We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and they get the details right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kings Courtyard Inn to your Saves list
Kings Courtyard Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover Charleston!
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Castle Rock, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Perfect location and they get the details right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed there with a friend during Spoleto festival 2014 - we wanted separate rooms but adjoining so their 2-room suite was ideal. Parking is reasonable and available and right outside the door. Breakfast is included and can be delivered to the room if you wish. All the room details were great - we each had a separate bathroom, there was comfortable seating for reading with plenty of lamps. Decor was old-fashioned Charleston style. Minor issues: the a/c in my room blew directly on the bed which made it chilly. Also had a slight hot water problem only the last day. No other complaints. They serve wine and cheese from 5-6 and sherry is available later, help yourself. Walking distance to the market and many fine restaurants in addition to several of the Spoleto venues including the Dock Street theatre. I did a ton of research to find just the right place and I would choose this one again. For 2 full rooms and baths in downtown Charleston the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    113
    24
    16
    6
See reviews for
55
164
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I decided to take a quick trip to Charleston being our first time there we had no idea where to stay. We stumbled on the kings courtyard inn and loved it we would definitely go back. It's a little high on the rates but comparable to everything around it. The only thing we didn't like was the night time desk operator he always had his headphone's in and paid no attention to anyone that walked in and got a little upset if you asked him anything if they replaced him it would be a perfect place to stay all the way around. The rest of the staff was amazing and the rooms are very nice. They offer a complimentary cheese and wine on the weekend all in all we would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ojai
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is right in the middle of downtown. Perfect location to walk and see Charleston. The staff was all exceptionally friendly and helpful.
Good wine flowed freely during the Happy Hour.
The hotel is old, but kept up. Not totally modernized (remember historic)
The 2 courtyards were really pleasant places to enjoy the wine or eat breakfast.
We definitely would recommend the Kings Courtyard Inn

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is my third stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn - enjoyed it once again! Our room was huge with high ceilings and plenty of space - loved the idea of the gas fireplace, but definitely a bit warm on our stay to use it! Would love to come back in cooler weather to give it a try. We always enjoy the complimentary wine hour and breakfast. The location on King Street is just perfect and provides easy access to numerous shops, restaurants/bars, and attractions. My only small complaint for this stay was that the concierge checking in guests was assisting another guest on the phone while we stood in the lobby waiting for a good ten minutes without even acknowledging that we were there. I completely understand that you are helping someone else, but a simple, "I'll be with you in just a moment" goes a long way. Other than that, we will absolutely be staying here again and look forward to it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed 4 nights here-it was comfortable & convenient for town.
The beds were sumptuous -there's a great en suite with a small efficient fridge under the sink.
Unfortunately no kettle which after 10 hours travelling I really needed & have suggested to the staff. If you like good sturdy English tea take tea bags & ask for hot water & milk!
Breakfast is continental only - if u want cooked its at a cafe along the street but you have to pay so its not really worth it - we enjoyed the granola,pastries,peeled hardboiled(only) egg, fruit, porridge etc then had coffee later in town.

Room Tip: Roadside was fine - all quiet around 11pm even for a light sleeper. We had 215 a huge 2 double bedd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Traveled - two couples to Charleston April 2014. Enjoyed the location and the amenities at Kings Courtyard. The staff was very helpful when we asked for opinions on places to visit. We enjoyed the wine and cheese in the evenings before dinner. Continental breakfast was also decent. Hot oatmeal and fruit was available. You could also get a hard boiled egg, helpful when you want to start the day with some protein. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with fireplace and canopy bed. We got it and our room was slightly larger than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am glad that we were able to give you helpful recommendations to enhance your time in Charleston. We pride ourselves on offering guests a historic hotel experience with modern amenities. The complimentary wine and cheese hour is an amenity that we love offering to guests. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the reception on the way to dinner. We do hope you will visit the Kings Courtyard Inn again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards.All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Guests may also choose to order a full breakfast from the kitchen. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Courtyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.