We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John Rutledge House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added John Rutledge House Inn to your Saves list
John Rutledge House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond Va
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“what a nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We just came back from a weekend at the John Rutledge House. Gracious staff, lovely food, beautiful residence. The city is filled with history and fine dining and the staff were well versed in the lure and allure of the city. This residence is definitely in of itself a destination for the city.

Room Tip: As chance would have it we got a room in one of the carriage houses which was perfect for a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review. I am pleased that you were treated to such excellent service by our gracious staff. We are honored that you found our inn to be one of the most beautiful places in Charleston and look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    50
    25
    14
    7
See reviews for
59
256
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

All of the people at this inn were so lovely to us that it seems wrong to say anything negative. We had a wonderful experience there. The bed was very comfortable, the breakfasts delicious, the location wonderful. But what the website doesn't seem to clearly articulate is that all of the awards they won were back in the nineties and early 2000's. The room we stayed in on the ground floor was clean and comfortable, but quite dated. The bathrooms need updating. The chairs, rugs and window treatments do, too. So expect lots of wonderful service, but a 1990's feeling historic inn.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at JRH Inn for a tour in July, 2013. Normally, July in SC is hot and dry but not this year. The Inn has umbrellas available for guest to use. Breakfast is available in your room, on the patio, or in the ballroom which is a wonderful room with a balcony. On the balcony, you can enjoy afternoon tea. The facilities are the perfect balance between modern convenience and historic charm. Everyone was friendly, gracious, and very responsive to our requests. Truly a wonderful place.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and even that room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We appreciate your wonderful and detailed review. Thank you for taking the time to share your John Rutledge House Inn experience. I am glad that you enjoyed our historic inn and modern amenities. Your note about our staff is appreciated - they are a fantastic team! We all look forward to visiting with you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

this Inn was beautiful. The sevice was spectacular. The Inn was immaculate/ food was superb/the grounds were very nice..It was worth the money.. It is one of those places that you do get what you pay for...lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review of your stay at the John Rutledge House Inn. I am thrilled that you had such a fantastic visit and were treated to five-star service and Southern hospitality. We hope to see you back in Charleston again soon. Thank you for the recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Once you find this place, you will not stay anywhere else in Charleston. The home is a relaxing oasis amid the sights and sounds of the city. The staff is the best we've seen anywhere in our travels. The food was excellent (including Circa 1886). The room airy and comfortable. Worth every penny. We will be a regular.

Room Tip: The carriage house is exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about our recent stay at The John Rutledge House. The location is great. You can walk to all the attractions, but the area itself is not heavily congested with crowds and traffic congestion. We parked in the available parking lot and the only time we drove was over to Sullivan's Island. Check-in was smooth and the concierge was very helpful and knowledgeable. Our room was in the carriage house which is the rear of the main house. We loved our room! I was traveling with my mom and requested a room with 2 double beds. The room was spacious and had all the modern amenities you would expect to find at an hotel. There is free Wifi, but I found it to be rather slow, but the service is available if you need it. We took advantage of the the free breakfast & wine and appetizers served at 4:00. Overall, a very pleasant stay and not outrageously expensive compared to other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Our room was in the carriage house. Quiet location near rear of property. Away from the noise of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This B&B is very well run. Excellent staff, very clean and accommodating rooms. Parking is available to the rear of the property @ $12 per day. Expect to spend $800+ for a 2 night stay which is just about right to see the sights in Charleston.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 6 which is in the main house - king bed and room was quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to John Rutledge House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Rutledge House Inn

Address: 116 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
#36 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — John Rutledge House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Most Historic Inn. John Rutledge, one of the fifty-five signers of the U.S. Constitution, built his home in 1763. Now exquisitely restored, it is one of only fifteen homes belonging to those signers to survive - and the only one to now accommodate overnight hotel guests. History records that George Washington called here in 1791. An entry in his diary shows a breakfast with Mrs. Rutledge. A loving rejuvenation has restored the beautiful details of the home's 18th and 19th century architecture: the elaborately carved Italian marble fireplaces, the original plaster moldings, the inlaid floors and the graceful ironwork. The John Rutledge House Inn offers nineteen guest rooms within a complex of three buildings. One may choose between the elegance of rooms and spacious suites in the original grand residence or the charm and seclusion of rooms in the inn's two carriage houses. Antiques and historically accurate reproductions give each room its own warmth and distinction. John Rutledge House Inn is proud to be a founding hotel in Historic Hotels of America, as well as Select Registry - Distinguished Inns of America and Classic Inns of the South. Guests may leave cars parked on-site for their entire stay because the best of this beautiful port city is just beyond the doors of the John Rutledge House Inn. The city's finest restaurants, theaters, shops, and the Old City Market are all in short walking distance. The gorgeous residential area "South of Broad" begins directly opposite the Inn. A stay in this elegant antebellum bed and breakfast offers the opportunity to experience history as well as the warm hospitality for which the South is justly famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Odigeo so you can book your John Rutledge House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Rutledge House Hotel Charleston
John Rutledge Hotel
John Rutledge Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Rutledge House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.