We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toast Restaurant

Toast Restaurant
155 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-3127
8435340043
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

everyone was great, friendly and "on the ball" Coffee was always being refilled. conversation with the staff was very helpful, giving us great ideas of what to see and directions as to where to go. food and coffee were very good. This is where we ate EVERY breakfast.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,052
    671
    254
    120
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Family Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have reviewed this restaurant in the past, but have visited at least a half-dozen times since so I feel I short re-review is acceptable.

I just have to say that since my previous review, I have introduced family and friends to breakfast here and have made some true believers.

This is now a must visit spot on our Charleston road map. On my short visit to Charleston last week with my family from up North, a visit to Toast was once again a much anticipated event. After introducing my sister to this restaurant a few years ago, she was insistent on returning before returning to Spartanburg from Charleston last Thursday.

I suggested we try a new breakfast place this time (though I love Toast, I have been there enough times that I felt trying something new wouldn't hurt) but the family was not having that. So Toast it was!

The service and food were excellent as usual and we were fortunate this time to not have to wait for a table (even though we had a rather large group). The server seemed a bit new, but he did a fine job and we made things a bit easy on him since most of our party ordered the Eggs Meeting Street. As far as I'm concerned, there is no need for a menu. I was taken with this restaurant because of that menu item (though I have tried the stuffed french toast and will say that this is pretty amazing too). I always order the same thing and it is always delicious. It's unique: a crab cake, a fried green tomato, a poached egg on top and a remoulade sauce over it all.

Most or all of their dishes are served with a choice of home fries or grits and a biscuit. In other places in the South, I've heard a biscuit like this referred to as a "cat-head" biscuit due to being the size of a cat's head. Though not referred to as such, theirs are definitely "cat-head" biscuits. For the hungry traveler like myself, I definitely recommend ordering a side of their sausage gravy to turn this into some biscuits and gravy for a small up-charge.

Located right in the heart of downtown Charleston, this place is a gem. It's a must visit. The food will speak for itself. As typical breakfast goes, it's not cheap but I would say that it's worth every penny. This is not your typical eggs and pancakes breakfast nook. Factor the quality in with the location and you will see it as a great value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Casual lunch at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Simple food, nice environment, more than reasonably priced. Great location and our waitress, Bright, made our day. Will come back for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Toast" June 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

GREAT little restaurant, easy to find and good food. After a day of walking and sightseeing we were looking for a place to get something to eat and drink and took a chance on Toast. Wow are we glad we did. The best meatloaf my wife and I have ever tasted and the Tea basted chicken was also good. We recommend the sangria to drink and by all means ask for Sierra. Sierra is a breath of fresh air and very, very attentive with a great sense of humor. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I'm going to start out by saying that this was one of the best restaurants I've ever been too! It was yet another tripadvisor find, and as usual I was not disappointed. We got there and our waitress greeted us with so much enthusiasm I almost flew out the window, she told us the drink choices and provided us with some of her personal favorites, including the fried green tomato BLT. I got the FGTBLT, and it was the best thing I've ever had. The service was fantastic, the location (Near king street shopping district) was very nice, and the food was high class but cheap! Did I mentions cheap? For such amazing food I was so surprised it was so affordable! I don't live in Charleston, but if I did I know where i'd eat!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toast Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Toast Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toast Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.