We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Plantation home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drayton Hall

Drayton Hall
3380 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414
843-769-2600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 96 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Georgian-Palladian gem, built in 1738, is America's oldest plantation house open to the public.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Plantation home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The great thing about Drayton Hall is that it has been preserved and not renovated. You get to see the bare bones of this remarkable home just as the family left it. It's sort of like walking into a time capsule. I really enjoyed this wonderful tour. Take time to walk down to the river and also pay a visit to the African burial grounds.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you! We are so glad that you enjoyed your house tour and seeing one of the oldest documented African American cemeteries in the nation. Drayton Hall is a Georgian Palladian masterpiece and its builder, John Drayton, designed the house to be perfectly balanced and symmetrical according to the fundamentals of classical architecture. Many guests walk away from the house feeling like they have traveled back into history because of how well the site has been preserved. This method of preservation allows us to interpret three centuries of American history within a single dwelling. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    256
    75
    27
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Beautiful Georgian house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Drayton Hall bills itself as "authentic." This means that there is only the house itself, no furnishings, no modern amenities (like heat or AC). But what a house! Beautifully proportioned and built to withstand everything from the Union Army to hurricane Hugo. Definitely worth a visit if you are doing the Ashley River plantation circuit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for visiting Drayton Hall! Drayton Hall remains the oldest unrestored plantation house that is open to the public. At 276 years old, the house has survived earthquakes, hurricanes, the Revolutionary War, and the American Civil War. Please come back and visit again! We've always got new and exciting things to share with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardville, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Drayton Hall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Just wonderful. This plantation allows you to stretch your imagination and step back in time. Our tour guide was interesting, knowledgeable and more than willing to share anything she could think of. Fun, fascinating and more then I expected. If you want to see what it looked like in the 1700-1800's this is the place to visit. Three walks. We did the Marsh walk and the African American cemetery visit. Recommend both. There are stairs but other than that this tour is for everyone.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Drayton Hall and hope that you'll come back to see us very soon. We agree, walking through the house is like stepping back in time. It sounds like you had a great time on the house tour and walking the grounds. Next time you visit make sure to check out our program Connections: from Africa to America.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson Station, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A preserved piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Drayton Hall tour has 2 parts: the first part takes place in the library building adjacent to the gift shop. During this conversation with a tour guide, you will learn how rice (principle crop of this once-plantation) is grown and about the history of slavery in the Charleston area. Following this conversation, you will be taken on a guided tour of the preserved Drayton Hall house. The house is not staged with any furniture, the interior has not been restored, and all of the rooms in the house are empty. The preservation of the house's interior in its original state gives you a sense of what this house was like in its heyday. Your imagination fills in the details of the house's interior instead of looking at period furniture reproductions. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided quite a bit of history of the house, family, and plantation life.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for visiting Drayton Hall! We are so glad that you enjoyed the guided house tour and Connections program. Each guide researches a particular aspect of Drayton Hall history and focuses their tour accordingly. Because of this, no two tours at Drayton Hall are ever alike. We offer the Connections program three times daily. It’s an interactive experience that details what the lives of African Americans were like from Africa to the Americas, Drayton Hall, and beyond. If you read other reviews, it is the highlight of many visitors’ trip to the site. Please come back and visit us again soon, and thanks for recommending Drayton Hall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“olde south plantation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Quite amazing to see a plantation that has stayed in the family all these years.
Even more impressive is it has not been converted to electricity, etc.
Pretty close to what is was like when first built.
Coolest feature are the doors to nowhere. To keep the symmetry of the rooms, doors are on walls with brick wall behind it. I had never seen this before.
Like out of a mystery movie when the star says " they took me in here", opens the door and tada, a wall.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you! It is always great to hear from guests who appreciate Drayton Hall’s preservation method. Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drayton Hall also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Drayton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drayton Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.