We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT place - will be back!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barksdale House Inn

Save Saved
You added Barksdale House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barksdale House Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   27 George St., Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 44 Charleston B&B and Inns
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT place - will be back!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Fiancee and I wanted to get away for a couple of days after Christmas so we decided to head down to Charleston for a couple of days.

Had originally booked a chain hotel until I came across this place - looked nice so I booked it and cancelled at the chain - best decision I ever made!

Reserved room 11 in the Carriage House and arrived a little early on 12/28 Room wasn't ready so we headed up to the Hominy Grill for a late lunch (we highly recommend it!) and a little sightseeing - this wasn't our first time in Charleston so we actually spent the next few hours shopping on King Street.

Returned around 5:30 and Morgan registered us - very easy check in. Morgan was very pleasant and answered all of our questions without hesitation - even got a few PB cookies, lol! The inn was still decorated for the holidays and added to the ambiance

The room was very nice - hardwood floors, four poster bed and plenty of antique furniture. The only downside we noticed were a few dust bunnies and what appeared to be some mold on the shower tile grout. Otherwise the room was beautiful and what we expected in our first stay in a historic inn/B&B. Dinner was at 82 Queen - a 15 minute walk like Morgan said and another highly recommended restaurant. Slept very well - rooms were quieter than we expected and extra pillows found in the armoire.

Had requested breakfast be brought to us and it arrived on a silver platter a couple of minutes before our reqauested time. Then off to Boone Plantation and the Battery. More shopping on King St and then to Pearlz Oyster Bar for dinner.

All in all, it was an extremely pleasant stay. The location could NOT be beat - literally footsteps to King Street! Yes, the views out of the window were of the CoC's fitness center and a parking lot but that was not the Inn's fault and we felt safe in our rooms and walking the streets even late at night. Free access to the kitchen and all its amenities was very nice.

Check out was even easier than the check in and we agreed that we will be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Wow, what a great review. I am thrilled that you clearly enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will come back to visit in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    130
    50
    23
    11
See reviews for
35
198
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Our room was large and clean. It looked across the adjoining carpark, little did we know as it started to fill up there was a basketball game scheduled for that night. As it was a late game, the noise after the game kept us awake until late. People were shouting and yahooing along the street and in the carpark. I think some guests at the bed and breakfast attended the game as well as we heard them come home too. The noise factor was the only negative factor of our stay. Breakfast was really nice, lovely fresh fruit was a welcome inclusion. Free parking and close to all this great town has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
I am very sorry that you were uncomfortable with the proximity to the College of Charleston's Basketball Arena when the ball game let out. We very rarely have a late game, so this usually is not an issue. I hope that the rest of your stay was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Very nice place to stay when visiting Charleston. The location doesn't get any better. Right in the heart of town, yet on a nice side street so it's quiet. Great rooms and friendly staff. If you don't like bigger hotels, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you have a fantastic time while visiting Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

The family (husband, wife, 2 teen girls) stayed here for one night in late July, taking a break from driving home. My daughters and I had also stayed here a few years before and wanted to come back because we enjoyed it so much the first time. The whole house is decorated in antique furniture, including the lighting, so it can be a little dark in the room and the bathroom. The bathroom was a little cramped, but it is an old house. We stayed in an upstairs room with 2 queen beds and were quite comfortable. It's not quite like "the hotel in The Shining" like my daughters said, but after the ghost tour we went on, I could see their point.

The owners/staff were very nice. You have use of the refrigerator in the kitchen if you need it. You are only a few blocks from all the shopping, restaurants, tours and the University. Try the falafel place on George Street (left when leaving the house). The breakfast was very good.

I will be staying here next time I visit Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Sounds like we made a loyal guest! I thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review for us. Hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

My Hubby and I were in Charleston for a family wedding. The Barksdale House Inn was a terrific example of Southern Hospitality. The staff was warm and friendly. Pam's breakfasts were wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which faced George St. It was large and airy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Weddings are so much fun! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us; a happy guest means we achieved our #1 goal - outstanding guest experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We would definitely stay at the Barksdale House Inn again. The house was beautiful, our room was very nice and also large, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our breakfast on the back porch in the morning. We were able to easily walk to wherever our day's adventure took us. The staff gave us some excellent suggestions of places to visit. We especially enjoyed the cookies that Morgan baked especially for our picnic dinner on the Schooner Pride.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
I'm so glad to hear that Morgan went above and beyond to help make your stay even better. We determine if we are achieving our goals when a guest's expectation is met and surpassed. Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I've been to Charleston a number of times, but could not get into any of our usually places, so I came across the Barksdale House Inn. We were in the city for a campus visit to College of Charleston and the Inn looked close on the map, so we booked it for the night. It was excellent. It was clean, the room was fresh (and we even got the front room with a great view which was a bonus). The staff was very pleasant, answered all my questions as well as the other guests. The breakfast was everything we needed..baked goods, fresh coffee, juice, fruit, various cereals, waffles, etc. The back porch was a great place to have breakfast and when we had arrived the night before, many of the guests were having wine on the porch!! It was less than a 5 min walk to the campus and I could park at the Inn as well during our campus visit AFTER we checked out. We also were able to walk to the Market in about 8 minutes! That was a very nice bonus as well. Even being on the 1st floor in the front (George St), the voice was not an issue from inside or out. I would stay again and recommend it!!

Room Tip: Book early..I think it could be a popular place for people returning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank goodness your usual places to stay were book, so you could find out about us! I am thrilled that you gave us a chance and were pleased. We love our CofC parents!!!!!! Hope to see you over the next 4 years if your child decides to go to our fantastic school.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barksdale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barksdale House Inn

Address: 27 George St., Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barksdale House Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barksdale House Inn, built in 1778, is your home away while exploring the city of Charleston. Located within the historic district of downtown Charleston, we are walking distance to shopping, restaurants, tourist attractions and Market Street. This Inn offers 14 rooms with en suite bathrooms, complimentary breakfast, newspaper, wireless access and parking to get you ready for your day exploring our beautiful city of magnificent homes, gardens, and parks along with Charleston’s unique southern hospitality and history.All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Barksdale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barksdale House Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barksdale House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.