We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 4.5 that could be a 5 with just some minor tweaks. Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Courtyard Inn to your Saves list
Kings Courtyard Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Rate
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A 4.5 that could be a 5 with just some minor tweaks. Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Had a wonderful stay here over two nights. James at the front desk is wonderful. This is more of a bed and breakfast hotel. I don't understand how it received 3 starts. This place is by far every bit of 4.5 and close to being a 5. Do not expect a new hotel, this is a historic hotel with antiques to fit the ambiance of the hotel. The hotel is extremely clean, well maintained, and you feel like you are stepping back in time the minute you walk in the door. We had the Camille Room which looked out over the road. Was very fairly priced for what we got - a very large separate sitting room with a working fireplace, sofa, desk, two lounge chairs and a television. Then you step into the bedroom where there was a huge bed made up in period garb again with an armoire and a television and another lounge chair and desk. The floors are all original old wood floors that have been refinished perfectly and the furniture is all beautiful. The bathroom was a little dated but extremely clean and well stocked with upscale soaps/conditioners/lotions. The location of the hotel is dead center of the historic area and is an easy walk to anything in the downtown area. It is about 4 blocks to the water (pier) which I would recommend to watch the sunset and as a bonus, get a swing set on the pier. It is within walking distance of Fort Sumter, and also to most of the historical properties. There is a Starbucks around the corner and some of the best food you will ever want to eat in either direction you go. Also, if there on a weekend, don't forget the farmer's market which is just out the back door and a short one minute walk.

What sets this hotel apart from others are the free perks you get here. At night, there is a free cheese and wine mixer in the outside garden which is good fun, in the mornings, they bring you free continental breakfast to your room if you request it, which has plenty of choices (the croissants and cinnamon rolls were amazing and delivered warm each morning). There is also free coffee downstairs and in the evening, the coffee is replaced with free sherry to get folks to sit down in the lobby sitting area and mingle with each other. Housekeeping is also incredible and all of the staff were very, very friendly. Wi-Fi was also free, which is rare in hotels. Parking behind the building is very convenient and is fairly priced at $12 a night.

I say a 4.5 because there are just a couple of things that I would like to see at the hotel, first, I'd like to see a phone in the sitting room. The only phone was in the bedroom which was a pain to have to get up and run into the bedroom to get the phone. Second, the bathroom and sink areas are separate, however, there is no privacy divider between the sink area and the bedroom area. If one person gets up early it would be nice to have even a curtain to close block the light and for a little privacy. Otherwise, this place is wonderful. Do not believe the 3 stars rating. This place is every bit a 4.5 nearing a 5. Keep in mind it is a bed and breakfast, not a full fledged hotel. There is a big difference, it is also a historic hotel with furniture from the period. If you want romance, this is it. And, as a bonus, it is pet friendly.

Room Tip: I would pay the extra couple of dollars for an upgraded king from a standard king, it is well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful and thoughtful review. We truly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled that you had such a nice stay. I am glad that you enjoyed the historic charm of our inn, and took advantage of the perks we provide guests like complimentary in-room breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese and evening sherry. Your feedback on our bathrooms is appreciated as we constantly look for ways to better the inn and provide a five-star experience. Thank you for the recommendation. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    119
    26
    16
    6
See reviews for
59
171
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a great stay at the King Courtyard Inn. Our room just off the courtyard was very nice and the location of the Inn was excellent. The team was very good, great recommendations too on where to eat and what to do. THey recommended the Palmetto Carriage and Malcom was very good. Bradford and Sam were excellent at their wonderful reception in the evening and the healthy choice contintental breakfast was very good. Out whole experience was Excellent!!!!
They also made reservations for us at the Circa 1886 which is also part of the Charmimg Inns. It was probably one of the very best dinners we have ever had out and we are foodies and have eaten at some nice places over the years. But it gets our #1 rating. Service is great for these Charming Inns and the history was so interesting. We were so pleased. The only thing they are trying to do is get the public parking behind the Inn to expand their spaces. They are trying and hope to get the parking area to improve but it was at least safe. Just bring a small car if you can for the next few months. But it did give me confidence on my parking abilities. Great Memories of our stay and will tell everyone that they need to experience this Charming and excellent Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is in the absolute perfect location for touring Charleston. King Street is the hub of Charleston going from the battery to the interstate. The staff, ( especially concierge James) are fantastic. Helpful, I knowledgable, and filled with that Southern charm the only downside, which I brought to their attention, is that the room was dirty, needed to be vacuumed and touch up paint would help. Their pillows are uncomfortable, but was given a feather pillow on request. Overall, I was really happy with this hotel and would stay again, but .NOT in a room facing King St., loud with cars, street sweeping, and a/c noisy when clicking on.

