We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John Rutledge House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added John Rutledge House Inn to your Saves list
John Rutledge House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Special
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Ideally located in downtown Charleston. The inn is beautiful, the staff is well-trained. The rooms are exceptional.
Breakfast is available in the room or the parlor. It is well prepared. 4 o'clock tea is very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    45
    24
    14
    5
See reviews for
52
227
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at the Rutledge for 2 nights in July and absolutely loved the inn. The staff was wonderful and always friendly. Our room (number 2) was beautiful and had the perfect amount of room for a family of 4. Michael the night concierge was always helpful. The inn was centrally located near everything we wanted to see. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the John Rutledge House Inn. The entire staff takes great pride in delivering top-notch personalized service. I am glad you enjoyed the central location of our historic property. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We loved our room on the top floor (number 11). The staff was wonderful and helpful from the second we made our reservation. Don't expect a good breakfast though. Both days, I could not eat mine. Eggs benedict was awful with eggs cooked all the way through. The breakfast stratta was floating in oil. Just bad. However, the location was so great, the home so beautiful, and the historical significance remarkable, it was worth it. I would just eat out.
As far as location goes, it could not be better. I went for an excellent 5 mile run along the water which was suggested by our host for the day. Sorry I don't remember his name, but he was on the ball and anticpated our every need.

Room Tip: Room 11 was big and beautiful Huge bathroom with shower and tub. You have to cart your bags up sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the John Rutledge House Inn. I am glad to hear that our staff and location made your trip wonderful. Our guests frequently compliment our breakfast, so I am surprised to read about the quality of your entrees each morning. I am sorry for the inconsistencies and will follow up with our staff to determine what caused these issues. I am glad that you enjoyed taking in the history of the John Rutledge House Inn. We love showcasing Charleston’s antebellum history from our property. Should your travels bring you back to Charleston, I do hope that you choose the John Rutledge House Inn.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

As others have mentioned the inn is very clean and centrally located on Broad street clause to King st. The AC works great and they have off street parking. We've stayed in a number of hotels and inns in charleston but will stay here in the future when we visit charleston.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My husband and I had a great time in Charleston. The inn perfectly matched the charm of the city. We stayed at the carriage house and it was very quiet and peaceful. The inn itself was on a quiet street and it is located close to King Street which is full of shops and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were nice. Breakfast at the inn was just ok but it didn't ruin our time there.

My husband and I do plan to visit Charleston again. This place was great but we would probably try one of the other many B+Bs in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

I brought my now fiance to the Rutledge House for her first trip to Charleston. Not only was the experience amazing, but she said yes! The staff was awesome, the room was beautiful, it couldn't have been in a better location, and we couldn't have been more pleased with our experience! We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Congratulations on your recent engagement! I am thrilled that you chose the John Rutledge House Inn for such a momentous occasion. Our staff prides themselves on creating a memorable experience for all of our guests and I am happy to see that they were so awesome. I will certainly pass along the kind words. We look forward to helping you celebrate your future special occasions.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

John Rutledge House Inn is a beautiful landmark of Charlston. We - a family of four with two teenager boys - stayed for two nicht and found the inn great. The house is beautiful and well keep, the rooms great, internet and ac is working well and every site is within walking distance.
A Charlston treat - enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to John Rutledge House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Rutledge House Inn

Address: 116 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — John Rutledge House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Most Historic Inn. John Rutledge, one of the fifty-five signers of the U.S. Constitution, built his home in 1763. Now exquisitely restored, it is one of only fifteen homes belonging to those signers to survive - and the only one to now accommodate overnight hotel guests. History records that George Washington called here in 1791. An entry in his diary shows a breakfast with Mrs. Rutledge. A loving rejuvenation has restored the beautiful details of the home's 18th and 19th century architecture: the elaborately carved Italian marble fireplaces, the original plaster moldings, the inlaid floors and the graceful ironwork. The John Rutledge House Inn offers nineteen guest rooms within a complex of three buildings. One may choose between the elegance of rooms and spacious suites in the original grand residence or the charm and seclusion of rooms in the inn's two carriage houses. Antiques and historically accurate reproductions give each room its own warmth and distinction. John Rutledge House Inn is proud to be a founding hotel in Historic Hotels of America, as well as Select Registry - Distinguished Inns of America and Classic Inns of the South. Guests may leave cars parked on-site for their entire stay because the best of this beautiful port city is just beyond the doors of the John Rutledge House Inn. The city's finest restaurants, theaters, shops, and the Old City Market are all in short walking distance. The gorgeous residential area "South of Broad" begins directly opposite the Inn. A stay in this elegant antebellum bed and breakfast offers the opportunity to experience history as well as the warm hospitality for which the South is justly famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your John Rutledge House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Rutledge House Hotel Charleston
John Rutledge Hotel
John Rutledge Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Rutledge House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.