We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pet Friendly Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Courtyard Inn to your Saves list
Kings Courtyard Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Rate
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
Atlanta
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Pet Friendly Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We found this almost by accident wanting to visit "Chucktown" for an evening dinner at nearby Husk.

The concierge couldn't been more friendly and helpful getting us a better reservation time at the overly popular restaurant where we were dining that evening.

The room was on the small side but charming, quiet, and in keeping with the "Old Charleston" setting in the heart of the shopping and restaurant part of the old city!

What a nice touch to have a bit of cheese and wine in the afternoon after a day walking all over.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Sounds like you had a great time here at the Kings Courtyard Inn! We hope your dog enjoyed itself, too. Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am happy to read about your experience with our concierge. I'll be sure to pass your compliments on. We hope to see you back again very soon.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    118
    25
    16
    6
See reviews for
57
168
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is an historic hotel that is amazingly well located on King Street. You can literally walk everywhere. Parking is available in an adjacent lot for $12 per day.
Other than the stellar location, there are some issues with this hotel. My friend and I stayed in a set of connecting rooms. One room was fine, but the second was musty, dark, and did not seem to have been cleaned frequently. The shower curtain was full of mold. When we asked for extra blankets, I was given a blanket that was stained and had holes the size of my palm. This should not happen, obviously, and makes you wonder what is going on here.
There are some nice features of this hotel in addition to the location, such as a complimentary continental breakfast, and an afternoon happy hour with wine and cheese each day. The lobby is pleasant with a lit fireplace, and they keep sherry on hand for those who are interested.
I suppose the most important feature is that the price is right. Charleston is an expensive city and this hotel is reasonably priced, especially given its location.

With some attention to detail and new linens (frankly, my room needed a new mattress too), this hotel could really shine. As it is now it is serviceable and reasonably priced. Again, you just can't beat the location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciated our central location to Charleston's many great sights and attractions. I am so sorry to read about your blanket, as this was clearly meant to be discarded. Because your comment, our housekeeping team is inspecting all of our bed coverings to ensure this does not happen again. That is not the room condition our guests should expect. We hope you'll return so we can deliver a perfect experience.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

great staff, and pretty good rooms- we had one overlooking king street with a gas fireplace and big windows. nice bed and bathroom. park the car in the back- daily rate, and walk to everything. room service, and wine and cheese in the afternoon.

Room Tip: overlooking king street. some rooms have fireplaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This spot is great to allow you to walk all over historic Charleston, whether for dining, shopping, catching a carriage ride or whatever. We had a king room on the first floor, four-poster bed, nice reproduction mahogany furniture. Some noise as we were right by the back door, but nothing too disturbing. Bathroom was small and simple, but clean and comfortable. The desk staff is very helpful with ideas of places to eat and things to do. We opted to have the continental breakfasts delivered to our room. My husband was happy with his cereal, fruit, juice, tea and breads. I added eggs for a very reasonable additional charge. The happy hour from 5-6 with free wine, cheese and crackers was not well attended in off season, but was very nice. The first night we met another couple there and wound up having dinner with them later. The free sherry in the evenings is a lovely extra touch to help you wind down after a day of sightseeing! Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Unless you enjoy the sound of running water, try to get a room that doesn't have windows into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I thank you for such a wonderful review of your stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am thrilled that you had such an enjoyable time and took advantage of our location and complimentary extras like breakfast, wine and cheese. We hope your new year is off to a great start and hope to host you again soon.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed over the weekend. Very nice hotel. We had a king room on the first floor. Nice room (typical 1st floor noise).

The location is great, only about a block from the intersection of Market Street and Meeting Street and the front door opens onto King Street.

The other couple with us had made a mistake on booking, but the front desk quickly resolved the issue.

They offer breakfast and an afternoon wine gathering. We didn't make it to either (had other plans). Maybe next time we'll check them out.

We'll definitely consider this hotel again when staying in Charleston.

Room Tip: There can be late night street noise and early morning guest noise with a room on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

LOVED this hotel! My friend and I had a double room, it was spacious, clean, nicely furnished, and had a working fireplace.(!) A really charming room. Our friends had a king room, it was just as nice as ours. We enjoyed the wine and cheese hour, and the complimentary breakfast. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Not just polite, but actually very friendly. The location is perfect. I'm only sorry the weather was bad, we would have spent time in the lovely courtyard. I would definitely recommend Kings Courtyard, and will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review about your stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am thrilled to read that our accommodations suited both you and your traveling companion so well. I'm sorry to hear that the weather was not in your favor, but am glad that you had a wonderful trip nonetheless. Thank you for your kind note about our staff. They are a wonderful team that I am very proud of. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our family spent Thanksgiving in Charleston this year and stayed at the Kings Courtyard. It suited our needs perfectly. The rooms were a nice size, especially for an historic hotel, and beautifully appointed with reproduction furniture in keeping with Charleston's ambiance. The location could not be beat, right in the middle of the historic district. I had been concerned about noise, but the hotel is recessed between Kings and Meeting Street and was blissfully quiet. We enjoyed the complimentary wine and cheese and the evening sherry, as well as the free continental breakfast. Hot items are available, at an extra but fair charge. The concierge staff was extremely helpful, making multiple calls to secure us a spot on a walking tour. It was a bit chilly for us to enjoy the courtyards, but we did appreciate their ambiance and sound of the fountains whenever we passed through. We will definitely be back the next time we are in Charleston.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms on the courtyard don't get a lot of sunlight. Do not be afraid to take a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for such an outstanding review. I am thrilled that your family enjoyed such a memorable Thanksgiving here at the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am glad that our accommodations suited the group so well. It sounds like you were able to take full advantage of our complimentary extras and enjoyed our central location. We hope to see you all back in Charleston soon. Thank you for the recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards.All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Guests may also choose to order a full breakfast from the kitchen. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Courtyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.