We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and charm make up for any small short-comings.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Courtyard Inn to your Saves list
Kings Courtyard Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$239 (USD)
Ranked #22 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Niceville, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Location and charm make up for any small short-comings.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our room was somewhat as expected for a historic inn. We felt it could have been more lushly decorated to add to the old-world charm. The bed was beautiful and definitely the focal point of the room, but other furnishings and decorations were lacking, considering the $200/night price tag. The room was spacious, but long and narrow with the much too small TV set being mounted at the far end from the bed which made it hard to see and hear from the bed, especially when the loud air conditioner fan turned on. We ended up adjusting the volume up and down continually to combat the AC noise. As stated by others, the bathrooms are dated and could use some sprucing up. Was nice to have the small refrigerator for small items, but it was very old and difficult to access under the bathroom counter. We never took room service in the room because there was really no convenient place (table) to sit even though there was plenty of room for a bit larger table in place of the small end table between the two chairs.

On the postive side, the location of this inn is a real plus. Only 2 blocks from the Market and within walking distance of just about every tourist destination in the historic district of Charleston. The courtyard area and fountain were definitely reminiscent of old European hotels and we enjoyed having our breakfast there. The breakfast was adequate, although we expected something a bit more upscale for the price category...maybe including things like lox and bagels, or an assortment of cheeses and bread, like the European places do. The wine and cheese hour was a nice touch, but not being alcohol drinkers, there was no alternative drinks offered other than water. Also, it was nice to have on-site parking and we had no issue with finding a space but the $12 per night additional fee seemed a bit over the top to us when you are already spending $200 a night for the room. It would be a nice perk to offer free parking to guests of the inn. All in all, the hotel staff was very polite and accomodating and we enjoyed our stay, although we really spent more time walking around the city than we actually did in the hotel. Might come here again but would probably try out some other places for comparison first.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for rating your overall experience here at the Kings Courtyard Inn so highly. We appreciate thorough and detailed reviews of our guests' experiences. I'm thrilled that you took advantage of our wonderful downtown location and enjoyed Charleston.

As you mentioned, we are indeed a historic property which poses unique challenges in building a hotel. In order to retain the integrity of the building, room layouts are very limited. We do our best to place televisions and tables as you noted, in the best and most comfortable place possible. We are in the midst of various projects, one of those is reducing the noise level of our new air conditioning units.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to hosting you again here in Charleston.
Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    128
    29
    18
    6
See reviews for
66
189
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Great girls weekend! Had 5 rooms for 12 girls they were very accommodating! Great location. Only problem was the parking lot bc it was always full. Provided roomby service whenbc requested. Otw perfect would stay here again! ;)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Sounds like you all had a wonderful time here at the Kings Courtyard Inn. The inn's layout is perfect for gatherings like Girls' Weekends and Bachelorette Parties. We hope you are all able to make a regular trip back to Charleston each fall. Thank you for a great review.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMMAUS, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is such a charming boutique hotel. I picked it because it was pet friendly, however it was an amazing find. The location is great. There is PARKING!!! The wine hour is a nice amenity. The staff was friendly and efficient. I could go on and on. You will not be disappointed here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Kings Courtyard Inn. I'm glad you enjoyed the inn's many unique features and brought your dog along for the ride. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to hosting you again upon your return to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We just concluded a 3-day stay at King's Courtyard Inn and really were pleased with our selection. It is located in the perfect spot of town along King Street near all of the art galleries and boutiques. And a short walk to almost any venue in the historic area. The place has character because of the age of the buildings and I felt like I was in a small European hotel. Best of all, with only 40 or so rooms, it was quiet. The Inn is owned by Charming Inns, which all operates several other small inns in Charleston.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing Kings Courtyard Inn for your recent Charleston getaway. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed some quiet rest and relaxation at the inn but also enjoyed the many nearby boutiques and galleries on King Street. We look forward to hosting you on future visits to Charleston. Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, SC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Part of a family of Charleston inns that are really great romantic locations. This trip was not about romance but we were in town for WTT Finals. We enjoy staying downtown in the historic district. Virtually everything is within walking distance. Our kids are a little older and enjoy having breakfast being brought to the room versus schlepping downstairs to a common area for a continental breakfast. The complimentary sherry is a nice way to end along day of sightseeing. It is a little pricy but it is same cost as the chain motels that are downtown. We always enjoy our stays here. Only complaint is that the parking spots are REALLY small.

Room Tip: Always check the Internet specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
What a great review of your recent stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn. Thank you for bringing your family to experience Charleston from our inn. I'm glad you enjoyed our close proximity to downtown attractions and took advantage of in-room breakfast delivery and evening sherry. Thank you for being a return guest and noting our great internet specials. We look forward to hosting your next trip to Charleston. Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the King's Courtyard Inn recently. We had the romance package which included champaign and chocolate covered strawberries when we arrived from dinner the first night. The staff was careful to talk with me about the plans without my wife around as this was a surprice stay. We had dinner the second night at circa 1886 in a remodeled 1800s carriage house behind the Wentworth Mansion (both are properties owned by the same group as King's Courtyard). The meal was excellent and the package included $100 voucher toward our dinner. We then went into Wentworth Mansion (at the recommendation of our server) to take in the view of Charleston from the coppula- very romantic and stunning. We had planned to return the next day however, the tropical rains decended on Charleston and flood the Market area so we had to forego this experience until our next trip to Charleston.
The King's Courtyard was in the midst of downtown Charleston on King Street in the next block from Charleston Place ( where we went for a couples massage) and two blocks from the Market. Fortunately the Inn parking is high and our car suffered no damage unlike the cars parked at the Market.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
I'm thrilled that you enjoyed the Romance Package. It is truly a treat and we love to have this offer available. You certainly got a close look at Hurricane Issac - the heavy rain made it a memorable week here in Charleston. I am glad that your car was safe and despite the weather, you and your wife still enjoyed a romantic visit to our city. We look forward to hosting you again. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Sincerely,
Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

When going to Charleston you want to stay downtown. You also want to be able to walk to everything since parking is a premium. This hotel has the best location. Park your car in the lot right behind the hotel and you can walk to great restaurants, shopping and entertainment.

The rooms are big and the staff is very nice. No reason to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. Kings Courtyard Inn's home on historic King Street is one of its very best features. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed our staff, our location and the walkability of Charleston. We all look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Booking.com so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Courtyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.