We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is not what I consider a B&B” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kings Courtyard Inn to your Saves list
Kings Courtyard Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover Charleston!
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
san diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“this is not what I consider a B&B”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2007

this Inn is not a B&B as we were lead to believe. It has 41 rooms. We were there when the hotel was full to capacity and they were not able to handle the crowds at breakfast. We waited almost an hour to be served. Breakfast was OK but not amazing.
Location of the Inn is good and the service at teh front desk was very nice

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    115
    24
    16
    6
See reviews for
56
165
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

We ended up staying here after another hotel oversold and bumped our reservations. We were extremely upset (after driving 18 hours!), but this hotel was quite the treat. Every staff member we came in contact with was extremely gracious. The rooms were clean and big...it is an older property but I believe they have done a great job maintaining it. The pool outside is actually a hot tub, which is a bit odd considering that it is South Carolina (we would have preferred a nice cold pool in the afternoon).

The location was perfect, right along one of the main streets, so it was easy to get to at all times. They also have a parking lot attached which they give you free vouchers for, as well as a free breakfast! I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, GA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

We stayed at the King's Courtyard Inn for our anniversary. It was wonderful! Some reviews said the rooms were too small, but ours was fine. It had some antiques (or good reproductions) with a cozy historic feel. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was a little small, but adequate, and everything was clean.
The hotel has several small courtyards with fountains where you can sit and eat your breakfast or sip wine at the 5 o'clock tasting. The room price includes a continental breakfast- you can have them bring it to your room if you want. For more money, you can get eggs or french toast or a similar breakfast if you want. The staff was uniformly pleasant and helpful. We also appreciated the free WiFi- we could research our destinations on the internet and make plans prior to going out each day.
The best part was unexpected- we ended up in Room 109, which has a small private courtyard. In the mornings they would bring our breakfast and we would sit in the courtyard and eat it. Not every room has it's own courtyard, so we were lucky to get it. Next time, I will definitely ask for this room again.
The location is another plus for this hotel. The front door exit is about 2 blocks from the Slave Market, and the exit off of the courtyard puts you directly on King Street. We parked our car on arrival and did not get in it again until we left. We were able to do all our sightseeing on foot. Be warned, however- the price of parking ($10/day) will be added onto your bill.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville, tn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

We three 60+ ladies stayed here for Spoleto this year. We all thought it was one of the best places we've stayed - and we've been going for years. The staff is engaged, friendly and helpful and they make you feel like they are truly delighted that you're staying with them. The rooms are charming and comfortable. The location couldn't be better - right in the center of the historic district and walking distance to almost everything. We'll definitely stay there next time we go.

  • Liked — the staff really stands out
  • Disliked — the bathrooms are a bit small - but they're offset by the room and the overall experience.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2007

The staff was at all times considerate and helpful. The rooms were clean and well kept. I liked the choice of eating in the breakfast room or having your choice of foods brought to your room in the morning. I recommend this hotel to all who would like something centrally located and comfortable.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2007

Excellent Location Beauitful room with a fireplace

Staff was good
Breakfast and complimentary wine very nice touch

Only complaint heard street sweepers at 5 am every am

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2007

A great location with good parking. what more could someone ask for Charleston.

We stayed in Suite 505. It was super!

Two giant rooms, very comfortable.

Friendly staff.

Breakfast and papers.

Good coffee.

Wine tasting.

Priced is a very good value.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards.All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Guests may also choose to order a full breakfast from the kitchen. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Courtyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.