We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accomadating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elliott House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Elliott House Inn to your Saves list
Elliott House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 15% on Select Dates
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Very accomadating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The night we checked in we mentioned seeing a review on here that the people next door at the bar can get pretty loud at night. The gentleman working the front desk went out of his way to relocate our room to the third floor without hesitation. The free wine and cheese at 5 everyday was nice and the location is amazing. Right next door to Husk and 82 Queen. Merely blocks away from the heart of downtown Charleston.

The breakfast was a little disappointing. Raisin Bran, bagel, muffin or grapefruit. Also watch out for room 16. It's directly adjacent to the dumpster for the Husk bar, and their employees tend to get pretty noisy around midnight.

Overall, would definitely stay here again as long as I was on the second or third floor.

Room Tip: We were in room 15 to start with. Near the noisy dumpster, small TV and only a wardrobe. Relocated t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. Thank you so much for pointing out how well you were treated by our staff and how we were able to accommodate your requests. The Elliott House Inn as you mentioned is sandwiched between two world class restaurants, 82 Queen and Husk, and we have taken numerous measures to make sure that every guest has a wonderful experience. Every room has its own distinct features from: location, size, desk space, etc.., and it is the uniqueness of the room just like the city, which draws people back year after year. While the noise from the restaurants can be a bit of nuisance, you shouldn’t have to endure that late in the evenings. We encourage our guests to contact the front desk when those types of situations arise so we can attempt to calm the sounds that are distracting you from a peaceful nights rest. I’m so glad that you recommend staying with us, and we will be looking forward to your future visits here at the inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    101
    52
    19
    8
See reviews for
17
217
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here for two nights for business and had a great experience. Rooms were spacious and very clean; if you're worried about street noise, ask for a room in the back of the complex. My room was #36 and it was very quiet. The courtyard has a hot tub and free happy hour (cheese and wine) daily at 5. Breakfast was decent and included in the room price. The inn is within walking distance of most restaurants and attractions in downtown Charleston, including a great bar/restuarant (Husk) right next door. My only recommendation for this hotel would be that they have better parking options for those with cars. You have to park in the county garage across the street at $20/day; it would be great to get a discounted rate as a hotel guest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your benevolent words about the inn. The location is amazing, because you can walk to anything from the inn. Parking is a premium in downtown Charleston, and the best place we recommend is the garage across the street, but if you are willing to walk a little ways there is free street parking provided in the city. The breakfast is simple, but a wonderful way to start the morning. When you arrive and get checked into the room, you have the option of selecting time and location you would like the breakfast. We would look forward to hosting you again, if your travels take you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Lovely room and furnishings, great courtyard to sit out in and enjoy a glass of wine during "happy hour" and the location cannot be better. Walk out the door to fine restaurants and all of the old city. The staff were all super helpful and courteous too.
It would have been nice to have a coffeemaker in the room (we make tea with them too) but the free coffee in the courtyard from 6am was great. Also, silver service continental breakfast delivered to the room at a prearranged time was a lovely start to each day. Do not miss the walking tour from the hotel, worth every cent.

Room Tip: We chose a king room, ground floor, back of the hotel. Very quiet. Our friends had a queen, higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your gracious words about The Elliott House Inn. The entire staff is wonderful and is willing to help out anytime. As you mentioned we do not have coffee makers in the room, but coffee is available out in the courtyard as early as 6 AM, also we have someone staffed twenty four hours a day that is willing to make extra coffee or hot tea. The complimentary breakfast is great to fill your body with a little energy to go explore Charleston, however, if you are interested in a larger breakfast we have wonderful breakfast restaurants located just feet away. Lastly, the walking tour that leaves from the hotel is exceptional, led by one of our staff members, Neal. The tour is just fifteen dollars a person, and he is willing to schedule a tour anytime that he is available. Once again, thank you so much for your tremendously kind words about the inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a wonderful hotel in a lovely sorrounding. Excellent service and very romantic room. We borrowed the bicycles from the hotel and cycled around old historic Charleston. This was far better then we expected even though we had great expectations. Just lovely!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I’m glad to see that we exceeded your lofty expectations while you were staying with us. The inn prides itself on the service and quality stay of that is provided to each and every guest. There is nothing better, than hearing how much a guest truly appreciated the stay at the inn and the overall appeal of Charleston. We look forward to hearing from you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This charming B&B used to be a Charleston secret. Slightly rough but located right in the middle of the historic district, reasonable prices, and convinent parking across the street. The place is not on the main tourist streets so you have to look for it. Now, after being closed for several years for renovation, the Elliot House has reopened. So now it's not rough anymore - all updated. So why not 5 stars? Well, the room prices have almost trippled since the renovation work! It is still a nice place but, for their current room price, there are much better properties nearby.

