We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Accommodations and Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John Rutledge House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added John Rutledge House Inn to your Saves list
John Rutledge House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Constitution Package
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Calabash, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Accommodations and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The John Rutledge House/Inn is a beautifully maintained historical inn. We stayed there two nights to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. The entire staff, including the Inn Keeper, Front Desk, House Keeping and Room Service, all provided exceptional service in every aspect of the accommodations. They certainly made us feel special, and we fully appreciated it.
To the John Rutledge Staff, thank you for making our stay highly enjoyable. We are certain to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    43
    24
    14
    5
See reviews for
51
219
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We had never been to Charleston SC so decided to go for our anniversary. We stayed in the carriage house. Returned on the night of our anniversary to find a chilled bottle of champagne on ice and a lovely card from the staff. Every staff member was couteous and helpful. We got a tour of its history when we check ed out after 4 days of staying. We have told all our friends across the nation to go here ! We will be back. This time in Garden week and we will ask for the same room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Branch, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The John Rutledge House Inn was, quite simply, the nicest place I've ever stayed. The concierge was top-notch. The room (we stayed in the Carriage House) was perfectly comfortable, although, outside, the temperature soared to the nineties with probably 90% humidity. The air conditioning was quiet and more than adequate. Breakfast was served in a beautiful dining room or in a lovely courtyard or in our room (our choice). The location was perfect. It put us in walking distance of everything we wanted to see and do.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for staying with us. The entire staff enjoys reading reviews that confirm that our guests appreciate the history of this house built in 1763 by John Rutledge, a signer of the U. S. Constitution and also the facilities and amenities of the 21st century. Thank you for recognizing the personal service that we provide to each guest.
Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Spent a wonderful night at the John Rutledge House Inn and cannot wait to go back. This inn is perfectly located in downtown Charleston. On-site parking (included in rate) is a great bonus. Our room on the 1st floor was large, nicely decorated and very cozy. We enjoyed afternoon tea in the ballroom and spent a good portion of the evening on the piazza overlooking Broad Street. Service was exceptional from the moment we made our reservations, to check-in and again as we were leaving. The Inn was so charming. Felt a lot like a very nice home away from home. I didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back. Don't hesitate if you are considering a stay here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Our goal at the John Rutledge House Inn is to create a special memory for everyone who stays with us. We are so pleased that we succeeded ! We have a beautiful main house and two carriage houses and we pride ourselves on our personal service. In order to prevent confusion for future guests, we do charge $12 for parking in the leased lot adjacent to the inn. Thank you and we look forward to having you as our guests in the future. RIchard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011 via mobile

This B&B is a Diamond in the middle of the action. Beautiful, elegant B&B within walking distance of the wharf, pubs, resturants, and shops. The rooms are amazing!! High ceilings, fireplaces, sitting area, luxurious beds, and large bathrooms. Breakfast is delicious. The staff tends to your every need throughout your stay. I'll definitely be returning!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011 via mobile

Simply wonderful. The hotel room was lovely and the service was excellent. There was a nice breakfast which we had in our room, but there were other dining choices. There was also a tea time with delicious little snacks. The service was great and very helpful. Mike greeted us and any and every question we had, he was able to help us. He also had wonderful restaurant suggestions, which we greatly appreciated. We would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I am not usually the Bed & Breakfast type, but John Rutledge inn was the perfect place to stay in Charleston. It was only a few blocks from the best restaurants so we could walk but were not right on top of the bustle of the restaurants and markets. We just had to turn the corner to find the best shopping in Charleston. The best part of the Inn though was the staff at the Inn and the personal touches there. The staff was incredible from helping us make reservations at great restaurants to helping me find a great running route. The breakfast was delicious and loved being able to select exactly what I wanted the night before and having it served at the time best for me either in our room or in the garden courtyard. And then each day when I returned from shopping and sightseeing, I could get a great glass of sweet tea or lemonade and a snack in the main house of the Inn. The Inn and rooms were beautiful capturing the beauty of Charleston. The bed was most comfortable and each room had a mini frig. I can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review. By being a small Inn or bed and breakfast we are able to offer very personalized service. We are very pleased that we were able to provide all the recommendations that helped you enjoy all Charleston has to offer right outside our doorstep. We look forward to your next visit.
Richard Widman
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to John Rutledge House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Rutledge House Inn

Address: 116 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — John Rutledge House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Most Historic Inn. John Rutledge, one of the fifty-five signers of the U.S. Constitution, built his home in 1763. Now exquisitely restored, it is one of only fifteen homes belonging to those signers to survive - and the only one to now accommodate overnight hotel guests. History records that George Washington called here in 1791. An entry in his diary shows a breakfast with Mrs. Rutledge. A loving rejuvenation has restored the beautiful details of the home's 18th and 19th century architecture: the elaborately carved Italian marble fireplaces, the original plaster moldings, the inlaid floors and the graceful ironwork. The John Rutledge House Inn offers nineteen guest rooms within a complex of three buildings. One may choose between the elegance of rooms and spacious suites in the original grand residence or the charm and seclusion of rooms in the inn's two carriage houses. Antiques and historically accurate reproductions give each room its own warmth and distinction. John Rutledge House Inn is proud to be a founding hotel in Historic Hotels of America, as well as Select Registry - Distinguished Inns of America and Classic Inns of the South. Guests may leave cars parked on-site for their entire stay because the best of this beautiful port city is just beyond the doors of the John Rutledge House Inn. The city's finest restaurants, theaters, shops, and the Old City Market are all in short walking distance. The gorgeous residential area "South of Broad" begins directly opposite the Inn. A stay in this elegant antebellum bed and breakfast offers the opportunity to experience history as well as the warm hospitality for which the South is justly famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your John Rutledge House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Rutledge House Hotel Charleston
John Rutledge Hotel
John Rutledge Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Rutledge House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.