We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barksdale House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Barksdale House Inn to your Saves list
Barksdale House Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   27 George St., Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

As Sr. Citizens, it was initially difficult handling stairs. As soon as a first floor room became available, we were transferred with assistance by the staff, to a much more comfortable room as shown on the web. Suggestion: grab bars and/or mobility assistance would help in the bathrooms. Also, humidity causes problems, but a little glue would keep the wallpaper from peeling in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Main house, downstairs rooms, are larger, prettier, and more of what might be expected in a B&B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    139
    55
    24
    15
See reviews for
35
217
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We wanted to be in walking distance of Charleston attraction, and The Barksdale is well situated for walking and accessing the free trolley. If you want to stay in an historic home, enjoy free parking, and save money over other area accommodations, this is it. It is a B & B experience, not full scale hotel offerings. You should be self sufficient with your luggage. We made reservations in Feb. for a July stay. A week before arrival we were notified the room we had selected & confirmed by email was not available & would be changed to upstairs in the carriage house. The room was clean and comfortable. There was an unforseen problem with the air conditioning leaking from the ceiling in the hall, that called for emergency repairs. The manager could not make changes of room due to the full house for us, so we decided to change location and found them helpful and understanding.

Room Tip: I would prefer to stay in the main house for historic quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

For the price I expected a most perfect room . Seeing the imperfections and knowing what it would take to meet my standards was very disappointing . Simply using proper cleaning materials and procedures would correct the the bathroom mold on the tile or removing old caulk and replacing with new . The light fixture above the sink had electrical tape wrapped around it . Go get the collars at the store . Ceiling had water stains , get a stain killer then repaint . The mattress was way outdated and needed replacing , so uncomfortable .

Room Tip: Ask for room off of main street . I kept hearing people talking thru the night .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
I thank you so much for your suggestions, I just wish you gave them to me while you were staying with us. Since we do not have a maintenance person on our payroll, any suggestions on how I can correct a problem is welcomed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

A real great place to stay in Charleston, very nice rooms, great staff and the breakfast is a hit. Perfectly situated in the historic district in Charleston, close to the French quarters, shopping etc. I highly recommend this inn if you visiting Charleston, SC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at Barksdale for only one night while waiting to board our cruise. Next time we will plan on staying multiple nights. The staff are friendly and knowledgable, the rooms are comfortable and well appointed, breakfast was good--continental, not american breakfast. There is aparking--a real plus for Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed at the Barksdale House, before boarding our cruise-ship in Charleston. The location of this B&B can't be beat, as it is between King and Meeting Streets and 6 blocks from the Old City Market. The main house was built in the late 1700's with a more modern building across the B&B parking lot. (Yes, they do have on site parking.) Upon arriving, we were offered iced tea and homemade chocolate cake., One of the female staff offered to carry our bags to our room, which we declined. The room was nicely furnished with a comfortable four poster bed and other nice furniture. The breakfast featured fresh fruits, pastries, cereals, juice, tea and coffee. We enjoyed our experience at the Barksdale so much, we would hope to stay there on a future visit to Charleston.

Room Tip: The more modern building is away from George St. and are much quieter, then those in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colmar Manor, MD
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Staff was very attentive and responded very quickly to any request. Even though we arrived earlier than the check-in time, they accommodated us. TV screen was very small, but you don't expect to watch much TV. Our only "complaint" would be that when we asked for extra coffee packets, they brought the packets but did not bring extra creamers. It was nice to be able to leave our laptops in the room without fear of their being stolen. As many others have mentioned, almost everything you would want to see was within walking distance of the hotel. In our three-day stay, we only used our vehicle once to go to the supermarket and pick up a few necessary items.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barksdale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barksdale House Inn

Address: 27 George St., Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barksdale House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barksdale House Inn, built in 1778, is your home away while exploring the city of Charleston. Located within the historic district of downtown Charleston, we are walking distance to shopping, restaurants, tourist attractions and Market Street. This Inn offers 14 rooms with en suite bathrooms, complimentary breakfast, newspaper, wireless access and parking to get you ready for your day exploring our beautiful city of magnificent homes, gardens, and parks along with Charleston’s unique southern hospitality and history.All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barksdale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barksdale House Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barksdale House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.