooms we had were excellent.

Amenities: There is a breakfast room on the first floor which was quite nice, and everyday at 5 pm they have wine and hors-oeuvres for the guests. This was extremely well done. Nice wine selection and excellent food.

Location: We did not have a car, and got by very nicely using the four trolley routes set up for tourists. The location on King street was excellent. It reminded me of Georgetown in DC.

Staff: Everyone was charming, welcoming and helpful. Concierge had excellent suggestions. All the staff were great.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    128
    29
    18
    6
See reviews for
66
189
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield County, SC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

I continue to return to the Kings Courtyard Inn in Charleston for their hospitality and beautiful rooms. The staff is courtieous and always delighted to see me return for another stay. The bedrooms are large and decorated in the "Southern Style", some with four poster beds, some with a canopy, and all have oriental rugs, which makes the stay special. Some of the rooms have flat screen televisions now and Jennifer made sure that I had one that was comfortable to view from my bed. I will continue to return to this inn because I feel welcome and I also enjoy the wine and cheese in the afternoon and a lovely breakfast each morning. The location is perfect for touring Charleston on foot and enjoying wonderful restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. It was also within walking distance of my classes at the College of Charleston. Not to mention that there is a convenient parking lot in the rear of the hotel for my car.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Fabulous Inn with a feel of old world charm & comfort. Spacious rooms with comfortable bedding. The nightly wine & cheese hour is a nice touch!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We were visiting Charleston for the 4th July weekend to watch the rugby international. The hotel is in a fantastic location in downtown Charleston. The staff are extreamly helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a building dating from the mid 19th century so you can't expect all mod cons but our bedroom was clean and comfortable. The complementry breakfast was good, sitting in the courtyard with the fountain next to you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Room not especially clean, or comfortable: (1) gob of gum stuck to floor going into the bathroom, (2) no easy chair in room--only two straightback chairs, (3) dinky little 21 in TV, which you can't see from the bed anyway--room laid out wrong, (5) curtains won't close all the way, (6) dime store oriental rug needs to be cleaned, or better, replaced, (7) no in-room coffee pot, (8) it took 20 minutes to get scrambled eggs in the restaurant and I was the only customer there--enough?

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

If you are looking for an authenic place to stay in Charleston that also boasts one of the best locations ever, then the Kings Courtyard Inn is the place. My husband and I loved it! The staff was great, especially Brian, and the service was wonderful. I'd book this hotel again in a heartbeat. I will say this to travelers, if you are used to staying at cookie cutter hotels that are newly built or remodeled, then this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We had a two room suite and totally loved it!!!!! Very clean, private, QUIET, and PERFECT location for staying in the historic district! Just park your car in their great parking lot and forget it as you can WALK everywhere!!! The staff at this hotel is incredible especially James and Elizabeth. You just can't beat this place-the price is so reasonable. I thought the small size of the televisions in our room would be a problem as my husband is a tv fanatic but he didn't even mind that. They just took out their hot-tub and make a little terrace which looks very nice. I would definitely book this hotel again! Can't say enough good about it!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Booking.com so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Courtyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.