We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great anniversary trip to charleston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kings Courtyard Inn to your Saves list
Kings Courtyard Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover Charleston!
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great anniversary trip to charleston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Charleston for our wedding anniversary and had a blast. When we arrived the concierge desk was very helpful in suggesting local sites and restaurants and we settled in for a few days. Our room had a private courtyard which was great for an evening cigar after a full day of walking around this beautiful city. We would reccommend Amen St. Oyster Bar for oysters and great ambiance as well as Slightly North of Broad or "SNOB" as it's known for great shrimp and grits. The location of this Hotel on King St. was ideal with shopping, antique shops, and restaurants within walking distance. We also dined at Husk as well as 82 queen which were both great as well. This town has such a nice laid back feel and the architecture was beautiful. I will admit that the bathroom of the room could use a bit of refreshening but the location and the staff certainly make up for a bit of cosmetics. This historic hotel is also well over 100 years old so the architecture and feel of the various courtyards made up for the fact that it's not a brand new Hilton. The aquarium was a nice trip as well as the historic cruise which educated us about some of the history and culture of this area as well as a beautiful couple of hour trip. I can't wait to return to Charleston and will without hesitation consider staying at The Kings Courtyard Inn again! If you are a foodie, this is the town for you. We also gained about 5lbs each in a week! Worth every ounce!

Room Tip: We had a private courtyard room that was great for an evening cigar after a busy day of siteseeing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for such an outstanding review of your trip to Charleston. We're thrilled that you had such a memorable anniversary celebration at the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am glad that you enjoyed the inn's historic feel and were able to dine and shop at the many wonderful places within walking distance. I thank you for recommendation. We look forward to hosting many more anniversaries.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    113
    24
    16
    6
See reviews for
55
164
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We've just returned home from four nights in Charleston. We were a group of 22 travelers and we all were very happy with our rooms, hotel location, service and especially meeting in the courtyard for wine and cheese before heading out to dinner each night. We all highly recommend The Kings Courtyard Inn and their very helpful and courteous staff. The Inn works for a large group and would be perfect for a romantic stay as well! You will not be disappointed!!!!!!!
Regency Reveler

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
I'm thrilled that all 22 of you had such a wonderful time at the Kings Courtyard Inn. Our staff truly enjoys hosting groups and I believe this shines through their excellent service. The inn is an ideal location for large gatherings - the afternoon wine reception is always a great place to regroup. Thank you for such a wonderful recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was one of the best plces we have stayed at. It is in the center of everything and the daily wine and cheese was a pleasant break between busy days and dinner. Staff was helpful and freindly and helpful. Would always stay here on any future trips to Charleston.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your Kings Courtyard Inn experience. I am thrilled that you rate the inn as one of the best places to stay in Charleston. Our staff works tirelessly to deliver an exceptional guest experience and I am always happy to read such positive feedback. We hope you're able to visit us again soon. Thank you again for your recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel was very nice. Lots of that southern charm. The location was very central. Price was decent. Breakfast was very basic, but good. Our TV didn't work in our room. It would've been nice to see the local new etc. I'd stay here again, and I'd recommend it. :0)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our central location. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to host your next visit to Charleston.

Our apologies about your television issues, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

A delightful inn that has kept its historical feel. The room are well appointed and very comfortable. The baths are standard but very clean and functional, it is an old building you know. What make this place special are the people. From the breakfast in the courtyard to the wine and cheese in the early evening, to the sherry in the lobby in the late evening, everyone wanted your stay to be wonderful. The concierge was very helpful in everything we asked for. What makes this inn stand out even more is its location; finish breakfast, walk 50 feet and you are in the center of Charleston. I parked my car ($12.00 a day, unlimited in and out) and never had to move it. We walked to the antique stores, the bay, Market Square, the restaurants and the churches. I would recommed this inn to anyone and would return myself...a great stay on my first visit to Charleston.

Room Tip: Don't spend extra for a private courtyard, the mosquitoes are abundant. And rooms not on the Kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
What an outstanding review! I greatly appreciate your comments about the inn and our wonderful staff. They are an incredible team and we love to hear such positive feedback. I also thank you for sharing your tips and suggestions for future guests. I'm thrilled that you were able to take such great advantage of our location and really enjoy the city by foot. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is in the heart of the city. It's right on King st and backs up to Market and Meeting. Easy access to every touristy thing in the city. While breakfast is included, it is nothing special. It's not like a typical complimentary hotel breakfast, the choice is very limited with satisfactory quality. Also, it is not self-serve which means that it is more time consuming. But there are extended breakfast hours. All the staff was friendly and helpful. While there is a fee for parking, it is lower than other hotels, and is very convenient. There is a nightly wine and cheese event, but we never attended. The room and bathroom were fine but limited light, storage space and the location of the tv made viewing difficult. But for a long weekend in Charleston it's great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience here at the Kings Courtyard Inn. I'm thrilled that you so enjoyed our location in the center of Charleston and the convenience of our parking lot. The inn is truly a wonderful place to stay when enjoying downtown's many attractions.

I am sorry to read that our breakfast service was not up to your standards. We offer a variety of continental and hot options and a few different locations to enjoy breakfast (ie: in room delivery or formal service in our breakfast room) in hopes that our guests unique needs will be met. I hope you find breakfast to be more enjoyable on your next visit to Charleston.

We look forward to hosting you again. Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely weekend at the Kings Courtyard. Location was perfect. A few blocks,easy walk, from the historical market area. As mentioned in other reviews, it's an old hotel with small rooms, which are well decorated, clean and comfortable. continental breakfast is included, but a full menu breakfast is available for additional charge. Front desk staff was exceptional. All staff were helpful and friendly. A few maintenance issues were seen to immediately.
We would recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to share your memories of your Girls Weekend here at the Kings Courtyard Inn. Our staff always enjoys hosting groups and I'm thrilled their service left such a lasting impression. Our central location on King Street makes it very easy to enjoy the best of Charleston's dining, shopping and nightlife. We hope your group of girlfriends will make a visit to the inn tradition in years to come.

Though you noted slight maintenance issues, I'm glad they were swiftly resolved. These notes are always helpful in improving our overall guest experience.
Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards.All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Guests may also choose to order a full breakfast from the kitchen. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Courtyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.