We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for Sensitive Noses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elliott House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Elliott House Inn to your Saves list
Elliott House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
15% OFF Select Dates
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
New Orleans
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not for Sensitive Noses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Everything about this Inn was nice EXCEPT the musty smell in the room. Hopefully, it was just our room. I understand it's an old building, but I've been in many that didn't have musty odors. For me, it was overpowering and made what would have been a great stay less than so. The location is wonderful and there is no need for a car if you want to see the historic district through walking. We were in a king room in the back. It was quiet and the bed comfy, however if you are shorter than I, (5'3), and unable to jump, getting in and out of bed could be an issue. Maybe stools are provided. The staff was friendly and OTHER THAN the smell, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed the location and the staff at The Elliott House Inn. The beds are a little more off of the ground than typical beds, because that is the style of the beds from the period of the Inn. Available upon request, we do provide stepping stools for the guest to use, I apologize that this was not conveyed to you during your stay. The building although remodeled, is a 150 years old. We understand that we may have guests that are sensitive to those types of smells. Because of this, we provide dehumidifiers for some of our rooms and could have placed one in your unit. Once again thank you so much for your comments about your recent stay. I am truly happy to see that the location and the staff surpassed expectations and would love an opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    86
    40
    16
    7
See reviews for
13
182
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We rented 3 rooms as part of a family reunion. One room was well appointed, and had a nice outdoor patio. One room was well appointed, but dark. the third was not well appointed, and had a balcony with no furniture that overlooked a parking lot. Breakfast was OK, but more flexibility would have been appreciated. Ammenities were minimal. On the plus side, location was ideal, and staff were accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for spending the time to comment about your recent stay with us at The Elliott House Inn. I’m truly glad that you enjoyed how well appointed two of your three rooms were. I’m sorry, that you did not feel you had enough light around one of the rooms, if only the staff would have been notified we would have done our best to correct this scenario for you. All the rooms are designed differently, and as mentioned in the review one of the room’s private balconies overlooked a parking lot, however, the piazza for this room views our florid courtyard. As seen in this review and in a few others, the breakfast is lite, but that does give you the option of going out for a larger breakfast at anyone of the fantastic breakfast restaurants that surround us, or it gives you the opportunity of having a bigger early lunch at one of the surrounding world-class restaurants that Charleston has become known for. In regards to the breakfast, we are always looking for ways to improve our menu. Even though there were some very minor issues with your stay, I’m overjoyed to see how much you enjoyed the location, and that the staff was able to help you enjoy your stay in the city. Once again, thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us, and we look forward to you giving us another chance the next time you are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This little inn is in a perfect location, right off King and Meeting Streets, near the market, and right beside 3 excellent restaurants. The price was relatively good, for downtown Charleston. The breakfast is a simple but nice enough continental, and there are several breakfast restaurants within walking distance. The room was comfortable, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We have stayed here several times, and I'm sure we will again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
It was such a pleasure getting to chat with you while you were staying at the Inn! Thank you so much for continuing to stay with us when you come down to visit Charleston. All of the staff is eager to see new and returning guests. I look forward to seeing y’all again the next time you are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morristown,tn
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The location was perfect, very near quite a few great restaurants and a museum. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and had nice bedding that smelled nice. The shower had a hand-held sprayer (a rare luxury) as well as an overhead spigot. The TV was good. There were plenty of bed pillows as well as a surfeit of decorative pillows which we shoved out of our way ASAP. There was even a free-standing wine cooler in the room! There was a private little patio as well. (Be careful not to get locked out of the room while out on the patio. We did.) The courtyard is nice and we enjoyed the good wine and cheese in the evenings. The hot tub is very nice. It isn't the fiberglass kind; it was like a little swimming pool. The minimal breakfast is just enough to get you going, and the coffee is good, plentiful and stays hot in the little silver pot. I appreciated the half & half. Nothing cheap about this place. The desk man was very helpful and knew his Charleston history. Oh, and you can park across the street in a parking garage. Very convenient.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor facing the courtyard and did like our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your gracious words about your stay with us at The Elliott House Inn. As you mentioned, the location cannot be beat. The breakfast though minimal, does provide you with the carbohydrates you need to get up and explore. The staff is always willing to lend a helping hand whenever there is a question, or if they can provide a suggestion. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at The Elliott House Inn, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you want music to be blasting in your room until 11 pm, look no further. You just found the right place. Not worth the money. Noise of garbage tracks are also very noticeable. The music nearby was so loud we could not even watch tv. The room itself was ok. It was clean and the bed was big although not to comfortable

Room Tip: All the rooms are very noisy(trucks,music,etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
While I’m saddened to read that this particular guest did not like the noise from our neighbors, I am pleased to see that you did not have any problems with the hotels itself! We are a hidden gem tucked away on Queen Street. I want every future and potential guest to understand that we are located in the heart of the historic district in downtown Charleston. You are going to get the noises from nearby wedding venues, restaurants, delivery trucks, etc. It’s a harsh reality, but uncontrollable by the staff at the inn. For folks that are lighter than normal sleepers or sensitive to noises, I would suggest you choose a property outside of the downtown district. I think you’ll find it more quiet for a good night’s sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here a few months ago on our honeymoon, and the location and atmosphere could not have been more perfect. This B&B was beautiful and charming. We especially loved the courtyard, the afternoon wine events, and the AMAZING breakfast (delivered to your room). I cannot wait to return here and I don't ever plan to stay anywhere else while in Charleston.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Congratulations on your recent wedding! I’m so glad that we were able to host your honeymoon getaway and even more pleased to read how much you enjoyed the stay! Hopefully as you celebrate future anniversaries you will come back to stay with us. Best wishes on a happy future with your new husband.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I would have upgraded the Inn to good if I had not stepped on a Palmetto bug in the bathroom in the middle of the night. The sound of the bug being squashed under my food at about 2AM was enough to wake me up for the rest of the night. Too bad as the bed is extremely comfortable and the room is large and nicely appointed (even if somewhat old). The wine and cheese offered at five in the evening is of minimal quality and kind of just left out for the the guest to fend for themselves. I would drop that perk if it was my place. However, the bottle of good quality Champagne in the room at check in is a very nice touch. Given the location and the staff and a breakfast tray delivered to your room with a paper I would recommend it to the next traveler. (Bring some bug spray for the bathroom and you won't be surprised during the night).

Room Tip: Bring bug spray for the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I’m sorry you encountered a palmetto bug in your room while you stayed with us. During changes in weather like we are experiencing, Palmetto Bugs seek warmer temperatures and attempt to enter the rooms more. With us having exterior corridors it can be tough to control. Please know that we are on a monthly pest prevention plan and try to make every attempt to keep them from entering our guest rooms. I appreciate your feedback on the wine and cheese reception. I don’t think it’s something that our other fellow guests want to go away, so I think we’ll keep that going for the time being. Please give us another try while visiting Charleston in the future. I think we’re one of the best lodging options the city has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliott House Inn

Address: 78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#32 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 25 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elliott House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.