We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elliott House Inn

Save Saved
You added Elliott House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elliott House Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
15% OFF + FREE Champagne
Ranked #37 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This facility is bed and breakfast like but not quite all the charm. Great location, next to three of the best rest. In town. Also walkig disance to all the downtown area. Room was fine and clean as well as the desk staff was super helpful and friendly. I would stay here again for the price and the location. When you see the area prices you will certainly consider this property. Be sure to visit the rest nearby, the best food.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. As you mentioned, the location and the staff are superb! The next time you find your way into Charleston, make sure that you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    71
    33
    13
    5
See reviews for
11
152
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked the Elliott House after calling our first four choices to stay in Charleston about a month before our arrival. They were all booked. I do recommend booking your hotel early for this city. With that being said, I'm so glad that the other places I called were unavailable! The location of the Elliott House is perfect- right next to Husk and a block from King Street. It's an easy walk to Magnolia's and Church Street. The inn is quaint, romantic, and renovated. It has an open air courtyard where you can choose to have your breakfast free of charge- there are 3 different breakfast options. It is not a big breakfast but will hold you over until lunch. Beware on Sunday mornings when the restaurant next door starts the leaf blower in preparation for brunch starting at 8am. . .yikes. We celebrated my birthday at the inn and they had a chilled bottle of champagne waiting in our room which was a nice touch and a fantastic surprise. The parking garage is across the street from the inn and was $20 a day. We enjoyed our one night stay here very much and would stay here again even with the morning noise.

Room Tip: 16 only has one shared wall and is away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I’m so excited that you got the opportunity to stay with us at The Elliott House Inn! The location is wonderful and room 16, like every room, is charming in its own unique way. The parking is convenient, because it is right across the street. Also, thank you for recommending us for future visits to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Elliott House Inn. It is nice to be within walking distance to most everything. Our room was on the back side, so it was quiet. The afternoon wine and cheese was a nice touch. The wine was nothing special, but it was still a nice way to start our evening out. The room was clean and quiet and that is what matters most.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for commenting about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. Every room at the inn is different from the décor to the location, some rooms face towards our magnificent courtyard, while the others overlook some of the finest restaurants in the city. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A friend of mine and I visited The Elliott House Inn for a two night stay this week and we couldn’t have been happier with this historical inn.

The location was great with a parking garage right across the street and the shopping district right around the corner. When we called, we were told that there were 3 rooms with some street noise for lower rates, and so we chose the standard rate and got a lovely room overlooking the courtyard. It was very clean and the housekeeping staff was great! (They even bring your breakfast right to your room and Monica was such a joy!)

Neal at the Front Desk was very knowledgeable and we even took his walking tour of the city which was awesome. I highly recommend taking Neal’s tour since he is right there at the inn and he brings you right back there in time for the lovely wine and cheese reception that they offer every evening.

We saw the manager (Ashley) a few times and she was so warm and welcoming to us every time we spoke. She also offered us some useful advice about where to go and eat as well. Thanks Ashley!
I would defiantly return to this charming inn for a future stay.

Room Tip: Take Neal's Walking Tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about your recent visit to The Elliott House Inn. It seems like from the review that you had the time to get to know much of the staff. Monica just like all the housekeeping staff is willing to help with any questions that you may have. Neal is a wonderful person to have at the inn because of his knowledge about the area and his willingness to help out in any way that he can. The history tour he offers cannot be beat and it is a great way to learn not only the history of the area, but to be shown alleyways that aren’t even named on the map. Once again, thank you for your kind words about the inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, California
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the Elliot House as part of our Low Country package. Very good bed. Room was nice and quiet. Parking was expensive ($20 day across the street). Pretty grounds! Breakfast was unexciting but served in your room or in the pretty courtyard. Nice restaurant next door.
(But the red wine at the evening reception was terrible). Overall, a very nice stay. Great locatioin for exploring downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your stay at the inn. The breakfast is a continental style breakfast that you can either choose to have in your room or in the courtyard. When you arrive to the inn the breakfast card is in the room, and you have three small breakfast options. The breakfast is intended to give you enough in your stomach to go explore the city but not to fill you up, our location is perfect if you are looking to find a restaurant that will serve a full breakfast. Lastly, the wine and cheese reception offered every evening is a great way for guests from all over the world to meet each other and to talk about their experiences. I’m sorry that you did not particularly care for the wine at the reception but it is served at some of the best restaurants in Charleston, and we like to offer it to our guests to show our appreciation for you choosing to stay with us. Once again, thank you for espousing how much you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Elliott House Inn and overall had a decent stay. We stayed in one of the courtyard queen rooms. Our room was very nice, but a little on the small side. We also had an a/c unit that had a fan that was about to go bad which caused it to be rather loud. We should have told the front desk earlier about it, but didn't. That's our fault.

The location could not have been any better and we walked EVERYWHERE. It made it especially nice because the weather was fantastic while we were there in mid October. The main reason I gave this property 4 stars was because of the excellent location. Pretty much everything else was average, especially considering the $$$.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. First off, I’m glad that you truly enjoyed the location of the inn, because as previously mentioned the location is superb. I’m sorry to hear that the A/C unit in your room was loud, because all of the units are a year old or less. We have someone staffed at the front desk if you have any questions or concerns about the room, because we look forward to making your stay the best it can possibly be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Recently had an early week getaway to Charleston. Enjoyed the stay at the Elliot House. Rooms have been updated recently and were very nice and clean.

The location is VERY convenient and you can walk to everything. It is basically right beside the Mills House which is a lot more costly.

We enjoyed the afternoon wine and cheese in the courtyard and the staff was friendly.

We couldn't find a special so we paid $180 ($200 with tax) which is high. But that was $40-$100 less than the other hotels in the same vicinity.

Followed the advice in s previous review and asked for a room away from the street. It was very quiet.

Overall very nice stay and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much about your nice words about the inn. As you mentioned, the price and the location cannot be beat. It sounds like location gave you the opportunity to go and explore everything that Charleston has to offer, and I’m glad your time at the inn was wonderful as well. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Elliott House Inn for future trips to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliott House Inn

Address: 78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elliott House Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 25 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elliott House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.