We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John Rutledge House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added John Rutledge House Inn to your Saves list
John Rutledge House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Special
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“An Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Staying at the Rutledge House is a treat that we enjoy every time we come to Charleston. It is a beautiful and historic home with a lot of charm.
The location is great for exploring the historic area of Charleston and very close to great shopping on King Street. We enjoy walking and exploring all the neat little side streets and checking out the gardens and historic homes. Good exercise - great scenery!
Best of all, for a small charge, they have a place to park your car which is a very important consideration in a town where parking is very limited.
Our room was very well appointed, very clean, and quite large.
The staff is always helpful, pleasant, friendly, and willing to help plan your stay in Charleston or make reservations for dinner at any of the excellent restaurants in the area.
Breakfast is always a treat at the John Rutledge House. The Shrimp and Grits is the best way to start a day that I can think of. There are many choices on the breakfast menu and you can pick as many or as few items as you desire. You may also choose where you would like to eat you breakfast; in your room, in the ballroom, or if the weather is nice, out in the courtyard.
We have never had a problem finding a table in the ballroom as the guests seem to have a wide range of time preferences. You can pick a time slot to have your breakfast ready and they usually come quite close but since we know we are not the only guests there, we can be flexible either way.
All in all, a great place to stay and with the historic nature of the house, it puts you in a perfect mindset to explore the history, gardens, and architecture of Charleston.
We will return again and again when we travel south in March to see if Spring is on the way!

Room Tip: If you are concerned about street noise at night, choose a room in one of the carriage houses to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
It sounds like you had a wonderful visit at the John Rutledge House Inn. Reading this review was such a pleasure. Thank you for taking the time to share your memories. I am thrilled that you had an excellent experience. We appreciate this glowing review and recommendation of our bed and breakfast. Please come back and see us soon.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    45
    24
    14
    5
See reviews for
52
222
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We just spent a weekend at the John Rutledge House which is a well located, historic former home-now-inn. The price was over $300 per night. We didn't spend much time there except to sleep, have breakfast and join the afternoon tea after touring. The room is basic, almost like a standard Sheraton type room. It could use some refurbishing as the room was showing signs of wear. The breakfast was fair and certainly nothing on order of what we ate in some of the most amazing restaurants in Charleston (and the USA). The main house was tired and in need of refurbishing too. The staff were always willing to please. They could use more training and development. We never saw the owner and only once the manager on Saturday. Would I stay here again for pleasure? No, there are far too many properties that offer better value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the John Rutledge House Inn. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am sorry that your experience was not five-star, as our staff strives for excellence at all times. I thank you for your comments about breakfast, as we always look for ways to improve this complimentary amenity. You will be glad to hear that in the upcoming months, we have many improvements scheduled for the inn. Keeping this historic house in top shape is of utmost importance to us. We hope you'll visit with us again to experience the changes firsthand. Thank you.

Sincerely, Richard Widman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel consists of rooms in the home of John Rutledge (signer of the Declaration of Independence and the US Constitution) and additional rooms in two buildings near the house. Our room (in one of the out buildings) was well appointed and comfortable, with a private bath, flat screen TV, and WiFi access. A full hot breakfast was delivered to our room each morning (great), and afternoon tea was offered in the ballroom of the house (so-so). Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Located within liberally-defined walking distance of most the attractions in the historic sections of Charleston, but wear comfortable shoes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review of your stay. We are thrilled that you had a five-star experience here at the John Rutledge House Inn and appreciate your wonderful feedback. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went to Charleston for Christmas and spent three nights at the John Rutledge House. We were in the "dog friendly" carriage house and could not have asked for a more pleasant experience. Bed and bedding were top notch and my two tiny dogs had bowls and doggie treats waiting for them. There is plenty of area nearby for dogs to have a discreet place to "do their business" and parking is so convenient for moving luggage in and out. We are very, very picky about accomodations and have traveled the world. I can count on one hand the hotels/inns that truly had something special and this is one of them.

My favorite thing about this Inn is that one can have a full breakfast brought to the room. How lovely to have a leisurely morning watching old movies with your best friends. Thank you, John Rutledge Inn, for providing such excellent accomodations to those of us who would not dream of leaving our pets behind when we travel in the US. We also enjoyed our afternoon tea time in the charming main building. So nice to have a quiet and elegant place to gather and have a bit of tea and wonderful nibbles in the late afternoon.

