We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elliott House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elliott House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Elliott House Inn to your Saves list
Elliott House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
15% OFF Select Dates
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Elliott House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 5 nights the end of January. We each had a room and the rooms were lovely and decorated individually. The staff was very helpful and when the weather turned cold the last day we were there, the gal who delivered the breakfast tray offered me her coat for the day! As long as I had it back before she got off duty. Now, I ask you. Has that ever happened to you? Certainly not to me before. My only complaint was the air conditioning had a regulator on it so I could never get it as cool as I would have liked at night, but it was tolerable. Not sure how it would feel in the heat of the summer however. The Inn is within walking distance of everything and, walk we did. The restaurant next door will do room service, but we never tried it. Too many fabulous places to eat in the area. I would recommend this Inn for an intimate stay.

Room Tip: Get the rooms in the back of the courtyard for a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about The Elliott House Inn. I’m glad that the staff was very helpful during you stay, even offering the coat of her back on a chilly day.
The majority of the rooms have AC window units and we do have a regulator that is set to go no lower than 68 degrees. Once again, thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at the inn, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    86
    40
    16
    7
See reviews for
13
182
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The lovely courtyard with hot tub immediately makes you feel relaxed and ready for fun. Then you enter your charming room which is well appointed and comfortable and get unpacked and prepare to explore this area which is known as the French Quarter. You are only a few steps from the Four Corners of Law and a great opportunity to have a meandering walk thru history.

Room Tip: This inn does not have a restaurant but does serve a nice continental breakfast. It is in a few sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Taking advantage of our outdoor heated Jacuzzi is certainly a nice option to have when relaxing after a busy day of sightseeing in the city! I appreciate your comments regarding the comforts of your guest room. Our owners take great pride in offering great accommodations that meet the needs of each of guests. Come back and visit again soon – the weather is starting to warm up again as we prepare for a beautiful spring season in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I go to Charleston often and have stayed several places but always come back to E-House! Location just can't be beat and courtyard and hot tub are big sellers! And the staff is the best. I have upcoming trip and sure hope E House has rate within my per diem as Charleston isn't Charleston with out E House! I am sure I have been at E House 20+ times and was so sad during the down time for renovation. 2x since reopen!, Welcome back EHI!!!

Room Tip: All are PERFECT. No going wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Nothing is more exciting than hearing and seeing from returning guests. As mentioned, the “E House” went under extensive renovations from 2009-2011. The inn has: new bathrooms, new floors, new furniture and bedding, new bicycles, and complimentary wireless. Thank you for coming back to the “E House” and we can't wait to have you back again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We just stayed one night but completely enjoyed our stay and wished it could have been longer. Friendly staff, immaculate room, great bed...and right in the heart of the action. The front desk person (Mike?) was tremendous! With his advice for a one day exploration of a city so rich in history, our day couldn't have been better...now that's southern hospitality!

Room Tip: ask for a room that doesn't back onto the back door of the neighbouring restaurant...a fair amou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your recent stay at the inn. The Elliott House Inn is in a perfect location to every place you would like to visit downtown. Even though we do not have a person name Mike on the staff, Neal is who I am assuming you are talking about, is a great person to talk to about a variety of different activities that one can take advantage of, also he does great history tours for our guest if you ask. Thank you, for taking your time to share your wonderful experience about your stay at the inn. We look forward to hearing from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When the temps reach the upper 70s in SC it's a great time to get away to Charleston, SC. With the added bonus of restaurant week pair with a great B&B located on Queen Street, in downtown Charleston. So I called a great friend, grabbed my nikon d700 and packed the convertible. Several reason to pick Charleston, great food, history, on the ocean, and easy walk to every where downtown. The Elliott house is a great location for shopping on King street, walking to the battery, nightlife on Market Street and East Bay. And let's not forget drinks at the Vendue Inn rooftop!

Room Tip: Room service is offered via 82 Queen St. Which is located next door. No parking on site it parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment about your recent visit in Charleston. The weather in Charleston can be seventy degrees one day and 40 degrees the next, but no matter what the temperature we hope that you always find excellent customer service at our inn. The restaurants can be a tad noisy, but by requesting a room facing the courtyard much of that noise is not an issue. As you mentioned, we get room service provided to us by 82 Queen which is a magnificent restaurant located next door to the inn. Also, as mentioned we do not have any on site parking, but the lot across the street is twenty dollars for a twenty four hour period. Once again, thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

With a weekend getaway in Charleston during restaraunt week and with temps in the 70s, you couldn't want a better inn or location to be situated at. The staff at the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful with food recommendations that arent too touristy. The room was spacious yet intimate at he same time. While you do border some of the busier (and most delicious) restaraunts in the city, the noise tapers off by the time you get back in from exploring and starts up by the time you're ready to go in the morning. Definitely coming back!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Wow! Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the inn. The staff is a great source of information from tours to restaurants, or just pointing out spots that are off the beaten path. We do look forward to your next visit at The Elliott House Inn, and thank you for spending the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for two nights, the staff is very friendly and welcoming, the location is ideal for shopping and eating and exploring downtown. There are a couple fantastic restaurants right on the same street! Our room was very quaint, nicely decorated, clean and the beds very comfortable. Our only complaint and its not one that the hotel can very well fix is the unexpected wake up call at 5am for garbage pickup - I would definitely ask for a room far from the street if you like to sleep in. Breakfast was good, very light continental - if your looking for something heartier definitely go out to eat. We missed the wine and cheese receptions since we were busy exploring but enjoyed the hot tub later in the evening. There is no parking at the hotel and if we didn't need a rental car for the rest of the trip we wouldn't have opted to have one since parking in the garage is $20 a day. Overall the EHI was a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay at The Elliott House Inn. First off, we do always enjoy hearing how well you were treated by our staff. The location of the property is ideal, because you are right in the middle of everything. As the reviewer mentioned we do not have any parking at the inn, but the lot across the street is twenty dollars for a twenty-four hour period. Especially during this time of the year, the outdoor heated Jacuzzi is delightful and numerous of our guests do take advantage of that particular amenity. Lastly, we are surrounded by some of the best restaurants in the United States and with the great location, come some early morning deliveries and pickups. The Elliott House has taken steps to mute out some of the noise, for example, thicker window installments. Also, when you book a reservation you are able to select between courtyard rooms and traditional rooms. The traditional rooms are facing the street, and the courtyard rooms are facing more in the direction of the courtyard. Once again, thank you for choosing us while you stayed in Charleston and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliott House Inn

Address: 78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 25 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elliott House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.