We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elliott House Inn

Save Saved
You added Elliott House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elliott House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
15% OFF Select Dates
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Mahwah, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Location and charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Charleston is one of my favorite cities, and very easy to navigate on foot. The Elliott House Inn is perfectly located - close to King Street and Meeting Street, and in the middle of its own 'restaurant row'. If you've over done it during the day, you can go next door to the excellent 82 Queen or turn left and choose from either Husk or Poogan's Porch, two great restaurants.

My room was very comfortable, the bath seemed larger than a typical hotel. Add in breakfast and coffee in the morning, and wine and cheese in the afternoon, and I think you have everything you need for a great stay in Charleston.

Room Tip: Room 25 - top of the stairs, and far enough into the courtyard to be unaware of any noise in the eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are situated in some of the best dining in all of Charleston, I'm pleased to see that you took advantage of this!! Our owners have worked really hard in creating great rooms for our guests. Please come back again soon, we'd love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    74
    36
    13
    5
See reviews for
12
157
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Matthew the nite time manger was awesome when we were there and when we were not. My wife left her shoes in the room and Matthew kept up with them until we returned 6 weeks later. The location is perfect and the rooms newly renovated. And the courtyard is beautiful. What's not to love??
Very satisfied

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences at the Inn. I so glad that Matthew was able to help you while you were here and even while you weren’t. We look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This a is gem in the heart of Charleston close to all main streets & restaurants. Parking available in car park opposite for $20 a night. B & B only breakfast choice is good you can have this in courtyard or rooms. Free wine & cheese every evening included. Lovely comfy four poster beds and very clean rooms. There is a hot tub also available in courtyard.

Room Tip: All look good but lift is a bit slow so choose lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
How splendid to read! I’m glad that you found The Elliott House Inn completely rewarding. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Positives are the location and cleanliness. Negatives --are shower only warm, not enough light to read in room, very NOISY, bad smell in room, room clock was not working--needed a battery but the staff did not even have ant batteries, parking fees across the street $20 a day but if you leave and return its can be $40, some staff not at all helpful but some was good. We have stayed in other Charleston B and Bs that we're delightful and much better value with a fabulous breakfast, helpful staff and wonderful rooms and baths. Try somewhere else!

Room Tip: Plus is the convenient location and cleanliness. Minus the NOISE, smell in room, shower not hot, bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your stay at The Elliott House Inn. As you pointed out, the location is superb. The Inn is sandwiched between two fine dinning restaurants and is located near several other well established ones. You listed the noise as being an issue during your stay, which the location although being perfect is a double edge sword for being in the middle of everything. I’m sorry the scent of the room was not to the guest’s liking, we do not tend to get any complaints about the smell of the rooms, unless if it has to do with the guest being sensitive to different cleaning chemicals we use. Once again thank you for spending a couple of moments to write about your experience, we do appreciate you pointing out some areas that we need to work on, so that we may improve for future guests of the inn. We truly hope that you will try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

The Elliot House Inn delivers on what's needed for a nice Charleston getaway- it's clean, well-kept, and offers a superb location (it's right in the heart of Historic Charleston which makes walking to local attractions a breeze). Our room was average-sized and clean, with a comfy bed, tv, and small (but modern) bathroom. It definitely served its purpose. Be aware, however, that the Inn was originally constructed in the 1860s and may shows its age in some spots (like all historic and old buildings will). The Inn underwent renovations in 2011 and is welcoming enough, but do not expect lavish accommodations- they have a small, simple courtyard with a hot tub where basic cheeses and bottles of wine are set out every afternoon- a nice touch but by no means extravagant. The continental breakfast is simple but that's to be expected with continental breakfasts. It was perfect to kickstart our day! Also be aware that parking is not included in the price for the hotel- it is available in a public garage across the street (literally like 10 steps from the Inn entrance) and carries a cost of $20/day. In my opinion the location and price advantage make this one of the best options in Charleston. I booked the Elliot on a pair of weekdays for a quick getaway with my honey and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It offered a homey environment while providing for an unbeatable location. If you're looking for lavish accommodations and want to be pampered, look elsewhere (and prepare to pay a very steep price- Charleston lodging in the downtown district is very expensive). If you're looking for a nice, quality bed-and-breakfast that will suit your lodging needs and provide awesome access to the town, the Elliot is for you. (One final note: I've heard some complain that the Elliot doesn't provide enough luxury for it high price tag. While it's true that the Inn carries a high price compared to most hotels nationally, Charleston lodging in this area is very expensive. The well-kept, clean environment coupled with amazing location definitely warrant the higher rates). My lovebug and I thoroughly enjoyed our time in Charleston and owe much of that to the staff at "E-House", as a much wittier reviewer coined the Inn in a previous post.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit with us at the inn. I’m glad that the location provided you with the opportunity to break away and have a little retreat. Secondly, it is always exuberating to hear about how well the staff treated you during your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again for another mini retreat down to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We wanted to be in the center of old Charleston. This inn provided that requirement, but there was very little else that would cause us to recommend the place. Parking was horrible! We knew it would be expensive to park, but we did not realize that available space was nonexistent at times. We arrived early to check in and were unable to find a parking space to temporarily park and check in. While riding around the block we called the office to find out what to do. They told us we were early and they would not be able to accommodate us for two hours. No suggestion was provided for parking and helping us to at least locate ourselves until we could check in. Basically they wanted us to ride around for two hours until they were ready for us. When we finally checked in the room was very small and quite underwhelming. When we took the elevator to our room it made horrible noises -- clearly it was not working well. They said that a call was in for a repair crew. In four days no crew showed up. The bathroom had one of the strangest showers that we have ever seen in a hotel/inn. It consisted of a handheld shower head that trickled water with minimal pressure. Water was warm, never hot. We were provided with two very skimpy bath towels and two hand towels. For the money we paid, we expected more. Internet service was erratic and often nonexistent. Since we needed internet service for business, this was a real problem. Breakfast was fairly pathetic, minimal and uninspiring. Even the person behind the desk when we checked in told us that breakfast was very small and we would probable want to go elsewhere for a real breakfast. How true!

