We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elliott House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Elliott House Inn to your Saves list
Elliott House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
15% OFF Select Dates
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Perfectly located in the historic district between the market & shopping streets and the beautiful mansions along the battery. Walkable to all the key sites and restaurants.

The room was exceptionally clean and nicely decorated inCharleston style. The bed was very comfortable.

Three disappointments: (1) no light blocking shades, and the blinds let in a lot of light from the courtyard; (2) not good sound blocking between the rooms; we could hear our upstairs neighbor walking and our next door neighbor snoring; and (3) there was no closet or cabinet for hanging clothes. There was good drawer space, a sturdy coat rack and a small rod for hanging clothes out in the open room.

We would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! While I’m pleased to read that you would visit us again, I’m saddened that the noise was an issue for you. As you know, we are located in the heart of downtown on one of the busiest streets. We also have wood floors. The combination of the two does not promise a quiets night sleep and I’m sorry for this. All of our rooms are individually decorated with different options for hanging clothes. Please come back and visit us again and we’ll make sure to put you in a room with plenty of space for your clothing!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    77
    36
    13
    5
See reviews for
12
161
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

The review from earlier is correct about the shower water pressure. It has two heads but my husband and I could barely get them to spray more than a light shower...I like heavy water pressure in my hotel rooms so this was big for me. Our room also had a musty smell but I attribute that to it being an old building. Staff was friendly and helped guide us around town to great shops and dining places. I just expected more for the price but I guess you pay for the prime location with this hotel...although there are many other options on the same block. Overall no major complaints but I have to be honest I won't go back or recommend it to my traveling friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I appreciate your comments on your stay Elliott House. The water faucet in the rooms with two shower heads can be a bit sensitive to run, especially if you want water to come out of both at the same time, I apologize about this. Yes, while we’ve renovated the property, the “bones” of the building are still historic dating back to the early 1800’s which can cause that musty smell on high humidity days. We keep dehumidifiers for folks that require them during their stay - next time make to ask for one of those! Charleston is an old city enriched in southern charm, which draws several visitors each year we grow. For those folks looking for a more economical time to come, I would suggest the winter months of November, December and January. We have some fantastic deals during that time! I would encourage the author of this review to give us another try. We would love to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great location for exploring Charleston on foot. The parking garage across the street will get very expensive if you take your car in and out of the garage to explore the surrounding areas. The hotel staff are very knowledgable about the history and give great advice for seeing this wonderful city. And as you would expect from Charleston, the staff are very hospitable, Southern charm bountiful. The room was rather small, but well decorated. A small breakfast daily in the courtyard was a wonderful way to begin the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for commenting about your recent stay. The staff at The Elliott House Inn is exceptional and we try to make every guest feel welcomed when they walk through the door. The parking lot across the street is twenty dollars a day, but the best thing about the city is that you don’t need your car once you have parked. The city does offer some wonderful forms of free transportation as well. Once again, we look forward to seeing you again for your future visits to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We loved the quaint room and beautiful furnishings. The staff was very helpful and we loved being right in the middle of the historic district. There is a parking garage across the street and we never need to move the car again after we got to the hotel. They deliver a delicious, continental breakfast to either your room or the courtyard every morning.
Our only problem was a new mattress was delivered to our room during our stay and we were not told that this might happen. We may have secured some of our belongings or just appreciated being advised of this. We requested no housekeeping that day and did not expect anyone to be in the room.
They have a great package that includes a gift certificate and reservation for the fabulous restaurant, Husk, which is right next door. Terrific idea.
We would stay here again and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Try a third floor room as footsteps can be heard overhead from 1st or second floor rooms. Ask which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I’m so glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay at the inn. I thoroughly enjoyed seeing that the staff was able to help you enjoy your Charleston experience. The Husk Package is a wonderful way to be able to stay with us and to eat at one of the best restaurants in the United States. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

If your looking for something between a B&B and a regular hotel the Elliot House is perfect. The location on Queen street sets you up to explore Charleston on foot or to grab the trolley. An overpriced parking garage across the street made sure i didnt have to risk denting my rental car parking on the street. The only drawbacks were anemic water pressure in the shower, and you are attached to 82 Queens courtyard, so if you like to go to bed before ten youll have to overcome the sounds of outdoor dining. In addition to being located next to 82 Queen, Husk and Poogans Porch are a few steps away both have excellent food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Regarding the type of property we are - you are 100% correct, Elliott House Inn is a hybrid between B&B and a regular hotel. Being sandwiched between some of the best restaurants in Charleston is one great feature of the property, especially since most of the restaurants on Queen Street don't stay open extremely late. 82 Queen restaurant provides room service to our guests, which is a great feature to take advantage of. We'd love to have you back again in the near future! Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The central location is admittedly great but the place is tired and room smelled of mildew and some sweet scent used to mask the problem. The shower had barely enough water pressure to get wet and overall there are just too many other hotels in the area to compromise this much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I'm saddened to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are a unique property that features a historically renovated building for sleeping quarters. I can assure you that moisture smells in the rooms are not a common issue, but one we take very seriously. It is never our intention to mask any smells in rooms, I'm sorry you feel that we've done so. Regarding the water pressure, perhaps the flow restrictor was on your specific shower head. Had we known, perhaps we could have moved you to a different area of the building. I’m confident that many or all of the issues you encountered in your room could have been remedied, if given an opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is an excellent hotel in an excellent location. When you go to Charleston you want to stay in a local Inn - and this is THE place to do it. You couldn't ask for a better location - everything is walking distance. The rooms had so much character, the courtyard was beyond beautiful & the service was top notch. The staff was very knowledgeable & really helped us with designing our trip. When I go back to Charleston, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Might want to stay on 2nd floor so you don't hear the people above you walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I am so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us! Our unique character and charm is really what sets us apart from the branded hotels. Our dedicated staff and team can help make your vacation a memorable one. I look forward to seeing you again when you come back to visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliott House Inn

Address: 78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 25 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elliott House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.