We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Save Saved
You added Kings Courtyard Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 6 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover Charleston
Ranked #26 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Kinston, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great staff and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I spent 2 great nights at this inn. The location can't be beat. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The little "extras" such as wine/cheese in the afternoons and the continental breakfast added to the value. Definitely will be back.

Room Tip: 306 is off the beaten path to other rooms. 301 and 302 are near elevator so I would ask not to be th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    95
    21
    14
    6
See reviews for
48
131
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Kings Courtyard Inn is charming and reminiscent of old time Charles Town. The staff is professional, courteous and efficeint. You couldn't ask for a better location, all the finest Charlestown has to offer is just a short stroll away. I've stayed in many B&Bs, hotels and Inns in Charleston, but all around this is my favorite, and for the money, you won't find a better value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultrie, GA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here on a recent trip to Charleston. It was a great location being central to the various restaurants we wanted to visit and places to go.

Service from the bellhop, concierge, room service, etc was great - could not ask for anything more.

Our room was small which goes with the older hotels. But it was clean and nicely furnished. If I were to stay longer than 3 nights, I would check into the possibility of a larger room.

The bed was comfortable but I would liked some bigger/longer pillows. The ones on the bed were small - maybe 24 inches square.

The continental breakfast which we had delivered was fine. My wife ordered eggs each morning which were a little overcooked.

The location on King Street was great as we were within 15 minutes of all the places we wanted to go.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: For a trip to Charleston, make plans early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
The hardworking team at Kings Courtyard Inn is one of our very best assets. Thank you for such a kind note about our staff members. We appreciate your wonderful review of the property. Thank you for the recommendation - we will look forward to seeing you both again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Not the most luxurious, but quite comfortable accommodations with period furnishings in the midst of tourist Charleston. It's just a block from the Market so you can walk to most restaurants and tourist sites. The staff is friendly and helpful.

One very nice feature is the parking lot just out the back door, where guest parking is only $12 for 24 hr in-out. Others are the cozy lobby with a fireplace and the courtyard, breakfast room and patio areas where a complimentary happy hour is served each evening, with wines, cheeses and other snacks.

The complementary continental breakfast is very good, so much so that we never ordered the optional cooked options.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I am pleased that you had such an enjoyable visit at the Kings Courtyard Inn. We enjoy offering guests amenities like complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese. Your wonderful feedback is appreciated. Thank you for the recommendation. We will see you next time!

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our first visit to Charleston and we found the hotel was a great base for taking in all the attractions of the historic area. We could walk everwhere and there were plenty of places to eat and shop nearby. Our room was comfortable and the staff were very helpful. We missed having a bar in the hotel but the free evening wine tastings made up for that! I would recommend Charleston as a town to visit as it not only has the historic area but also the sea, beaches and other attractions within easy reaching distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I just finished my third visit to this hotel, and my wife and I have been delighted with it every time. The staff is congenial and helpful, the rooms are nice, the afternoon wine and cheese and morning breakfast are pleasant, and the hotel often has specials that make the rooms affordable as well. To top it off, it's right in the center of the action of the city on King Street, so you can't beat the location. We will return again to the Kings Courtyard Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I appreciate your loyalty to the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am thrilled that your third visit to the inn was just as wonderful as your first. Thank you for such a great recommendation. We look forward to hosting you for fourth visit to King Street.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I visit Charleston often because my son is in school there. This is my second time staying at Kings Courtyard. The location is fantastic. Near the market, waterfront, shopping, south of broad. And the price is right. We were there 4 nights, and for some reason on the 2nd night, they did not clean finish cleaning the room. I would expect if you were staying in a hotel multiple nights, they would make an extra effort. But it seemed like they just left dirty towels and sheets. That is my only complaint. Otherwise, enjoy your stay here and I suggest having your breakfast delivered to your room.

Room Tip: Front side of hotel looks out onto Kings St. which is fun. Back side, may be quieter, but not much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your five-star review of the Kings Courtyard Inn. We were glad to have you back for the second time. I am thrilled that the inn was so well-suited as a great gathering place for your family. I apologize for the housekeeping issues. I will investigate the issue, as this is not our standard. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, as we will prevent this from happening again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Address: 198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#25 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards.All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Guests may also choose to order a full breakfast from the kitchen. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Courtyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.