We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn and would refer any and all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Rutledge House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added John Rutledge House Inn to your Saves list
John Rutledge House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Special
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Inn and would refer any and all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Staying on 3rd floor is a little bit of a jaunt but what wonderful service and such a beautiful place. It is a little pricey but for being right in Charleston well worth it. The dinner at Circa 1886 just made the stay for my husband and myself. Kathy was very helpful and they even let the restaurant know we were celebrating our anniversary. Hats off to all that staff at Circa as well especially Peter who was fabulous.

Room Tip: You can view the cathedral next door in the mornings from room 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    45
    24
    14
    5
See reviews for
52
230
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

If you're going to Charleston, you must stay at the John Rutledge Inn. Wonderful staff, good food and great location!! Parking is included in your room charge and it is easy to get in and out off. The location is great for walking the city or driving in or out. Even though our room was on the 1st floor, we did not hear the kitchen staff in the morning. Breakfast was served either in your room, the courtyard or in the ballroom. We tried each and all were wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Close to the French Quarter, a stroll away from wonderful antique stores, close to restaurants, historic sites...the John Rutledge Inn has it all.
The rooms are very comfortable... we were in #13 in the Carriage House. The room had a very comfortable canopied king bed, easy chair, table and 2 chairs for in room dining, dresser with flat screen TV, side tables. The bathroom was clean but a bit tired.
The room was very close to the parking and a charming courtyard with tables and chairs was just out side the Carriage House entrance.
Breakfast was plentiful and delicious...piping hot. The best part of the stay however was the staff...they could not do enough for you and were patient , kind and polite...We felt we were experiencing true "Southern hospitality" at it's best!

Room Tip: We liked the Carriage House. It was well located for people like me who are not so good on stairs. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The most "dog-gone friendly inn" in Charleston! They even had doggie treats waiting in our room for our furry four legged children. The staff was professional, friendly, and accommodating. Our room was fresh and sparkling clean with the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in! The afternoon "high tea" was gracious, unexpected and delicious, and most appreciated! We will definitely go back.

Pete, Sherry, Bo, and Oliver

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for such a great review! We are thrilled that you brought your dog along for the trip to Charleston and enjoyed our pet friendly accommodations. Our staff looks forward to visiting with your family during your next trip to town. Thank you for the recommendation!

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Rutledge Inn. It wasn't cheap, but it was well worth the money. Service was very good, from the front office to the cleaning staff. The room was spacious and bright, with a big, Tempur-Pedic bed. The only probable setback of staying at a room by the courtyard is that you can hear a bit of the noise from outside. Breakfast was included in our stay, which was pretty good. We had the option of eating breakfast at the courtyard or at the piazza/ballroom. At this ballroom, they have also complimentary afternoon tea (sadly, we missed it as we were always out and about), and complimentary evening sherry, port and brandy. Location can't be beat. The inn is within walking distance to restaurants, cafes, shops---it's pretty much in the center of Charleston.

Parking is available and was included in our reservations, which conveniently located at the back of the inn. For pet owners, the inn is pet-friendly (possibly not all rooms are). We had our dog with us and never had any problems. They even gave us complimentary dog treats.

I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the John Rutledge House Inn and I must say we were so sad to leave! The Inn itself if located perfectly on Broad street which is within close proximity to all of the places one would want to visit while in Charleston. Many of the walking tours leave from Washington Square park, which is just a couple of blocks from the JRH. Our room was so comfortably appointed that we felt right at home! When making the reservations, Kathy asked us how many dogs we have and what kind so that when we arrived there were stainless dog bowls in our room and a bag of treats! The breakfast each morning was more than we could've expected; quite a selection and it was all very delicious! The tea at 4:30pm each afternoon was wonderful. We were able to have some light snacks and step out on the front piazza to listen to the bells chime. It was a wonderful end to our 2nd anniversary!

And what can I say about the staff?! They were all fantastic! Everyone was always so friendly and sincere. They all worked their hardest to make sure that the guests have a wonderful stay. Kathy, Lauren, and Maurice - thank you all for such a wonderful stay! We can't wait to come back and stay again!

Room Tip: If traveling with pets you will have a room in the carriage house behind the main house. We loved st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
I am thrilled that your 2nd anniversary trip to Charleston was so enjoyable in part to your experience at the John Rutledge House Inn. Thank you for such a wonderful and detailed review. I appreciate your kind remarks about our hospitable staff and will be sure to pass on your compliments. I am glad that your dogs had a nice time as well. We look forward to celebrating many more special occasions with you.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were looking for a great experience when we selected the John Rutledge House and our experience was great. Rooms were spacious and beds were quite comfortable. Loved spending time in the historic ball room on second floor. Having a glass of port or sherry is a treat.

Room Tip: Stay in main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to John Rutledge House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Rutledge House Inn

Address: 116 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#23 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — John Rutledge House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Most Historic Inn. John Rutledge, one of the fifty-five signers of the U.S. Constitution, built his home in 1763. Now exquisitely restored, it is one of only fifteen homes belonging to those signers to survive - and the only one to now accommodate overnight hotel guests. History records that George Washington called here in 1791. An entry in his diary shows a breakfast with Mrs. Rutledge. A loving rejuvenation has restored the beautiful details of the home's 18th and 19th century architecture: the elaborately carved Italian marble fireplaces, the original plaster moldings, the inlaid floors and the graceful ironwork. The John Rutledge House Inn offers nineteen guest rooms within a complex of three buildings. One may choose between the elegance of rooms and spacious suites in the original grand residence or the charm and seclusion of rooms in the inn's two carriage houses. Antiques and historically accurate reproductions give each room its own warmth and distinction. John Rutledge House Inn is proud to be a founding hotel in Historic Hotels of America, as well as Select Registry - Distinguished Inns of America and Classic Inns of the South. Guests may leave cars parked on-site for their entire stay because the best of this beautiful port city is just beyond the doors of the John Rutledge House Inn. The city's finest restaurants, theaters, shops, and the Old City Market are all in short walking distance. The gorgeous residential area "South of Broad" begins directly opposite the Inn. A stay in this elegant antebellum bed and breakfast offers the opportunity to experience history as well as the warm hospitality for which the South is justly famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your John Rutledge House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Rutledge House Hotel Charleston
John Rutledge Hotel
John Rutledge Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Rutledge House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.