Room Tip: Sorry - they are all small and cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you, for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. Charleston, like Queen Street, has grown significantly over the last couple of years. The culinary scene in Charleston has exploded and Queen Street not only has some of the best restaurants on the local level, but also on the international level as well. The rates at The Elliott House Inn, just like all the lodgings in the area, depended on the day of the week and the time of the year that one books a reservation. As you mentioned, all the renovations have taken away the “roughness” of The Elliott House Inn, and on that I will agree. The extensive renovations included: new mattresses, new flooring, new televisions, etc.., and though not everyone will be happy with the changes that have been made, the majority of guests have shared a sense of approval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

another wonderful stay at the Elliott House. Aside from fabulous location, nicely renovated rooms, and great service, the jacuzzi in the courtyard is great to soak your tired feet in after a long day of exploring! Wine, crackers, a foot soak, beautiful surroundings ~ Elliott House is great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your gracious comments about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. What more could you ask for: crackers, Jacuzzi, wonderful service, and wine all at your fingertips. We look forward to hosting you again for many more stays to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I spent two weeknights and two weekend nights at the Elliott House Inn in early November. The location is a dream, on Queen Street in the heart of the historic district and next to two of Charleston's best restaurants. However, this proximity is also a problem if you're in one of the (many) rooms that directly face the narrow alley dividing the Elliott House from the Husk Bar -- the patrons are noisy late into the evening, and the bar apparently gets deliveries at about 6:45 am, at which point it gets even louder -- delivery trucks park outside and wake you up. (The hotel has apparently taken steps to mute the noise in the rooms, but there's not much they can do.) Everything else about the location is fantastic, however; it's in the heart of the Historic District, King Street shopping is only a few steps away, and some of the best food in the world is available on Meeting and East Bay a block or so in the other direction.

I can't say enough about the friendliness and helpfulness of the Elliott House staff. Every interaction I had with them was positive; they demonstrated the perfect balance of Southern warmth and professional efficiency.

My room was smallish (which you have to expect with an older hotel) but charmingly appointed. The bed was comfortable, but I was a little bit surprised that this hotel still uses blankets rather than comforters, which most hotels now have adopted. There was no extra blanket (I'm sure I could have gotten one if I requested it), and since the weather was chilly while I was there, I had to keep the room warmer than I would prefer in order to sleep comfortably at night. That's a pretty minor issue, though.

My only substantive complaint with the room itself would be the complete lack of any kind of desk or workspace -- I was traveling on business and could really have used a desk. However, the wifi was both free and reliable (a rare combination in any hotel), and that helped a lot.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Elliott House Inn to couples looking for a romantic weekend getaway, though I'd advise that you bring earplugs if you want to sleep past 7:00 am. For business travelers, it's not an ideal choice but certainly would work as a backup option.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, away from the bar next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for spending the time to comment about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. The location is a dream, because you can go throughout the “Holy City” and never have to use a car. As previously mentioned, the rooms are all different not only in their size, but in the furnishing that are in each individual room. Thank you, for conveying how wonderful the staff was during your stay. I will agree with you, Charleston’s culinary scene is tremendous and per square block there are only a few places in the world that have as much to offer when it comes to quality and atmosphere. Once again, thank you for commenting about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliott House Inn

Address: 78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 25 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elliott House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.