We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kings Courtyard Inn to your Saves list
Kings Courtyard Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Discover Charleston!
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Shropshire, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed 4 nights here-it was comfortable & convenient for town.
The beds were sumptuous -there's a great en suite with a small efficient fridge under the sink.
Unfortunately no kettle which after 10 hours travelling I really needed & have suggested to the staff. If you like good sturdy English tea take tea bags & ask for hot water & milk!
Breakfast is continental only - if u want cooked its at a cafe along the street but you have to pay so its not really worth it - we enjoyed the granola,pastries,peeled hardboiled(only) egg, fruit, porridge etc then had coffee later in town.

Room Tip: Roadside was fine - all quiet around 11pm even for a light sleeper. We had 215 a huge 2 double bedd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    113
    24
    16
    6
See reviews for
55
164
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Valrico, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Traveled - two couples to Charleston April 2014. Enjoyed the location and the amenities at Kings Courtyard. The staff was very helpful when we asked for opinions on places to visit. We enjoyed the wine and cheese in the evenings before dinner. Continental breakfast was also decent. Hot oatmeal and fruit was available. You could also get a hard boiled egg, helpful when you want to start the day with some protein. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with fireplace and canopy bed. We got it and our room was slightly larger than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am glad that we were able to give you helpful recommendations to enhance your time in Charleston. We pride ourselves on offering guests a historic hotel experience with modern amenities. The complimentary wine and cheese hour is an amenity that we love offering to guests. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the reception on the way to dinner. We do hope you will visit the Kings Courtyard Inn again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The staff took such good care of us, we were upgraded to a suite at no extra charge.
The hotel is located close to all the main sites & is so quaint& has that great southern charm.
We loved the happy hour& tea in the afternoon, thanks again Kings Courtyard

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights after driving down from Toronto. The hotel staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. The hotel had an inner and outer courtyard and the fountains and gardens were lovely. Each night there is wine & cheese and nibblies and we met some nice people from other parts of the USA. The room was very well set up and was clean and updated. There is a mini fridge in the room as well, which is great. You had the choice of eating breakfast in the courtyard with the other guests, or they would deliver the breakfast. After being on the road, it was nice to be able to have a leisurely breakfast delivered. You can choose whatever you want from the card on the door, and they will deliver to your room at the time you specify. With a quick phone call in advance. How nice is that! The hotel is close to the nice restaurants, shopping, the market and the harbour. We had no problems with noise. The parking lot out back was great and easy to use. The price was very reasonable for what we got. We'd stay here for sure again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent stay. I am happy to read your remarks about your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed the charm and wonder of our city from the perspective of the Kings Courtyard Inn. Your kind words about the staff and amenities are greatly appreciated. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This Inn is so perfectly located for walking to any activity within old Charleston. Several quaint courtyards offer you sanctuary for breakfast or room service can be provided. The room was huge, charming and comfortable. The bathroom needs updating and house keeping could be a little more attentive. That said, my 3 night stay could not have been more amenable for exploring Charleston waterfront, shopping, slave market and local dining. Charleston hotels are all overpriced but this accommodation gives insight into old inns, historic architecture and a friendly staff willing to give guidance and information. Their southern custom of a happy hour at 5 p.m. with wine and nibbles is delightful.

Room Tip: other TA reviews indicate it can be noisy but any street noise was finished by 8:30 p.m. so I imagin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We loved our stay at Kings Courtyard. We had a large, very clean room. We parked behind the hotel and walked all over the city. The breakfast was very enjoyable. We will stay again on our next visit. Come hungry because this city has the best food!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Didn't stay here on my recent visit but didn't write a review the last time we stayed so I thought I would let people know how quaint and charming Kings Courtyard Inn is! I came here on my honeymoon in 1989 loved it then and stayed again with my grandchildren last year. We had a family room which was one big room with two double beds. Would have loved a little separation but we made last minute reservations and this is all they had but it was a HUGE room. I love the history of this hotel and all the nooks and crannies and it is so unique! The breakfast is very fresh and the jams and jellies are homemade or locally made not from the local supermarket. I love the location on King Street walking distance to shopping and dining and Market Street. We didn't stay for the evening reception but wish we would have . I'm planning on visiting Charleston again this summer and I will stay here again this time. Been too long between visits and it really is special to me since I stayed here for my honeymoon almost 25 years ago! I love to walk by this hotel every time I visit Charleston and next time will stay here not someplace else!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stays at the Kings Courtyard Inn. Your repeat business is the greatest compliment we can receive, especially after 25 years! We are glad to hear that you found our inn fitting for family travel, as well as a romantic getaway. Our historic property is full of character and charm and we are so happy that you enjoyed it. We look forward to your visit this summer.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards.All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Guests may also choose to order a full breakfast from the kitchen. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Courtyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.