We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Courtyard Inn to your Saves list
Kings Courtyard Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights after driving down from Toronto. The hotel staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. The hotel had an inner and outer courtyard and the fountains and gardens were lovely. Each night there is wine & cheese and nibblies and we met some nice people from other parts of the USA. The room was very well set up and was clean and updated. There is a mini fridge in the room as well, which is great. You had the choice of eating breakfast in the courtyard with the other guests, or they would deliver the breakfast. After being on the road, it was nice to be able to have a leisurely breakfast delivered. You can choose whatever you want from the card on the door, and they will deliver to your room at the time you specify. With a quick phone call in advance. How nice is that! The hotel is close to the nice restaurants, shopping, the market and the harbour. We had no problems with noise. The parking lot out back was great and easy to use. The price was very reasonable for what we got. We'd stay here for sure again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent stay. I am happy to read your remarks about your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed the charm and wonder of our city from the perspective of the Kings Courtyard Inn. Your kind words about the staff and amenities are greatly appreciated. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    130
    29
    18
    6
See reviews for
66
191
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This Inn is so perfectly located for walking to any activity within old Charleston. Several quaint courtyards offer you sanctuary for breakfast or room service can be provided. The room was huge, charming and comfortable. The bathroom needs updating and house keeping could be a little more attentive. That said, my 3 night stay could not have been more amenable for exploring Charleston waterfront, shopping, slave market and local dining. Charleston hotels are all overpriced but this accommodation gives insight into old inns, historic architecture and a friendly staff willing to give guidance and information. Their southern custom of a happy hour at 5 p.m. with wine and nibbles is delightful.

Room Tip: other TA reviews indicate it can be noisy but any street noise was finished by 8:30 p.m. so I imagin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We loved our stay at Kings Courtyard. We had a large, very clean room. We parked behind the hotel and walked all over the city. The breakfast was very enjoyable. We will stay again on our next visit. Come hungry because this city has the best food!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Didn't stay here on my recent visit but didn't write a review the last time we stayed so I thought I would let people know how quaint and charming Kings Courtyard Inn is! I came here on my honeymoon in 1989 loved it then and stayed again with my grandchildren last year. We had a family room which was one big room with two double beds. Would have loved a little separation but we made last minute reservations and this is all they had but it was a HUGE room. I love the history of this hotel and all the nooks and crannies and it is so unique! The breakfast is very fresh and the jams and jellies are homemade or locally made not from the local supermarket. I love the location on King Street walking distance to shopping and dining and Market Street. We didn't stay for the evening reception but wish we would have . I'm planning on visiting Charleston again this summer and I will stay here again this time. Been too long between visits and it really is special to me since I stayed here for my honeymoon almost 25 years ago! I love to walk by this hotel every time I visit Charleston and next time will stay here not someplace else!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stays at the Kings Courtyard Inn. Your repeat business is the greatest compliment we can receive, especially after 25 years! We are glad to hear that you found our inn fitting for family travel, as well as a romantic getaway. Our historic property is full of character and charm and we are so happy that you enjoyed it. We look forward to your visit this summer.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Door County, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I recently stayed 3 nights at this property. The staff here is very service orientated. During our stay the only elevator broke down. This was an issue for me because our room was on the third floor and a disability makes it very difficult for me to navigate stairs. At my first enquiry about the expected timing for getting the elevator fixed I was immediately offered to be moved to a ground floor room. This proved invaluable because the elevator remained out of service for the remainder of our stay. I think true customer service is demonstrated when something out of the ordinary happens and this crew performs with excellence. The property location and the rooms themselves are very nice. We are clean freaks and found this a bit below our standard. A full breakfast in a lovely courtyard is included in the rate. Parking is convenient. One of the best perks to take advantage of is the $40 3-course dinner that they offer guests to dine at Circa 1886. It was an incredible meal at a great value.

Room Tip: The ground floor room was not as quiet as our 3rd floor room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Kings Courtyard Inn. It was a pleasure to have been able to make your stay a success. Our concierge team is always at your service to create the most memorable stay in our beautiful city. The location of our historic inn is a great amenity that our guests enjoy. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the 3 for $45 deal at our sister restaurant, Circa 1886. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I regularly stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn on business. The inn is very "Charleston" and the staff is very kind and helpful. A huge plus is that parking is behind the hotel and extremely convenient to the Market, The Battery and shopping on King Street. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn. Your repeat stay with us is the greatest compliment we can receive. We are so happy that you enjoyed our central location and helpful staff. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to hosting you on your future business trips to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I wanted to love this inn. It appeared to be dog-friendly (or at least dog-accepting), the people at reception were very nice and the location is absolutely ideal. But little things kept pushing it from "charmingly old" to "shabby". The building is old and the walls and windows leak sound: you can hear every conversation outside and every footfall above (we were on the ground floor). Breakfast is pedestrian; the offering is like something you'd get at a motel. Describing the aperture between two buildings as a "courtyard" is generous, as is calling the space in the back next to the parking lot a patio. Wi-fi is intermittent. The rooms are small, there are no drawers and the beds are only just okay. All in all, like a Southern lady whose charm has faded but still has expensive tastes.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, you're "stuck". If not, I'd go for a higher floor. Note, howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear MollyMe,

Thank you for sharing your detailed review of the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am glad to hear you were pleased with the central location of our inn, as well as the service provided during your recent stay. We enjoy accommodating dogs, so I’m sorry to hear that you were displeased with the pet-friendly room. In an effort to provide convenience to pet owners, our dog-friendly rooms are located near the patio, with direct access to the outdoor areas. I’m also sorry that you were not satisfied with our complimentary continental breakfast, which includes freshly baked pastries, cereals, bagels, yogurt and fruit. Our nearby restaurant, Kitchen 208, offers breakfast daily, and is a great option for guests interested in a full breakfast. We appreciate your feedback, and hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Courtyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.