We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Welcoming but Not a Bed and Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elliott House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Elliott House Inn to your Saves list
Elliott House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
15% OFF Select Dates
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Harrisonburg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Welcoming but Not a Bed and Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

They are a lovely inn, the location is spectacular, the employees are very nice and helpful. I would stay there again, and happily however I do have a bit of an irritation. I suppose that it was more of a irritation on their advertizing. They bill themselves as a bed and breakfast, and provide a very light snackish sort of breakfast but this should not qualify them as a bed and breakfast. A true bed and breakfast serves a hot meal, gives you a choice of how your eggs are cooked, etc. The website shows pictures of pastry, but I can assure you that they do not appear as one of the choices on your menu (which are pre-printed and were the same daily - probably bought in bulk). Either a cold hard boiled egg and cereal (the little plastic single servings with a carton of milk the same as served at hospitals), a bagel with butter and cream cheese with half a grapefruit, or yogurt and granola with a banana nut muffin. Coffee and OJ also available. I work in a hospital, and we offer a better continental breakfast delivered to your room than was offered here, and we all know how famous hospitals are for the quality of their food right? The only things different from continental breakfast served at the Super8 are the lack of ability to mix and match, fewer choices and room delivery. I was a bit peeved. The pictures show pastry, I love pastry, there was no pastry. That being said, again the location was awesome, we could walk literally everywhere you would want to go! The price is still right even without the offered breakfast, which we only ordered for the coffee by the second day. So, all in all, a lovely stay on the upper floors away from the streets. The rooms are tight but more cozy than cramped, enjoy coffee brought to your room while you get ready for you day, but go out for breakfast. Also, a warning for families, there are no doors adjoining rooms, the halls are narrow, the elevator small, the rooms would be very tight for kids, and they have no cots or cribs. This is not a hotel designed for families with kids that are not fairly independent and trustworthy while away from their parents.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you so much for commenting about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. We truly appreciate your altruistic words about the staff. As you mentioned, the breakfast is not a hot breakfast, but it is something meant to get you up and get you going. We did use to have a section that was for Danishes, but people tended to like the other food options that weren’t as sweet, more. Next, we welcome all people to stay at The Elliott House Inn, families included, but all of our rooms do only have bed per room and we do not have cots or rollaway beds. Once again, thank you for staying with us at The Elliott House Inn and we look forward to you returning when you are in Charleston next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    86
    39
    16
    7
See reviews for
12
182
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, FL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at the Inn on our way south after Thanksgiving. The staff were very helpful and our room, on the ground floor, away from the street was quiet and well appointed. We enjoyed breakfast on the patio and the wine and cheese in the late afternoon. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about The Elliott House Inn. We never get tired of hearing about how well you were treated at the inn. The wine and cheese is a wonderful event put on for the guests not only to show how much we appreciate you, but so that you can mingle with the other visitors. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The night we checked in we mentioned seeing a review on here that the people next door at the bar can get pretty loud at night. The gentleman working the front desk went out of his way to relocate our room to the third floor without hesitation. The free wine and cheese at 5 everyday was nice and the location is amazing. Right next door to Husk and 82 Queen. Merely blocks away from the heart of downtown Charleston.

The breakfast was a little disappointing. Raisin Bran, bagel, muffin or grapefruit. Also watch out for room 16. It's directly adjacent to the dumpster for the Husk bar, and their employees tend to get pretty noisy around midnight.

Overall, would definitely stay here again as long as I was on the second or third floor.

