We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Rutledge House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added John Rutledge House Inn to your Saves list
John Rutledge House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Special
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and i stayed two nights this past weekend at the John Rutledge House Inn. Our room was in the carriage house, first floor. Lovely room, good room service at breakfast, but the noise from upstairs at 2:30 a.m. was not so good. They need some soundproofing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for spending your weekend in Charleston with us. The carriage house accommodations behind our main house are a nice, secluded place to stay. I'm glad to read that you had a very enjoyable stay and took advantage of our in-room breakfast service. Our apologies that you were awakened by noise one evening. We hope to host your next trip to town.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    46
    24
    14
    5
See reviews for
52
231
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Coming into the Charleston area for a family reunion one day early and wanted to be in town for the art galleries for a day before. This was a great choice. Had a fun welcome from Elizabeth who could not have nicer. The entire staff is warm, welcoming, helpful an accommodating. The Inn is fabulous and our rooms were very comfortable. We had rooms in one of the carriage houses in the back which did have any view but were very quiet. Breakfast was also wonderful. We are looking forward to our next stay here.

Room Tip: The carriage house rooms are very quiet if that's what you want. The rooms in the Inn are speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We're thrilled that you decided to start your trip to Charleston early at the John Rutledge House Inn. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for noting the unique character of the carriage house accommodations. Our location is excellent for enjoying the art galleries on Broad Street, so I'm glad that agree - the John Rutledge House Inn is a "great choice." We look forward to hosting you on future trips to Charleston. Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at thid B and B for 3 nights. It is on Broad street which is close to shopping, great resturants and the battery. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast which we had delivered to to room was great. You can choose from 2 main entrees and can order many different sides and drinks. The decor was period to the 1800s and very nice. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We would surely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed at the carriage house with our dog. Treats were waiting for our dog when we arrived.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the John Rutledge House Inn. I am glad to see that your whole family - dog included- enjoyed our accommodations. Our beds feature Tempur-Pedic mattresses and are quite popular. I’m glad that you had a great time in Charleston and returned home with such wonderful memories. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardeeville, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My daughter's and I stayed here almost two weeks ago on our very first visit to Charleston during a girl's roadtrip. Selecting just the right place to stay in Charleston was difficult since there were so many options and we were only staying the one night. We certainly made the right choice! We picked the John Rutledge because of the historic aspect and the great reviews it had on Trip Advisor. This Bed and breakfast is located in a great location and within easy walking distance to just about everything. It is among many beautiful historic buildings yet right around the corner from King Street which offers premier shopping, something my daughters loved. The staff was outstanding! Everyone was so welcoming and treated us as if they had known us for years. During afternoon tea (the lemonade and treats were awesome) the inn keeper spent quite a bit of time helping us find just the right place to have dinner which was another difficult task since again there are so many choices. We ended up eating at the Oak Steakhouse which was about 6 blocks up Broad Street. The filet mignon was the best we've ever tasted. Our room was in the Main building on the 3rd floor. It was beautifully decorated, very clean, HUGE and had super comfortable beds. We filled out our breakfast card around 11:00 pm at night and our delicious meal was served to us in our room promptly at the time we selected. We could have also had it served in the ballroom or the patio area. With the extremely hot temps we greatly appreciated the cooler filled with ice cold bottled water that was at the back door when we returned from our sight seeing. This stay exceeded our expectations and was well worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for such an outstanding and thorough review of the John Rutledge House Inn. I am thrilled that you and your daughters enjoyed the full “bed and breakfast” experience. There are so many wonderful amenities to take advantage of at the inn like breakfast delivery and afternoon tea. Our central location of course is great for dining and shopping. I take great pride in our staff and am pleased to hear your kind remarks. Thank you again for choosing to stay at the John Rutledge House and for taking the time to share your memories.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

This B&B is located in the historic district of Charleston. It is beautifully decorated. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They really made us feel welcome. The room was very comfortable and offered all the comforts one would wish for. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the John Rutledge House Inn. I am thrilled that had such a positive experience with our staff and enjoyed a great stay here in Charleston. Enjoy the rest of your summer. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumelle, Arkansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our two days here. Excellent and friendly service and a wonderfully historic setting, yet with modern conveniences such as wifi, bottled water, tv/dvd, and up to date bath. Best of the old and new.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hello: Thank you for choosing the John Rutledge House Inn. I am glad that you enjoyed your experience and our modern conveniences. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Sincerely,
Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel is located right in the center of town and is convenient to everything. Everyone who worked at the Inn was friendly, helpful and more than happy to go out of their way to get you reservations or a name of a nice restaurant. I would recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hello Allison, thank you for your review and recommendation. I take great pride in our staff and will be sure to give them your compliments. We hope to host you and your family again soon.

Sincerely,
Richard Widman Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to John Rutledge House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Rutledge House Inn

Address: 116 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#23 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — John Rutledge House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Most Historic Inn. John Rutledge, one of the fifty-five signers of the U.S. Constitution, built his home in 1763. Now exquisitely restored, it is one of only fifteen homes belonging to those signers to survive - and the only one to now accommodate overnight hotel guests. History records that George Washington called here in 1791. An entry in his diary shows a breakfast with Mrs. Rutledge. A loving rejuvenation has restored the beautiful details of the home's 18th and 19th century architecture: the elaborately carved Italian marble fireplaces, the original plaster moldings, the inlaid floors and the graceful ironwork. The John Rutledge House Inn offers nineteen guest rooms within a complex of three buildings. One may choose between the elegance of rooms and spacious suites in the original grand residence or the charm and seclusion of rooms in the inn's two carriage houses. Antiques and historically accurate reproductions give each room its own warmth and distinction. John Rutledge House Inn is proud to be a founding hotel in Historic Hotels of America, as well as Select Registry - Distinguished Inns of America and Classic Inns of the South. Guests may leave cars parked on-site for their entire stay because the best of this beautiful port city is just beyond the doors of the John Rutledge House Inn. The city's finest restaurants, theaters, shops, and the Old City Market are all in short walking distance. The gorgeous residential area "South of Broad" begins directly opposite the Inn. A stay in this elegant antebellum bed and breakfast offers the opportunity to experience history as well as the warm hospitality for which the South is justly famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your John Rutledge House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Rutledge House Hotel Charleston
John Rutledge Hotel
John Rutledge Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Rutledge House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.