In reading other reviews of this place, it sounds like many people feel that after spending as much money as they did for their room, they needed to put positive spin on things and pretend that their experience was great. Not likely.

It was clear to us during our visit that there are many other places in Charleston that are easily as convenient as Elliott House, no more expensive, and provide much more for your money. Parking is a problem everywhere in Charleston, but the other hotels/inns don't leave you hanging to work it out on your own.

Look around before you book here. You will find better options at many places -- try across the street at Mills House for instance. You will get much more for your money at a place that really cares about your comfort and needs.

Room Tip: Want to choose a good room -- go to another inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. It is clearly unfortunate that you had a terrible stay, but it is even more disheartening that you did not choose to disclose any of your discomfort while you were on the premises, so that we may try to give a helping hand. Clearly from the very beginning you were dissatisfied with the service provided to you, which if kept in the dark, helps no one. You mention that you did arrived early, and clearly it was not our intentions to have you drive around for two hours before your room was ready, we do not guarantee check-in until 3 PM. As expressed in many reviews and conveyed in emails and phone confirmations, the guest is always welcomed to leave their luggage in the lobby and the staff will move it to the room when it becomes available. When you book a reservation you are notified either through the phone or via email that parking is across the street for twenty dollars a day. The reviewer mentions that they read numerous reviews about the inn before staying, and it is mentioned in several reviews that there is parking to unload your luggage right in front of the inn. The parking deck across the street very rarely reaches full occupancy, but there are four parking areas within 400 feet from the inn that we could have referred you to, had we known that you were having trouble finding parking.

You mention the elevator as being a concern, which we do get regular inspections on and can confirm, is safe for guest and employee use. Next, it seems that you took issue with the internet; if this problem would have been addressed during the stay it could have been easily fixed. There have only been two complaints about the internet that I am aware of and those two complaints were because the guest’s computer was attached to one of the other wireless networks that surrounds the property. Luckily those guests called the front desk and the problem was immediately fixed, by our gracious front desk staff. I can honestly say that since the computers in the lobby and guest rooms all run through the same internet, we would be the first ones to know about problems with the wireless network. It is truly disappointing for the staff at the inn that we could not provide you quality service, but more deeply saddening that you espoused that all the guests must make up good things to make themselves feel better about staying at the inn. I am very sorry that you left us with such disappointment. I hope that in the future you will give us the opportunity to provide you accommodations again. Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

If looking for a cozy and centrally located place to stay in downtown Charleston, its worth giving The Elliot House a shot. Part of the charm of the Elliot Hose is the B&B feel and the "old south" rooms. Despite the enjoyable "old south" vibe the bathrooms are updated (at least in my room) and the shower is very relaxing. The only drawback is the view from my room was directly into neighboring Husk's kitchen. On the other hand the place is right next to great places like Husk and 82 Queen so its an easy walk back after dinner and a few cocktails! In addition to a fantastic location the municipal parking deck is right across the street so your rent car will always be easily accessible. The staff was courteous and friendly and they genuinely appreciated your presence. To sum it up the place is not The Four Seasons, buts its not the Motel 6 either. No doubt a great place to stay and an excellent value for a mid-tier place that is centrally located. As a person that is picky about hotels, i feel no need to look for other places to stay while in Charleston and will be back on my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you, for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. As you mentioned, the hotel is nuzzled in a perfect location amongst some of the finest restaurants in the city. I’m glad to see that you got to enjoy them and much of what Charleston has to offer. It is wonderful to see that the staff was able to provide you with information to guide you on your way. Once again, thank you so much for taking the time to convey your thoughts about The Elliott House Inn. We look forward to hearing back from you the next time you plan a visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliott House Inn

Address: 78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elliott House Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 25 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elliott House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;