We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quaint...right in the historic district...bit pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barksdale House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barksdale House Inn to your Saves list
Barksdale House Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   27 George St., Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Clean, quaint...right in the historic district...bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Found a groupon and decided to stay in the b&b for a concert in Charleston. It was a quaint but spacious room...a bit on the pricey side. The bathroom needed some updating but all in all it was nice for our first time staying in a b&b.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope the concert was fantastic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    139
    55
    24
    15
See reviews for
35
217
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melrose
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I thought this inn was a great value and a very pleasant place to stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. The decor of the Inn and it's rooms was lovely. My room was well appointed with all the items that I would need for a comfortable stay and it was clean and very quiet. Breakfast was quite nice and it was a pleasure to be able to eat outside in the little garden area. The fountain was flowing and the smell of jasmine was in the air. Location wise, it's perfect; right down town near all of the shops and restaurants. Parking behind the inn made the stay complete.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Wow! What a great review. Thank you so much for taking the time to inform others of your experience while staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This B&B is well-located in the historic district of Charleston, with parking included in what was a competitve rate for inns of this kind. Clean, quiet and comfortable. Staff were friendly and the breakfast contained some fresh fruit which could be enjoyed on the back verandah. We would be happy to return to this wonderful introduction to the South.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice review! Our porch and courtyard is a wonderful oasis to relax in during breakfast and in the evening after exploring all that our city has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Nice place. The beds were average and the breakfast was a little disappointing, but it was much cheaper than anywhere else in the area. Walking distance to most everything in downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
I am very sorry that you weren't happy with our breakfast options. We offer a continental breakfast on weekdays and a hot breakfast weekend days. Those options seem to work best for us. It sounds like you did enjoy your stay despite not liking our breakfast options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

Perfect little place for a couple who doesn't want to be smack dab in the middle of things. Close enough to downtown, but removed enough to be more affordable and secluded. Great breakfasts, clean rooms, charming and quaint decor. Patio is a gem and will be what we miss most. Rent a tandem bike for 2 at Affordabike on King St. if you can! Overall, fantastic inn- we would definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for such a great review! Your tip about Affordabike is fantastic. I am glad you found the location your liking, being a little removed from the hustle and bustle of the Market area allows our property to be a bit quieter in the evening times. Additionally, it is just a 5 block walk to the Market area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont,USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I can't a B&B with a better location in Charleston ! The staff is welcoming,friendly and professional. The secure off street parking is a big plus.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Barksdale. We have enjoyed staying at many B&B's across the United States, and always check the TA reviews before booking. I have never written a negative review before, because we have always felt that the reivews reflected our experience at previous B&B's. Unfortunately, we did not make reservations early enough for a one night stay in Charleston, so we were forced to "take what we could get", despite some concerns based on TA reviews on the Barksdale.
First, the positiives. The location is good (a little far to the North, so a bit of a walk to the Battery and most restaruants, but hubby and I are walkers, so it wasn't a big deal) and parking is free. Hot breakfast served buffet style on Saturday (my understanding is that it is cold breakfast during the week) was tasty. However, they used very small chafing trays to serve and we had to wait quite a while for refills since they appear to have only a small residential oven and they are trying to cook for up to 28 people. A friendly college student employee who offered to bring us some cheese and crackers to enjoy with our wine on the back porch.
Negatives.... where to begin ??? While the location is "decent" it is not great and is lacking the "charm" of other areas in Charleston. There is a large parking lot with a chain link fence to one side of the property, and a large modern brick rec center across from the B&B. Of more concern is that this is the lack of customer service and lack of professionalism in the management of this establishment.. by far the worst of any that we have ever visited. When we arrived, a middle aged woman was at the computer with her top unbuttoned below her bra- not leaving much to the imagination! We were early to check-in, so asked for some recommendations for tours and places to eat. She was of little assistance, and my general impression was that we were bothering her.
We returned early evening, and the younger woman greeeted us with much more "Southern hospitality". She showed us the kitchen, where she said that they kept the hair dryers and ironing board (I found this a bit strange) which appeared VERY small and in need of some rennovation. We were then shown our room (#4) which could be described the same as the kitchen. It is also directly above the kitchen, so we were awakened before 7 am by loud voices and clanging pans in the kitchen. We have stayed in historic inns before, so the wide spaces between wood floors, which can be difficult to clean were not of a concern. However, the dust ruffle was ripped and the curtains were stained. The bathroom barely fit one person, let alone two and was disgusting. Cracked tile, tile coming off the wall. Nothing "charming" about this bathroom... ugly delta faucets and a prefab plastic shower/tub. The room itself was so small that I hit my knee twice on the sharp corner of the footboard while walking around the bed to the bathroom.
After getting settled in our room, we came back downstairs to enjoy a bottle of wine on the porch before our dinner reservations. Both the older woman and younger woman who worked at the Barksdale were also sitting on the porch, along with a college friend of the younger woman who had two puppies. Neither employee asked if they could help us with anything, until later when the college student's friend left and she brought us some cheese and crackers. Nor did they and the visitor leave the porch, when it was obvious that two paying customers desired to enjoy some quiet time together. From here things, just got worse. The young woman with the puppies left and the older woman began getting calls on her cell phone. Let it suffice to say that her voice was not of a sweet soft, southern belle, as she dealt with some type of problem. She continued to make and receive multiple phone calls on the porch, rather than going inside to the office, in a loud and annoyed voice.
The young college woman also had another friend visiting when we left for our dinner reservation.
Although a very sweet young woman, as a paying customer of the inn, her friends visiting mad us feel more like we were staying at a sorority house than a romantic inn.
Very disppointing overall.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
I apologize for the experience you had while staying with us. I am saddened to see this review and it being the first I have heard of the issues. I rely on my guests informing me of both the positive and negative so I am able to address any situations while they are happening. I thank you for the information regarding your room, please know that I have addressed the issues noted. I hope the less than comfortable stay with us did not hinder the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barksdale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barksdale House Inn

Address: 27 George St., Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barksdale House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barksdale House Inn, built in 1778, is your home away while exploring the city of Charleston. Located within the historic district of downtown Charleston, we are walking distance to shopping, restaurants, tourist attractions and Market Street. This Inn offers 14 rooms with en suite bathrooms, complimentary breakfast, newspaper, wireless access and parking to get you ready for your day exploring our beautiful city of magnificent homes, gardens, and parks along with Charleston’s unique southern hospitality and history.All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barksdale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barksdale House Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barksdale House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.