We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Save Saved
You added Kings Courtyard Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Kings Courtyard Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover Charleston
Ranked #26 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Reasonable and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed for one night and found the hotel to be reasonable (only paid $230). Very nice for the price and friendly staff. They will deliver continental breakfast to the room (no charge) which is another perk for the super reasonable cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    94
    21
    14
    6
See reviews for
48
130
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

There are many positives about this hotel. The location off King Street is next to the shopping district, and only steps away from the score of fantastic restaurants off Market and East Bay street. Great location. The evening wine and cheese reception is fun to meet other guests and generally relax---the service provided by Antwan, in particular, was beyond fantastic. We also enjoyed the late night refreshments as well. We stayed in Room 301, which is a queen room next to the elevator. We thought that it would be noisy, but it was not at all. The room was not large, but it was clean, nice, and bright---we liked it very much. The continental breakfast is not worth much, frankly, and certainly not worth passing up breakfast at Toast or other nearby places. As other reviews note, the parking spots are tight, and although we had no issues, I can see where there may be times when the lot is full. Overall, we very much enjoyed our time here, and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your wonderful stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am happy that you enjoyed our location, accommodations and complimentary amenities like afternoon wine and cheese and evening cordials. I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with our complimentary continental breakfast. We offer an expanded hot breakfast to guests at a small additional cost, which might pique your interest in the future. We appreciate your feedback about the parking lot as we work with the city to improve our current parking situation. Enjoy the rest of your summer. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. I would recommend, if you have pets, you stay on the top floor corner. We stayed there and it was an awesome room. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was perfect healthy and good. The wait staff were friendly and just perfect. My husband and I would go down early for coffee and then come back for breakfast with our young adults. This was no problem. I would stay here again. It is within blocks of everything in historic Charleston. There was a fitness center available for a fee.

Room Tip: Pet friendly area room top corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your detailed and thoughtful review. We love to host pets and are thrilled that our hotel accommodated your entire family so well. We take great satisfaction in reading about your stellar experience with our staff and look forward to hosting you all again. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This unique boutique hotel is ideal! Well situated in the heart of old Charleston, you are in walking distance of fabulous shopping and dining. Even late evening walks are a pleasure! The streets are bust with people and appear quiet safe.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your stellar 5-star review! We are thrilled that you found our hotel to be unique and accommodating. We love the historic streets of Charleston as well and look forward to sharing even more of our city upon your return.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have stayed at much more expensive hotels in Charleston, but have never had a better experience than the time I stayed here. The front desk staff (lisa and James) were extremely kind and willing to help anyway we asked. Our waitress, Takia, took care of us each morning and made sure we had everything we needed. Notice the names in this review. That is what this hotel is about: friendly service where you can feel welcome when you walk in the door until the time you leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great place to stay for a night, or several nights! Quaint hotel with old world charm, the AC and elevator are cool and efficient, the rooms are very quiet, clean, and comfortable; everything about, and everyone at King's Courtyard Inn make you feel like you are at home. Exceptional recommendations for food and activities from the staff. We opted to have our complimentary continental breakfast in the room and were delighted with fresh baked poppy seed muffins, cinnamon rolls, and croissants, with delicious OJ and hot coffee and bananas each morning. We loved the 5-6 PM social in the courtyard, met some lovely people and shared our Charleston recommendations and adventures. It's an easy walk to everything, we recommend catching the FREE Trolley at King and Market Street, the King/Market loop takes about 15 minutes and it's a good way to see much of the city, hop on and hop off. The trolley comes about every 10-15 minutes. City Market is a few blocks away. Parking in Charleston is a nightmare! We were glad to park and lock our car in the $12 a day parking behind the Inn. The parking is a bit tight if you have a large vehicle, which was not an issue with our Honda Fit. Next time we visit, it be in the fall or spring, and we stay here!

Room Tip: Our east facing room 302 overlooked the parking lot, it was quiet, had morning , and was located acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3lyssa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location. Right in the center of town. It is a short walk to the water and the city center.
Our room was very quiet and comfortable.
The hotel has convenient and secure parking in the back of the building.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Address: 198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards.All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Guests may also choose to order a full breakfast from the kitchen. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Courtyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.