We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashley Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ashley Inn to your Saves list
Ashley Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   201 Ashley Ave., Charleston, SC 29403   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Charming and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed in room one for one night. It was just a quick over-nighter for wedding, but I would definitely stay at the Ashley Inn again. It's charming, in a nice neighborhood, and very convenient to the historic district. My bed was really comfy and it had soft, high thread count sheets.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are probably a little quieter because they're away from the lobby. Room one i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    68
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
27
129
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in room # 6 for four nights in Feb 2013. It's a very pretty house with a big front porch (although the weather was unfortunately a bit cold for sitting outside), and a nice common room.

For us what made the difference was the customer service. The mattress in our room was completely shot (in fairness, it should have been replaced a long time ago). When I complained, they didn't offer any excuses or hem and haw about it - they got right on the phone and ordered a new mattress. It was there that afternoon. Normally I would expect to be told "we'll see what we can do" or some other platitude to avoid addressing the problem. They just took care of it.

The other example is perhaps even better b/c it didn't involve any obligation on their part. I love to take pictures, and wanted to download them to my computer b/c we had a 10 hour train ride coming up. I didn't bring the right cable, so I asked if I could borrow one; they didn't have one in the house, but a woman on the staff offered to bring in her personal one the next morning (a very nice offer). Unfortunately she forgot to bring it in, but then she got on the phone and had a friend bring it over from her apartment! That was very impressive, as obviously the B&B is under no obligation to provide computer cables. Not to mention she asked her friend to get up at 8:30 am on a Sunday morning to do it. It was very generous all around.

I just got the sense that they were interested in us as people and wanted us to enjoy our stay. It made for a very relaxing stay knowing that they had our back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was really quite a lovely home. Beautiful furnishings and Nice space in all of the rooms. The place was very clean although we did have a few stains on our furniture. Breakfast was excellent and the day we had to leave, they packed us a to go continental breakfast since we couldn't stay for the full meal. The parking lot is off street although you can not fit any large vehicles in it. My Honda CR-V just barely fit. All of the staff were pleasant and helpful. This B&B is not really within walking distance of the market, historic homes, and restaurants so you will need to drive or bike to get to those. It is located right across the street from the medical school.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are very private but be prepared to climb steep stairs as they are in the finished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

i travel frequently and am pretty flexible but i cannot believe the room i was given can even be rented as a room. barely enough room for bed, no table or anything else. that in addition to the windows which provide little to no barrier to the noise outside will make it an impossible night.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleyinnbb, Manager at Ashley Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I'm sorry you were unhappy with the size of room 2. This room was booked for you by an Administrator at the Medical University and was a direct billing to them. It is our most economically priced room and was probably chosen for budgetary reasons. It is a very cute room and the majority of our guests that book it are very content. All of our other rooms are quite a bit larger but are also more expensive. In the future, you may want to mention your room requirements to the person responsible for making the reservation for you so this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This inn is a great value for Charleston, it is in a good location, we had a room with doors going onto the porch, sat out here even in Feb in rocking chairs having a wine. Our host was a walking history of Charleston he was wonderful. We drove from here on one street parked in town Battery Park near all the mansions, free parking, walked from there to downtown. Then took Ashley Ave directly back to our inn very easy. There also is a free trolly you can catch on the next block from the inn. The breakfast was excellent. A good location only have a wine before bed since they are located near hospital and often hear sirens, but I would overlook this. You are making a mistake if you don't book here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was a great place to stay while visiting SC. The owner was very polite and friendly. He offered us all the information we needed to get around to see Charleston. This is a beautiful city with a lot on great places to see. The food at the bed and breakfast was very good and the people that work there are very friendly. We took a buggy ride through town and the driver was great. He took us places that our bus tour didn't and explained everything. This was a great way to see Charleston. Can't wait to go back and see more of the beautiful city.

Room Tip: upper corner room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

From the complimentary bicycles to the ham & egg crepes for breakfast, we had a splendid stay at the Ashley Inn. All of the staff were very personable and delightful. The house is a perfect example of a typical, old Charleston home. Very clean. No noise. Great location. Cheers to the Ashley Inn--you guys are lovely!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Inn

Address: 201 Ashley Ave., Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful historic inn (C. 1832) Located in the residential historic area of the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ashley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.