Room Tip: Any room off King Street if noise bothers you, and it's only in the wee hrs of the morn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, GA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Kings Courtyard Inn was a beautiful surprise! It is one of the most unique hotels I've stayed in outside Europe. This inn is the result of a carefully restored 1853 building that had undergone a century and a half of varied uses to evolve into an elegant retreat. It is extremely quiet although right in the middle of historic Charleston.
Ask for room 108 on the ground floor if you love natural light. The three sets of high windows opened onto a quiet walled courtyard garden. The middle set of windows were actually doors that opened into the garden.
Apparently all the rooms are furnished in colonial style. Ours had a tall canopy king-sized bed that was fun but could be a challenge if you are physically unable to climb up and down. We loved its style and comfort.
A continental breakfast was included in the room rate, and it was served on china on white table cloths by very pleasant staff. We greatly enjoyed the evening wine tastings expertly prepared by Antwan. We were able to socialize for an hour or more with interesting guests from
all over the country. The wines were excellent and included some great choices from California and elsewhere.
The Inn is built around several interior courtyards so that everyone has outdoor access and a place to sit and relax. Loved it and will go back.

Room Tip: They all seemed to be quiet and comfortable from what other guests said, but we stayed in room 108 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for such a beautiful and thoughtful review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the inn and its many unique architectural features. Complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese are our two favorite guest services. I am glad that you enjoyed them. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Charleston. When you make plans to stay in the future, let us know if you'd prefer a room with a high bed, or a room with a standard bed. Both room types are available to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay. Thank you for the recommendation!

Sincerely, Richard Widman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The minute we walked in the door to Kings Courtyard Inn we were amazed at the hospitality. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and charming. The staff was overly accommodating and the price was reasonable. But on top of all that, we were in walking distance of everything we wanted to see and experience. Thank you so much for everything.....see you next year!

Room Tip: The suites are an amazing value if you are traveling with a family or 2 or more couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We look forward to seeing you next year as well! Thank you for such a great review of the Kings Courtyard Inn. I appreciate you taking the time to share your memories and will be sure to pass your high praise on to our staff.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shallotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Inn is in a great location on King Street so it is very easy to get around. For a smaller place, it would be nice to have a hot breakfast but the bagel, yogurt and banana got us through the morning. The room was nice but it could use a little pizzazz for lack of a better word. Nothing really makes you go "wow". The pillows were nice and soft!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have a large 2 room corner suite,#605 large bedroom with huge comfy canopy bed that was so comfortable, I've never slept so well. Beautiful living room with fireplace with a lot of antique furniture, chairs, sofas, tables. This is a corner suite with 5 windows in living room and 3 windows in bedroom, it feels so bright & airy. Love the feel of this place, the outdoor courtyards to relax in & have breakfast & wine & cheese every evening. Hotel is very unique design to walk into the hotel but be outside in the courtyards, this is why it felt like a Mexican hacienda. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the wine & cheese every evening is a nice touch. Great location in the historic district, walk to everything. Will stay here again if we make it back to Charleston. Enjoyed our stay & the people.

Room Tip: #605 on the third floor is a beautiful spacious corner 2 room suite looking out onto King St ( main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. I am thrilled that you had such a memorable stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn. We enjoy sharing our building's unique history with guests and are happy to read about your fun experience. Thank you for such a detailed note. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#29 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards.All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Guests may also choose to order a full breakfast from the kitchen. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Courtyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.