We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming Inn in a delightful City!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Save Saved
You added Kings Courtyard Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$189 (USD)
Ranked #24 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A charming Inn in a delightful City!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Went to Charleston on a mother/daughter long weekend recently. We enjoyed the great location and wonderful hospitality at the Kings Courtyard Inn. It is in a excellent location to all the historic sites in Charleston. The rooms are a nice size for the time you do spend in there! They have a lovely complimentary breakfast that you can have in the quaint courtyard, or delivered to your room. 5pm they have cheese and wine in the courtyard too! The staff is all very hospitable and helpful to make your stay in Charleston wonderful. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am thrilled that the inn provided such wonderful accommodations for you and your daughter. Charleston is the perfect city to enjoy a mother-daughter getaway. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you both back again soon.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    101
    21
    14
    6
See reviews for
51
140
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Needville, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I both enjoyed the King's courtyard for the past 5 days.
1)Excellent central location
2)Awesome little courtyards to relax in during the day.
3)Lovely wine hour for socializing
4)Concierges our very helpful with bookings and travel plans
5)rooms are wonderful, we had 111 with a giant four poster and an antique wardrobe and 12' ceiling
6)Breakfast was very good, but my only reluctance was giving the fifth star is that the complementary breakfast is only for cereal, yogurt and bagel. I'm trying to stick to my low carb diet so the bacon and eggs or omelette were "pay for" items. It may just be my misinterpretation of complementary breakfast, but we will definitely stay here again and will recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
I am thrilled that you had such an enjoyable extended stay here at the Kings Courtyard Inn. I enjoyed your thorough review. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. Thank you for the comments about our complimentary continental breakfast. We believe it is a fantastic amenity to offer guests. Your feedback is very important as we work towards 100% guest satisfaction.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kings courtyard inn. The courtyard is very simple and could use a little bit of an upgrade & some tlc but our room was beautiful and very clean. It was also well maintained and very comfortable. We spent the last three nights there and it was a very convenient and wonderful location. Our room was dominated by a beautiful canopied 4 poster carved rice bed and had a gorgeous elaborately decorated tin ceiling. It was convenient to have a refrigerator in the room and the flatscreen tv looked nice but we never actually even turned it on because we enjoyed Charleston so thoroughly. Did I forget to mention that the mattress was incredibly comfortable. What a great surprise! I had a little bit of trouble sleeping the first night because of late night noise and early morning chatter in the breakfast/ court area. Admittedly I am an unusually light sleeper and the next night I had earplugs and slept much better. The ladies at the front desk were awesome. They had fantastic recommendations for dining and tours. I definitely recommend Kings Courtyard Inn for a wonderful stay in Charleston.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for dubbing the Kings Courtyard Inn a "King Street Gem." I enjoyed reading your review. I take great pride in our staff and am always thrilled to hear such fantastic feedback. We all appreciate your feedback and are glad that you had such a great stay in Charleston. We hope to see you again this summer.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great hotel, great location.
King and Meeting Streets just a block from City Market and the Cruise terminal.
Within a few blocks of Carriage rides, King Street is the major shopping area and close to many of the great restaurants.
Off street parking is available for a charge, 12$PD. There are two courtyards in the center of the property taht are used for breakfast and happy hour. Free wine and cheese, etc. Breakfast is ok, healthy choice and pastries. Eggs and other selections are available for a charge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our stay the Kings Courtyard was wonderful. Although the room with its 2 double beds was not spacious, it was roomy enough for two travelers. The furnishing were lovely and reflected the "old South". A nice touch was the fireplace flanked by two wing chairs. The location was ideal. The free Charleston shuttle bus was at the end of the street. We were able to get anywhere we wanted without a car. King Street is filled with wonderful shops and is a walker's delight. Restaurants abound.

The staff at inn was friendly and helpful. The morning breakfast is included in the room price which helped to offset the high price of hotels in Charleston. We are two "senior" women traveling alone and felt very comfortable here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our first visit to Charleston so we really didn't know anything about the area. I am so glad we picked the Kings Courtyard Inn! The location is perfect, we could walk everywhere easily. We walked out one side right onto King Street, the other out and down the alley to Meeting Street.The hotel is old but that is part of it's charm. I loved the old wood floors everywhere and our room was really cute. We had two big windows that looked down on a courtyard, the decor was simple but really lovely and perfect for the historic feel of the building. The King bed was very comfortable and our room was quiet. Everyone we talked to there was friendly and helpful, they gave us a great recommendation for lunch (Amen Street Fish and Raw Bar...fab). We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was a fantastic hotel for our weekend stay. It was one of the least expensive places we found but was full of charm and hospitality! Our room was perfect with a king size bed, well-decorated. The hotel offers free continental breakfast everyday, a hot breakfast is offered for a nominal fee. My husband and I split a 3 egg omelet each morning for $8 and then enjoyed the free continental as well, more than enough breakfast to tide us over until late lunch. There is coffee in the lobby each morning and you can help yourself. It's actually very good coffee too. Each afternoon, they have a wine and cheese hour, also included with your stay.

This place was in the perfect location, everything to see was right out the back door and a couple of blocks in one direction or the other. We could walk to everything.

The walls are thin so we could hear the staff moving around during the day but it was a quiet environment at night, no problems with noise while we were sleeping. We would definitely stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#25 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards.All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Guests may also choose to order a full breakfast from the kitchen. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Courtyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.