We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas getaway in Charleston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John Rutledge House Inn

Save Saved
You added John Rutledge House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
John Rutledge House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Constitution Package
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Hazlet, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Christmas getaway in Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have been to many b and b's and I have to say The John Rutledge House is tops on our list bar none!
From the conceirge handling many of our reservations and giving us good recommendations to the wonderful breakfasts delivered to our room, everything was perfect!
It was a sad day when we had to leave and head back to reality in NJ.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I am thrilled that you had such a fantastic stay here at the John Rutledge House Inn for Christmas. I appreciate your review and hope your new year is off to a wonderful start. We hope you're able to visit again this winter and get an escape from the cold.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    40
    24
    14
    5
See reviews for
49
212
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our first visit to Charleston, S.C. allowed us to discover a unique city while staying at the lovely and historic John Rutledge House Inn. This is a quiet and comfortable bed and breakfast inn, with much to recommend it: great location, access to wonderful restaurants and shopping, an incredible staff. The Inn was welcoming to our Labrador Retriever, granted us access to a local health club for a nominal fee, has convenient and reasonable parking, and serves an AMAZING breakfast in your room, when you want it. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmch, nJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Visited with my husband last May for our anniversary. It was perfect, no...better than perfect! One of us is extremely picky and it did not disappoint. We stayed on the second floor of the carriage house. Room was large, comfy and private. Great bed, bathroom no complaints. Breakfast was to die for, we had Mary's grits for every meal they were so good. I enjoyed the proximity, to everything but not being too close as we enjoyed the tranquility of the neighborhood. We enjoy walking! We took pedicabs at night to restaurants throughout the city, they were great fun. Nice little pub doesn't the street and antique row around the corner. Try Poogan's Porch for lunch or din! We loved Charleston and will def stay at the John Rutledge staff when returning as the staff couldn't be more inviting and the accommodations superb.

Room Tip: Carriage house for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We needed a place to stay in Charleston before our Cruise. We had tried to book the French Quarter Inn for two nights but could only get 1 so based on the reviews here we opted to stay 1 night at the John Rutledge House. This turned out to be an amazing place. We were a party of 4 and had two rooms in one of the back carriage houses - the amenities were all first rate and the breakfast was exceptional. The location is also fantastic and you get a sense of the old world charm that the Inn has but all of the conveniences of 2012. We would easily spent 2 nights here and would have been extremeley pleased. The location is directly on Broad Street right next to St. John's Cathederal so a short walk to the water and all of the local sights. Overall this is an exceptional and unique place to stay and I would strongly recommend choosing the Carriage House rooms in the back of the Inn.

Room Tip: Carriage House rooms are fantastic and offer a bit more privacy than rooms in the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the John Rutledge House Inn before your cruise departure. I am very pleased that your decision was based off our positive TripAdvisor reviews. It sounds like you had a marvelous time here in Charleston. We certainly hope that you are all able to join us for a longer trip in the near future.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We went to attend the progressive dinner there. We had attended this before but not stayed here in this in. It was a truly wonderful experience. Patrice and Elizabeth were so helpful. We were guided by them to things we wanted to see and do. The rooms were great and the breakfast we had in our room was a very nice experience. Upon a return we think we will just take advantage of the offerings in the Inn itself.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

John Rutledge House Inn was everything we had expected and a little more! From the gracious welcome by the concierge, to the room on the second floor which was redolent of more gracious times with its four poster, and state-of-the -art bathroom. Here was history without any disadvantages! We felt we were in a welcoming private home and half expected to see John Rutledge himself offering us afternoon tea (itself worth mentioning for the delicious cakes and scones) in the wonderful ballroom. John Rutledge Inn is set in a wonderful position, right in the heart of the historic district and still close to some great shops and dining experiences. We fell in love with Charleston district thanks to the advice of ever friendly staff. We have great pleasure in recommending this Inn to all who love comfort, atmosphere and a great place to come home to after a day of sightseeing. Lindsay and Roxanne Rutledge Smith

Room Tip: Because of the historic nature of the house (no elevators) rooms on the top floor would not be suita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
I really enjoyed reading this review of your experience at the John Rutledge House Inn. We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable and memorable stay. I thank you for your feedback and greatly appreciate your recommendation. We hope you're able to join us next year in celebration of the home's 250th Anniversary.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed at the Inn in Room 6 (2nd floor, main house) recently for three nights while in Charleston for business. The room was extra-large with hardwood floors, a 14 ft (?) ceiling, a working fireplace and even a mini-fridge. The bed was high and super comfy. Breakfast was delicious and delivered to the room each morning on silver service at the time of your choosing. You can order an entree (choices were shrimp and grits, vanilla and rum infused french toast, and eggs and bacon) as well as side items and juices. The afternoon tea was also delicious and included light appetizers and desserts. It's served in the 2nd floor parlor and you can sit outside on the balcony if the weather is nice. Breakfast and tea were included in the room price. The hotel is within walking distance of everything in the historic district. If you're a tourist, you won't even need to move your car for the duration of your stay! As a business traveler, I had an easy, scenic 5 minute walk to the courthouse each morning. Finally, the entire staff was friendly and helpful. In particular, Patrice was wonderful and very happily shared great recommendations as well as directions for nearby restaurants. Upon learning that we were in the process of moving to Charleston, she even gathered some information for us on the area. A historic property with outstanding service....you won't be disappointed if you stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful and thorough review of your stay at the John Rutledge House Inn. It sounds like you had a very enjoyable business trip to Charleston. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the hot daily breakfast, afternoon tea and comfortable accommodations. Thank you for your note about Patrice and our service team. We certainly hope you find yourself in Charleston permanently - but in the meantime, we look forward to hosting you here at the inn again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to John Rutledge House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Rutledge House Inn

Address: 116 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — John Rutledge House Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Most Historic Inn. John Rutledge, one of the fifty-five signers of the U.S. Constitution, built his home in 1763. Now exquisitely restored, it is one of only fifteen homes belonging to those signers to survive - and the only one to now accommodate overnight hotel guests. History records that George Washington called here in 1791. An entry in his diary shows a breakfast with Mrs. Rutledge. A loving rejuvenation has restored the beautiful details of the home's 18th and 19th century architecture: the elaborately carved Italian marble fireplaces, the original plaster moldings, the inlaid floors and the graceful ironwork. The John Rutledge House Inn offers nineteen guest rooms within a complex of three buildings. One may choose between the elegance of rooms and spacious suites in the original grand residence or the charm and seclusion of rooms in the inn's two carriage houses. Antiques and historically accurate reproductions give each room its own warmth and distinction. John Rutledge House Inn is proud to be a founding hotel in Historic Hotels of America, as well as Select Registry - Distinguished Inns of America and Classic Inns of the South. Guests may leave cars parked on-site for their entire stay because the best of this beautiful port city is just beyond the doors of the John Rutledge House Inn. The city's finest restaurants, theaters, shops, and the Old City Market are all in short walking distance. The gorgeous residential area "South of Broad" begins directly opposite the Inn. A stay in this elegant antebellum bed and breakfast offers the opportunity to experience history as well as the warm hospitality for which the South is justly famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your John Rutledge House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Rutledge House Hotel Charleston
John Rutledge Hotel
John Rutledge Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Rutledge House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.