We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Courtyard Inn to your Saves list
Kings Courtyard Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$239 (USD)
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Amherst, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a good and reasonable place for our 3 generation girls trip in Oct. Walking distance to so many places. Good breakfast buffet which we ate at the tables by the pool to enjoy in a lovely setting. Helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    123
    26
    16
    6
See reviews for
61
180
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Kings Courtyard Inn over MLK weekend to celebrate my 30th birthday. We arrived early, 10:30 a.m., on Saturday and were pleasantly surprised that our room was available. We were able to check-in and settle-in right away.

Our room was decorated in a modern historic motif, with a modern bathroom and accommodations, but classic Charleston decor including a four poster bed and beautiful historic motif curtains and chairs. Our room overlooked the courtyard below and we were able to open our two sets of french doors onto the terrace to let the sun in and hear the water feature below. The hotel offers nightly wine and cheese at 5 p.m. which is a great way to mingle with other guests or simply start your evening in Charleston.

The location was ideal, on the quieter end of King Street, in the heart of the shopping district. We were able to walk everywhere within 5-10 minutes, including the city's best restaurants and sites, including Waterfront Park and The Battery.

I would highly recommend the Kings Courtyard Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Happy Anniversary to you both. Thank you for spending such a special weekend with us. I'm thrilled to read that you had such a nice time and enjoyed your room and accommodations so thoroughly. Thank you for your review. We hope you'll spend many more anniversaries here at the Kings Courtyard Inn.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice old building, neat rooms and atmosphere. Wine and cheese reception is a nice touch, but not very good. Breakfast is definitely not enough to fill up on. Room was nice and clean and quiet. Location could not have been any better. Close to pretty much everything! Free hotel parking lot behind building is convenient, but the stalls are tiny, so if you have a large vehicle, you would be better off parking elsewhere. The company that operates the parking lot take their job very seriously and are very rude, but they have nothing to do with the hotel itself. Overall, we were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very nice place, staff was very attentive. Location-outstanding, right on King St with Market less than a block, restaurants and all attractions very close. Nightly Wine and Cheese a plus. Stayed in a parlor suite: spacious and very nice, thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Only negative was close proximity to King St was quite noisy, but not unexpected. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed all the inn has to offer. I am so glad that you enjoyed the space our Parlor Suite provided, but am sorry to read that you were disturbed by noise on the street. We are happy that you had an excellent experience overall, and we look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We found this almost by accident wanting to visit "Chucktown" for an evening dinner at nearby Husk.

The concierge couldn't been more friendly and helpful getting us a better reservation time at the overly popular restaurant where we were dining that evening.

The room was on the small side but charming, quiet, and in keeping with the "Old Charleston" setting in the heart of the shopping and restaurant part of the old city!

What a nice touch to have a bit of cheese and wine in the afternoon after a day walking all over.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Sounds like you had a great time here at the Kings Courtyard Inn! We hope your dog enjoyed itself, too. Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am happy to read about your experience with our concierge. I'll be sure to pass your compliments on. We hope to see you back again very soon.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

This is an historic hotel that is amazingly well located on King Street. You can literally walk everywhere. Parking is available in an adjacent lot for $12 per day.
Other than the stellar location, there are some issues with this hotel. My friend and I stayed in a set of connecting rooms. One room was fine, but the second was musty, dark, and did not seem to have been cleaned frequently. The shower curtain was full of mold. When we asked for extra blankets, I was given a blanket that was stained and had holes the size of my palm. This should not happen, obviously, and makes you wonder what is going on here.
There are some nice features of this hotel in addition to the location, such as a complimentary continental breakfast, and an afternoon happy hour with wine and cheese each day. The lobby is pleasant with a lit fireplace, and they keep sherry on hand for those who are interested.
I suppose the most important feature is that the price is right. Charleston is an expensive city and this hotel is reasonably priced, especially given its location.

With some attention to detail and new linens (frankly, my room needed a new mattress too), this hotel could really shine. As it is now it is serviceable and reasonably priced. Again, you just can't beat the location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciated our central location to Charleston's many great sights and attractions. I am so sorry to read about your blanket, as this was clearly meant to be discarded. Because your comment, our housekeeping team is inspecting all of our bed coverings to ensure this does not happen again. That is not the room condition our guests should expect. We hope you'll return so we can deliver a perfect experience.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

great staff, and pretty good rooms- we had one overlooking king street with a gas fireplace and big windows. nice bed and bathroom. park the car in the back- daily rate, and walk to everything. room service, and wine and cheese in the afternoon.

Room Tip: overlooking king street. some rooms have fireplaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards.All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Guests may also choose to order a full breakfast from the kitchen. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Courtyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.