Room Tip: We were in room 15 to start with. Near the noisy dumpster, small TV and only a wardrobe. Relocated t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. Thank you so much for pointing out how well you were treated by our staff and how we were able to accommodate your requests. The Elliott House Inn as you mentioned is sandwiched between two world class restaurants, 82 Queen and Husk, and we have taken numerous measures to make sure that every guest has a wonderful experience. Every room has its own distinct features from: location, size, desk space, etc.., and it is the uniqueness of the room just like the city, which draws people back year after year. While the noise from the restaurants can be a bit of nuisance, you shouldn’t have to endure that late in the evenings. We encourage our guests to contact the front desk when those types of situations arise so we can attempt to calm the sounds that are distracting you from a peaceful nights rest. I’m so glad that you recommend staying with us, and we will be looking forward to your future visits here at the inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here for two nights for business and had a great experience. Rooms were spacious and very clean; if you're worried about street noise, ask for a room in the back of the complex. My room was #36 and it was very quiet. The courtyard has a hot tub and free happy hour (cheese and wine) daily at 5. Breakfast was decent and included in the room price. The inn is within walking distance of most restaurants and attractions in downtown Charleston, including a great bar/restuarant (Husk) right next door. My only recommendation for this hotel would be that they have better parking options for those with cars. You have to park in the county garage across the street at $20/day; it would be great to get a discounted rate as a hotel guest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your benevolent words about the inn. The location is amazing, because you can walk to anything from the inn. Parking is a premium in downtown Charleston, and the best place we recommend is the garage across the street, but if you are willing to walk a little ways there is free street parking provided in the city. The breakfast is simple, but a wonderful way to start the morning. When you arrive and get checked into the room, you have the option of selecting time and location you would like the breakfast. We would look forward to hosting you again, if your travels take you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Lovely room and furnishings, great courtyard to sit out in and enjoy a glass of wine during "happy hour" and the location cannot be better. Walk out the door to fine restaurants and all of the old city. The staff were all super helpful and courteous too.
It would have been nice to have a coffeemaker in the room (we make tea with them too) but the free coffee in the courtyard from 6am was great. Also, silver service continental breakfast delivered to the room at a prearranged time was a lovely start to each day. Do not miss the walking tour from the hotel, worth every cent.

Room Tip: We chose a king room, ground floor, back of the hotel. Very quiet. Our friends had a queen, higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your gracious words about The Elliott House Inn. The entire staff is wonderful and is willing to help out anytime. As you mentioned we do not have coffee makers in the room, but coffee is available out in the courtyard as early as 6 AM, also we have someone staffed twenty four hours a day that is willing to make extra coffee or hot tea. The complimentary breakfast is great to fill your body with a little energy to go explore Charleston, however, if you are interested in a larger breakfast we have wonderful breakfast restaurants located just feet away. Lastly, the walking tour that leaves from the hotel is exceptional, led by one of our staff members, Neal. The tour is just fifteen dollars a person, and he is willing to schedule a tour anytime that he is available. Once again, thank you so much for your tremendously kind words about the inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a wonderful hotel in a lovely sorrounding. Excellent service and very romantic room. We borrowed the bicycles from the hotel and cycled around old historic Charleston. This was far better then we expected even though we had great expectations. Just lovely!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I’m glad to see that we exceeded your lofty expectations while you were staying with us. The inn prides itself on the service and quality stay of that is provided to each and every guest. There is nothing better, than hearing how much a guest truly appreciated the stay at the inn and the overall appeal of Charleston. We look forward to hearing from you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This charming B&B used to be a Charleston secret. Slightly rough but located right in the middle of the historic district, reasonable prices, and convinent parking across the street. The place is not on the main tourist streets so you have to look for it. Now, after being closed for several years for renovation, the Elliot House has reopened. So now it's not rough anymore - all updated. So why not 5 stars? Well, the room prices have almost trippled since the renovation work! It is still a nice place but, for their current room price, there are much better properties nearby.

Room Tip: Sorry - they are all small and cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you, for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. Charleston, like Queen Street, has grown significantly over the last couple of years. The culinary scene in Charleston has exploded and Queen Street not only has some of the best restaurants on the local level, but also on the international level as well. The rates at The Elliott House Inn, just like all the lodgings in the area, depended on the day of the week and the time of the year that one books a reservation. As you mentioned, all the renovations have taken away the “roughness” of The Elliott House Inn, and on that I will agree. The extensive renovations included: new mattresses, new flooring, new televisions, etc.., and though not everyone will be happy with the changes that have been made, the majority of guests have shared a sense of approval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliott House Inn

Address: 78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 25 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elliott House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.