We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfasted there 4 out of 4 Days, Enough Already” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toast Restaurant

Toast Restaurant
155 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-3127
8435340043
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Breakfasted there 4 out of 4 Days, Enough Already”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a great place for breakfast in spite or because of the silly hats, over the top friendly staff, atmosphere and terrific food.The General Manager Sharon is from Jersey so beware, sometimes her sense of humor gets her in trouble. Then there's Elton John "Mary", and Beth, aka Snooki, and the other Beth, the Sargent of the Bar Service. Both Beth's will now receive some kind of perk for my mentioning their names. You can expect a 10 to 20 minute wait but it's worth it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,070
    677
    254
    120
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florence, sc
1 review
“Sharon Homann makes this place great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I was a bit put off being told I could not be seated without my complete party...and then told to wait outside in the freezing morning weather. Along came Sharon who offered a friendly greeting and coffee to ease our pain. Our food was delicious and our waitress fine, but talking with Sharon during our meal was a delight. The personal touch always makes the difference. This lady is a gem!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
1 review
“Mary is the bomb at Toast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The last morning of our visit to Charleston included breakfast at Toast...an experience you cannot miss! Be sure to ask for Mary--she was awesome and the food there is amazing!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
1 review
“Great food great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Food was great prices great service was great. Snooker was the best waitress we've had the whole trip here. It was a great experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Must visit every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

This is our second year coming to Charleston during Thanksgiving and we were happy to hear that Toast was open and serving a Thanksgiving meal. It was an amazing meal, which wasn't a surprise since we had such amazing dishes last year as well. Our waitress, Beth, was super friendly and made sure our drinks stayed full and food was good. The GM, Sharon, was a delight to talk with. We had ordered pumpkin pie as our dessert and when Sharon saw that we hadn't eaten much of it (it had a tad too much spice for our preferences), she offered to switch our desserts to red velvet cake, which wasn't an option on the Thanksgiving menu. All the staff are amazing and the food is the best. It is on the top of our list when we come and we highly recommend it to everyone we talk to.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toast Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Toast Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toast Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.