We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Trip to Charleston....a big success” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John Rutledge House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added John Rutledge House Inn to your Saves list
John Rutledge House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Constitution Package
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“First Trip to Charleston....a big success”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Staying at the John Rutledge House Inn set us off perfectly on our intentions for our first trip to Charleston...to learn more about the history of the city. Our suite was right at the entrance to the house and you would have thought that would be disturbing as people arrived. We never were bothered or heard anything during our stay. The house and decor were period pieces that made us feel we went back in time. Our horse drawn carriage ride through the city was peaceful and informative. We were within walking distance to other historical houses that we toured as well as fantastic restaurants. All in all, a big success!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the John Rutledge House Inn. Our inn is certainly a wonderful place to begin your journey through Charleston’s rich history. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the historic charm and décor that it has to offer. A carriage ride through Charleston’s historic district is a wonderful way to learn about the history in the area. I am happy that we could be part of your successful trip to Charleston and look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    43
    24
    14
    5
See reviews for
51
219
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is a fantastic place to stay if you want to be in the beautiful heart of Charleston. Broad street is the perfect starting location for anything. We walked the historic streets. Walked to the best restaurants. Walked to the water taxi. All while easily parked behind the inn. This walking convenience was key to us feeling relaxed and on vacation.

We stayed 3 nights in room 13 of the Ashley carriage house. It was blissfully peaceful. We originally reserved a different room because the carriage house is pet friendly and we weren't certain that it would be clean. When we arrived, we saw that the carriage house is beautiful and the room had no signs of animals (except a few dog hairs we later found on our luggage). Excellent bed and bathroom.

The courtyard is the perfect place to have breakfast served. We always looked forward to the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

I loved this Inn. We travel a fair amount on vacation and we bring our little terrier. The Inn could not have been more thoughtful and welcoming of all of us. We felt like they cared and really wanted us to feel at home. We stayed in the Carraige House and it was blissfully quiet. Bed was so comfy I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud. Best bed I've slept on in yrs on vaca. Location convenient to walking south of Broad. Took strolls every morning past beautiful mansions. Sat on the balcony morning and afternoon w coffee or snacks and look out at beautiful churches and homes. This place is quieter than ones closer to market but if you like really getting a flavor for the city without as much noise you will enjoy the inn. It was close to Husk, Poogans, 82 Queen, and antiques district. Easy walking.

They also get the little things right. Umbrellas by the doors. Water bottles in ice chest by door. Unobtrusive housekeeping. Chocolates on bed at night and coffee in morning. Nibbles in afternoon. Biscuits and list of dog friendly places for pup.

Nice people running the inn. There to help. Stately but comfortable interior. Inn rooms looked quite elegant. My only small quibble is that when it rains the breakfast process can get a little harried and slow if you don't want to eat in the room and courtyard not an option. Breakfasts, however, are lovely with 3 or 4 full breakfast options.

I highly recommend the inn. It was a highlight of the trip.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review of the John Rutledge House Inn. It is our goal to anticipate our guests’ needs with the little details such as umbrellas, bottled water, and information about local pet-friendly establishments. We are happy that you found our historic inn to be comfortable and elegant. We hope that you will return again, and look forward to welcoming your terrier again on your next visit.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This lovely Inn is well located in historic downtown Charleston. We stayed in one of the rooms in the carriage house. It was very nice and all of the bathrooms will be renovated this year. They are certainly not bad as they are.
We enjoyed our breakfast each morning in the courtyard and enjoyed the beautiful outdoors. The staff were most cordial and helpful! We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: There are 8 rooms in two courtyard buildings...any of them are a great place to stay...very quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is a must stay for Charleston! The location is ideal, the staff is excellent and the accommodations are simply lovely. Staying at the John Rutledge House makes the Charleston experience perfect. We stayed in the George Washington Suite which was elegant, spacious, warm and charming. The bed was really comfortable. The bath has been updated and was large, attractive and pristine. The staff was especially helpful in every way. We were so busy that we didn't have time to take advantage of afternoon tea, but did see the ballroom -- so sorry we missed tea or sherry! The daily breakfast is wonderful! Hot, delicious and served either in the room, the ballroom or outside on the terrace. We will definitely be back when we visit Charleston again!

