We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Romantic Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Save Saved
You added Kings Courtyard Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover Charleston!
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I hadn't been to Charleston in over 20 years, and were looking forward to a romantic getaway. We chose the 'Kings Courtyard Inn' in the historic part of town, and are very glad we did. My wife just loved the Suite that we had reserved. And the service was outstanding. There were two people (on staff) that made our stay that much more astonishing - James (night manager) and Takia (at breakfast). Thank you for helping to make our stay so enjoyable!

Room Tip: Our Suite was well worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing to spend such a special weekend at the Kings Courtyard Inn. I hope Charleston was just as wonderful as you remembered. I am glad that you both enjoyed your suite and am thrilled that James and Takia delivered excellent service. We have a wonderful team at the Kings Courtyard Inn. I hope you are able to visit us again, sooner rather than later. Thank you for the recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    110
    24
    15
    6
See reviews for
55
160
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stowe, Vermont
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Kings Courtyard is not the plushest, most luxuriant hotel in Charleston. It is very comfortable, well located, quiet, and charming. And it has staff who will go the extra mile to be helpful and make your stay more pleasant. It is the staff that really sets this hotel apart. My visit occurred during the week of Hurricane Sandy, and I needed all of the help I could muster to get my disrupted travel plans ironed out. The staff at Kings Courtyard was extraordinary in providing that assistance in a professional and immediate manner. That alone is worth a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I am sorry to hear that your travel plans were disrupted due to Hurricane Sandy but am so proud that our staff was helpful and accommodating in the midst of the storm. As owner, I too agree that our staff makes the inn stand out among the rest. I will be sure to share your testimonial with our team. I hope you arrived home safely and look forward to hosting future visits to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Appears worn out. To expensive for the quality. Breakfast was fair. Sherry in the evening was good. Staff fair service.

Appears worn out. To expensive for the quality. Breakfast was fair. Sherry in the evening was good. Staff fair service.

Appears worn out. To expensive for the quality. Breakfast was fair. Sherry in the evening was good. Staff fair service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am glad you enjoyed our Southern hospitality, staff and complimentary amenities. I am sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. We believe that our room rates are in line with our location and the quality of service our staff delivers. We appreciate your review.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Charleston for our wedding anniversary and had a blast. When we arrived the concierge desk was very helpful in suggesting local sites and restaurants and we settled in for a few days. Our room had a private courtyard which was great for an evening cigar after a full day of walking around this beautiful city. We would reccommend Amen St. Oyster Bar for oysters and great ambiance as well as Slightly North of Broad or "SNOB" as it's known for great shrimp and grits. The location of this Hotel on King St. was ideal with shopping, antique shops, and restaurants within walking distance. We also dined at Husk as well as 82 queen which were both great as well. This town has such a nice laid back feel and the architecture was beautiful. I will admit that the bathroom of the room could use a bit of refreshening but the location and the staff certainly make up for a bit of cosmetics. This historic hotel is also well over 100 years old so the architecture and feel of the various courtyards made up for the fact that it's not a brand new Hilton. The aquarium was a nice trip as well as the historic cruise which educated us about some of the history and culture of this area as well as a beautiful couple of hour trip. I can't wait to return to Charleston and will without hesitation consider staying at The Kings Courtyard Inn again! If you are a foodie, this is the town for you. We also gained about 5lbs each in a week! Worth every ounce!

Room Tip: We had a private courtyard room that was great for an evening cigar after a busy day of siteseeing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for such an outstanding review of your trip to Charleston. We're thrilled that you had such a memorable anniversary celebration at the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am glad that you enjoyed the inn's historic feel and were able to dine and shop at the many wonderful places within walking distance. I thank you for recommendation. We look forward to hosting many more anniversaries.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We've just returned home from four nights in Charleston. We were a group of 22 travelers and we all were very happy with our rooms, hotel location, service and especially meeting in the courtyard for wine and cheese before heading out to dinner each night. We all highly recommend The Kings Courtyard Inn and their very helpful and courteous staff. The Inn works for a large group and would be perfect for a romantic stay as well! You will not be disappointed!!!!!!!
Regency Reveler

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
I'm thrilled that all 22 of you had such a wonderful time at the Kings Courtyard Inn. Our staff truly enjoys hosting groups and I believe this shines through their excellent service. The inn is an ideal location for large gatherings - the afternoon wine reception is always a great place to regroup. Thank you for such a wonderful recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was one of the best plces we have stayed at. It is in the center of everything and the daily wine and cheese was a pleasant break between busy days and dinner. Staff was helpful and freindly and helpful. Would always stay here on any future trips to Charleston.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your Kings Courtyard Inn experience. I am thrilled that you rate the inn as one of the best places to stay in Charleston. Our staff works tirelessly to deliver an exceptional guest experience and I am always happy to read such positive feedback. We hope you're able to visit us again soon. Thank you again for your recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel was very nice. Lots of that southern charm. The location was very central. Price was decent. Breakfast was very basic, but good. Our TV didn't work in our room. It would've been nice to see the local new etc. I'd stay here again, and I'd recommend it. :0)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our central location. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to host your next visit to Charleston.

Our apologies about your television issues, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards.All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Guests may also choose to order a full breakfast from the kitchen. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Courtyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.