We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Save Saved
You added Kings Courtyard Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$189 (USD)
Ranked #24 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Faded Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was our second visit to Kings Courtyard Inn. The first visit (about two years ago) we found it to be funky-charming, this time, dowdy-charming. However, as other reviewers have noted, the location is great, the staff is terrific, and the experience (including the breakfast and wine & cheese) is worth the price.

if we ever return to Charleston, it definitely will NOT be in early April. Owing to the confluence of Spring break, a tennis tournament and a foot race, Charleston was wall-to-wall people and cars while we were there. We enjoyed our visit, but were glad to get out of town.

Room Tip: If you want a large room, one of the double-bed rooms on the 3rd floor, rear are good sized for an o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are thrilled that you decided to stay with us for a second time. I am happy that you had a pleasant stay, but am sorry it was not another five-star experience. We take all guest feedback very seriously. You will be happy to know that in the upcoming months, we plan to undergo a few cosmetic changes. I hope you choose to visit with us upon your return to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    104
    21
    14
    6
See reviews for
52
144
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kinston, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I spent 2 great nights at this inn. The location can't be beat. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The little "extras" such as wine/cheese in the afternoons and the continental breakfast added to the value. Definitely will be back.

Room Tip: 306 is off the beaten path to other rooms. 301 and 302 are near elevator so I would ask not to be th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Kings Courtyard Inn is charming and reminiscent of old time Charles Town. The staff is professional, courteous and efficeint. You couldn't ask for a better location, all the finest Charlestown has to offer is just a short stroll away. I've stayed in many B&Bs, hotels and Inns in Charleston, but all around this is my favorite, and for the money, you won't find a better value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultrie, GA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here on a recent trip to Charleston. It was a great location being central to the various restaurants we wanted to visit and places to go.

Service from the bellhop, concierge, room service, etc was great - could not ask for anything more.

Our room was small which goes with the older hotels. But it was clean and nicely furnished. If I were to stay longer than 3 nights, I would check into the possibility of a larger room.

The bed was comfortable but I would liked some bigger/longer pillows. The ones on the bed were small - maybe 24 inches square.

The continental breakfast which we had delivered was fine. My wife ordered eggs each morning which were a little overcooked.

The location on King Street was great as we were within 15 minutes of all the places we wanted to go.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: For a trip to Charleston, make plans early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
The hardworking team at Kings Courtyard Inn is one of our very best assets. Thank you for such a kind note about our staff members. We appreciate your wonderful review of the property. Thank you for the recommendation - we will look forward to seeing you both again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Not the most luxurious, but quite comfortable accommodations with period furnishings in the midst of tourist Charleston. It's just a block from the Market so you can walk to most restaurants and tourist sites. The staff is friendly and helpful.

One very nice feature is the parking lot just out the back door, where guest parking is only $12 for 24 hr in-out. Others are the cozy lobby with a fireplace and the courtyard, breakfast room and patio areas where a complimentary happy hour is served each evening, with wines, cheeses and other snacks.

The complementary continental breakfast is very good, so much so that we never ordered the optional cooked options.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I am pleased that you had such an enjoyable visit at the Kings Courtyard Inn. We enjoy offering guests amenities like complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese. Your wonderful feedback is appreciated. Thank you for the recommendation. We will see you next time!

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our first visit to Charleston and we found the hotel was a great base for taking in all the attractions of the historic area. We could walk everwhere and there were plenty of places to eat and shop nearby. Our room was comfortable and the staff were very helpful. We missed having a bar in the hotel but the free evening wine tastings made up for that! I would recommend Charleston as a town to visit as it not only has the historic area but also the sea, beaches and other attractions within easy reaching distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I just finished my third visit to this hotel, and my wife and I have been delighted with it every time. The staff is congenial and helpful, the rooms are nice, the afternoon wine and cheese and morning breakfast are pleasant, and the hotel often has specials that make the rooms affordable as well. To top it off, it's right in the center of the action of the city on King Street, so you can't beat the location. We will return again to the Kings Courtyard Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I appreciate your loyalty to the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am thrilled that your third visit to the inn was just as wonderful as your first. Thank you for such a great recommendation. We look forward to hosting you for fourth visit to King Street.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards.All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Guests may also choose to order a full breakfast from the kitchen. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Courtyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.