Room Tip: The George Washington Suite on the main floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
What a great review! Thank you for the wonderful note. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed the George Washington Suite as well as the recently renovated bathrooms. Making your Charleston experience “perfect” is exactly what we strive for in every guests stay. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Although there is no elevator, we were always happy to return to the oasis of our room. It is spacious with just the right amount of furniture. The newly refurbished marble bathroom is luxurious. The staff is efficient and friendly and the breakfasts and afternoon teas well done.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We were looking at various properties to stay for our 18th Anniversary and while in all honesty this was not our first choice, we were so THRILLED we ended up here for what turned out to be a fantastic 3 day weekend! We would absolutely stay here again and without hesitation, tell our friends to make this as their 1st choice to stay when in Charleston.

The entire staff was very friendly, inviting and made sure we were enjoying our stay every step of the way. From Cee Cee at the front desk when we checked in, to Kathy the Inn Keeper

On the 1st night, we stayed in Main House Grand suite on the 2nd floor- which part of included what was John Rutledge's library - pretty cool if you are a history buff (or not) to know you stayed in the private library of one of the signers of the U.S. constitution....just think about the conversations that must have happened there. John Rutledge was chairman of the drafting committee for the constitution, wrote several iterations of the Constitution of the U.S. He later signed the document with the other founding fathers.

The following 2 nights we stayed in the Deluxe room also on the 2nd floor, which was also very charming, and romantic.

Additionally the location is great as its only a few blocks to the very heart of the historic district homes and a few blocks more to the livelier restaurants.

Room Tip: The Main House Grand suite on the 2nd floor was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent anniversary celebration at the John Rutledge House Inn. It is always a pleasure to be part of such wonderful special occasions. I am thrilled to read that Kathy and Cee Cee provided you with such a memorable experience to warrant personal mention. I will certainly pass along your kind words. The John Rutledge House, circa 1763, is a perfect place to enjoy all the history and charm that Charleston has to offer. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to John Rutledge House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Rutledge House Inn

Address: 116 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — John Rutledge House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Most Historic Inn. John Rutledge, one of the fifty-five signers of the U.S. Constitution, built his home in 1763. Now exquisitely restored, it is one of only fifteen homes belonging to those signers to survive - and the only one to now accommodate overnight hotel guests. History records that George Washington called here in 1791. An entry in his diary shows a breakfast with Mrs. Rutledge. A loving rejuvenation has restored the beautiful details of the home's 18th and 19th century architecture: the elaborately carved Italian marble fireplaces, the original plaster moldings, the inlaid floors and the graceful ironwork. The John Rutledge House Inn offers nineteen guest rooms within a complex of three buildings. One may choose between the elegance of rooms and spacious suites in the original grand residence or the charm and seclusion of rooms in the inn's two carriage houses. Antiques and historically accurate reproductions give each room its own warmth and distinction. John Rutledge House Inn is proud to be a founding hotel in Historic Hotels of America, as well as Select Registry - Distinguished Inns of America and Classic Inns of the South. Guests may leave cars parked on-site for their entire stay because the best of this beautiful port city is just beyond the doors of the John Rutledge House Inn. The city's finest restaurants, theaters, shops, and the Old City Market are all in short walking distance. The gorgeous residential area "South of Broad" begins directly opposite the Inn. A stay in this elegant antebellum bed and breakfast offers the opportunity to experience history as well as the warm hospitality for which the South is justly famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your John Rutledge House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Rutledge House Hotel Charleston
John Rutledge Hotel
John Rutledge Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Rutledge House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.