We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hacienda style historic boutique Hotel, Large suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Courtyard Inn to your Saves list
Kings Courtyard Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Rate
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hacienda style historic boutique Hotel, Large suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have a large 2 room corner suite,#605 large bedroom with huge comfy canopy bed that was so comfortable, I've never slept so well. Beautiful living room with fireplace with a lot of antique furniture, chairs, sofas, tables. This is a corner suite with 5 windows in living room and 3 windows in bedroom, it feels so bright & airy. Love the feel of this place, the outdoor courtyards to relax in & have breakfast & wine & cheese every evening. Hotel is very unique design to walk into the hotel but be outside in the courtyards, this is why it felt like a Mexican hacienda. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the wine & cheese every evening is a nice touch. Great location in the historic district, walk to everything. Will stay here again if we make it back to Charleston. Enjoyed our stay & the people.

Room Tip: #605 on the third floor is a beautiful spacious corner 2 room suite looking out onto King St ( main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. I am thrilled that you had such a memorable stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn. We enjoy sharing our building's unique history with guests and are happy to read about your fun experience. Thank you for such a detailed note. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    119
    26
    16
    6
See reviews for
59
171
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
norcross
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 3 great days in Charleston and the Inn, was a great part of that. The staff was very professional and helpful. Room was clean, what else would u want in a hotel. The nightly wine taste was also a plus, got u ready for a good meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our room wasn't ready at 4 PM so we went out to explore. We were told we would be called when the room was ready, but we never were. Other than that, the service was adequate. We were a little taken aback by the skimpy breakfast. The website makes the continental breakfast seem a bit more substantial. Seemed a bit like a bait and switch.
Spacious room with old world charm. Could definitely use some TLC... a coat of pain, etc. Looks like they haven't put much money back into the hotel in a while. Overall, though, the rooms were accommodating.
This hotel is in the heart of the historic district. Doesn't get much better. Despite the shortcomings listed above, we would come back. A serious updating might make this a 5-star hotel....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our central location and charming accommodations. We are happy that you will continue to come back. I am sorry to read about the hiccup during check in. We were short on housekeepers during the week of your visit and unfortunately fell a bit behind. Our staff should have called as soon as your room was ready. This is not in line with our high service standards, and I am sorry that our team fell short here. I also apologize that you were disappointed in our complimentary continental breakfast offerings. We appreciate your feedback as we constantly work towards improving our customer experience.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We bought a Travel Zoo voucher for the Inn and would definatly stay there again even without a special price. It was a great location and the staff could not have been more friendly. We loved it! The room was so nice and spacious, plenty of room for us and our two children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your five-star review. I am glad that you took advantage of our Travel Zoo special and had such a great stay with your family. We look forward to hosting your return trips to Charleston and are thrilled to have gained new fans of the Kings Courtyard Inn.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed for one night and found the hotel to be reasonable (only paid $230). Very nice for the price and friendly staff. They will deliver continental breakfast to the room (no charge) which is another perk for the super reasonable cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

There are many positives about this hotel. The location off King Street is next to the shopping district, and only steps away from the score of fantastic restaurants off Market and East Bay street. Great location. The evening wine and cheese reception is fun to meet other guests and generally relax---the service provided by Antwan, in particular, was beyond fantastic. We also enjoyed the late night refreshments as well. We stayed in Room 301, which is a queen room next to the elevator. We thought that it would be noisy, but it was not at all. The room was not large, but it was clean, nice, and bright---we liked it very much. The continental breakfast is not worth much, frankly, and certainly not worth passing up breakfast at Toast or other nearby places. As other reviews note, the parking spots are tight, and although we had no issues, I can see where there may be times when the lot is full. Overall, we very much enjoyed our time here, and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your wonderful stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am happy that you enjoyed our location, accommodations and complimentary amenities like afternoon wine and cheese and evening cordials. I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with our complimentary continental breakfast. We offer an expanded hot breakfast to guests at a small additional cost, which might pique your interest in the future. We appreciate your feedback about the parking lot as we work with the city to improve our current parking situation. Enjoy the rest of your summer. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. I would recommend, if you have pets, you stay on the top floor corner. We stayed there and it was an awesome room. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was perfect healthy and good. The wait staff were friendly and just perfect. My husband and I would go down early for coffee and then come back for breakfast with our young adults. This was no problem. I would stay here again. It is within blocks of everything in historic Charleston. There was a fitness center available for a fee.

Room Tip: Pet friendly area room top corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your detailed and thoughtful review. We love to host pets and are thrilled that our hotel accommodated your entire family so well. We take great satisfaction in reading about your stellar experience with our staff and look forward to hosting you all again. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#29 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards.All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Guests may also choose to order a full breakfast from the kitchen. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Courtyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.