We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Glass Onion

The Glass Onion
1219 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7826 (Parkwood / Farmfield)
843-225-1717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 759 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Organic, Family Fare, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Neighborhood: Parkwood / Farmfield
Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Charleston is an incredible food town and Sarah O’Kelley and her team at the Glass Onion are as good as it gets. Simple, way down home and incredibly reasonable pricing. We had the braised collards, cheese grits, deviled eggs, unbelievably good chicken liver pate and a crispy pig ear poor boy. Sarah was working the dining room and was very generous with her time. So friendly and passionate about what she is doing. On our recent trip to Charleston we ate in a lot of good places, all were more expensive but none delivered better value and execution. Top that with their commitment to their heritage cooking and you have a must do! Outside the heart of Charleston but so worth the short car ride! Thank you Sarah and thank you to the team at Glass Onion, we are telling everyone about you and we will be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    100
    43
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weaverville, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We love the Glass Onion !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Glass Onion has excellent, fresh, delicious food and very friendly, helpful service - every single time we eat there! Don't miss it!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not going back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have tried The Glass Onion twice. Never again! The only thing thing that was "overstuffed" about the tuna salad sandwich (that was how it was advertised on the menu board,) was the price; it had very little tuna salad, MUCH too much mayo, one leaf of bibb lettuce and the most thinly sliced tomato I have ever seen-on a large toasted white bread bun. Not enough sandwich for it's $10.00 price. I usually only share good reviews but sorry, this value was poor twice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unassuming building, Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Got this one from Diners, Drive-Inns, and Dives. Thanks, Guy Fieri. The building is just a plain store front, but the food was anything but plain. If you're wanting just good ole southern cooking, this is your place. I had pork shoulder on a bed of mashed potatoes with creamed collard greens. BEST greens I've ever eaten. My wife had corned beef brisket cured in- house with cabbage and mashed potatoes! Staff is very knowledgable about the menu and quick to share their favorites if asked. I finished with a white layer cake iced with WHITE CHOCOLATE buttercream!! I made room for every bite!! Would DEFINITELY go back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“good choice on way from the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stopped for a quick bite after leaving charleston airport before driving to savannah. Had the quail fried in buttermilk batter and also shrimp with cheesy grits and andoille sausage and loved it.Kind of an upscale place frequented by locals.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glass Onion also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Glass Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glass Onion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.