We were traveling with another couple who took their small dog and they enjoyed the experience as much as we did. First rate all the way!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
The pleasure was ours. Thank you for such an outstanding review of your stay at the John Rutledge House. I am very pleased that you found our accommodations to be so well suited for traveling with dogs. It is our mission to deliver an excellent experience to each of our guests, dogs included. We look forward to seeing you all again. Thank you.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We traveled with our dog, and stayed on the ground floor of the carriage house. We were very satisfied with the room, and it was perfect for taking the dog out through the back gate, or for sitting in the courtyard. Charleston is very dog friendly, and the inn's location was ideal for walking him in the business district or nearby residential areas. We didn't get in the car from the time we arrived on Friday morning until we left on Sunday. All the staff were very courteous, and the two young ladies at the concierge desk were very helpful with recommendations for outdoor dining if we wished to take the dog. There are wonderful places to dine in downtown Charleston. We were glad we acted on the inn's recommendation, as we had a lovely evening at Circa 1886, which is the restaurant located on the sister property of the inn. The John Rutledge House Inn is a unique place in a special city, and we will definitely be back to both the inn and the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I am thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay at the John Rutledge House Inn - and am so pleased that your dog enjoyed a trip to Charleston as well! Thank you for the wonderful recommendation of the inn and our sister restaurant, Circa 1886. We look forward to hosting you all again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

A beautiful building in the perfect location, with fascinating history and a lovely room, ours being located in one of the outbuildings to the rear. Excellent hospitality with complimentary bottles of water, afternoon tea etc. Excellent breakfast included with the option to have it in the main building, your bedroom or the garden. A premium experience, and cost, only three niggles, no tea making facility in the room, the shower temperature changed dramatically as the neighbour used theirs, and the wi-if was so slow as to be unusable, an excursion to the main house proving necessary. There was also daily parking charge but this was made clear in advance.

I would have given this 4.5 stars given the option, but have cut one because of the niggles identified above, and I would think that the owners will be aiming for perfection.

Notwithstanding the points made above this is quite a special place to stay and we would recommend it for sure.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback. I am thrilled that you had such an enjoyable time at the John Rutledge House Inn. We do seek perfection and 100% guest satisfaction. In that regard, we have met with engineers as to solutions for the intermittent changes in water pressure. We have also met with our internet provider, Comcast, to find a faster complimentary internet solution for our guests. Thank you for the recommendation. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I recently stayed at The John Rutledge House on a last minute trip to Charleston for one night. The inn is lovely and very well located on Broad Street. The service was impeccable. My one issue is that my room was clearly very inferior to other rooms at the hotel. It was on the "first" floor, which is actually below the main level of the mansion (they also have rooms in the carriage houses, which sound very nice). The rooms on the first floor have very little view (mine looked mostly at a cinder block wall) and are right near a service room used by staff. I would not have been as disappointed if I there had been some indication of this on the website or while making my reservation. I would stay there again and just make sure to request a room not on the first floor.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the first floor, which is actually below the main level and is almost like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you sharing your John Rutledge House Inn experience. I am glad that you had an enjoyable time in Charleston and appreciate your high praise of our location and staff. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your first floor room. We offer a variety of unique guest rooms to accommodate for all types of travelers and price points. Upon your return, we will do our best to place you in a room more suited to your needs. Thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to John Rutledge House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Rutledge House Inn

Address: 116 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#20 Family Hotel in Charleston
#36 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — John Rutledge House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Most Historic Inn. John Rutledge, one of the fifty-five signers of the U.S. Constitution, built his home in 1763. Now exquisitely restored, it is one of only fifteen homes belonging to those signers to survive - and the only one to now accommodate overnight hotel guests. History records that George Washington called here in 1791. An entry in his diary shows a breakfast with Mrs. Rutledge. A loving rejuvenation has restored the beautiful details of the home's 18th and 19th century architecture: the elaborately carved Italian marble fireplaces, the original plaster moldings, the inlaid floors and the graceful ironwork. The John Rutledge House Inn offers nineteen guest rooms within a complex of three buildings. One may choose between the elegance of rooms and spacious suites in the original grand residence or the charm and seclusion of rooms in the inn's two carriage houses. Antiques and historically accurate reproductions give each room its own warmth and distinction. John Rutledge House Inn is proud to be a founding hotel in Historic Hotels of America, as well as Select Registry - Distinguished Inns of America and Classic Inns of the South. Guests may leave cars parked on-site for their entire stay because the best of this beautiful port city is just beyond the doors of the John Rutledge House Inn. The city's finest restaurants, theaters, shops, and the Old City Market are all in short walking distance. The gorgeous residential area "South of Broad" begins directly opposite the Inn. A stay in this elegant antebellum bed and breakfast offers the opportunity to experience history as well as the warm hospitality for which the South is justly famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your John Rutledge House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Rutledge House Hotel Charleston
John Rutledge Hotel
John Rutledge Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Rutledge House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.