We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drayton Hall

Drayton Hall
3380 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414
+1 843-769-2600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 219 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Circa 1738, Drayton Hall is the oldest unrestored plantation house in America still open to the public.
Cedar Falls
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is the first plantation I have been to, and I was definitely not disappointed! The grounds and house are beautiful, and our tour guide was very knowledgable - really gave you a feel for what life was like at that time . . . You come away with a new appreciation for the preservation of sites like this. I would highly recommend a visit to Drayton Hall to anyone!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing Drayton Hall for your first plantation visit! It sounds like you had a wonderful time. Please make sure to visit us again the next time you are in Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    286
    86
    32
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
232 attraction reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
“Authentic - with no bells and whistles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

True as is house to visit, not restored but preserved as is. Our guide Peggy was great at delivering all the info about this family treasure. From an architectural perspective and a woodworking one as well, this is a must see/do in Charleston.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you! We will pass your kind words along to Peggy, who has been a wonderful historic house interpreter for many years now at Drayton Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Original and very informative....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We chose this tour based on previous reviews and it was well worth the press. We started with a retrospective on slavery, which was done by Peggy, that gave us some insight into slavery that you may not find in the standard history books. This segment was offered as a continuance of a service that a gentleman who was a descendant of slaves that worked the grounds generations before and who lived on the plantation as a young child and later became a caretaker. Peggy was very knowledgeable and took time to answer any questions. Our guide, Tara, was the type of guide that hoped you get: knowledgable and enthusiastic. We had a small group which allowed her to go into great detail when answering any questions we had. That's when her enthusiasm really showed, which was quite nice. The fact that such a great deal of this home/area is preserved and not restored takes away from the "flash", but adds SO much to the authenticity. I will take that over a reproduction any day.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your house tour with Tara and the Connections program with Peggy. Each guide here at Drayton Hall spends months researching the site's history before they give public tours. Many guides choose a specific subject of Drayton Hall history and develop their own tour around their area of interest. It is always encouraging for us to hear positive reviews on our preservation philosophy. We hope you will come back for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The Premiere Southern Mansion Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a National Trust site and with good reason. The Georgian architecture is pristine. The preservation here is meticulous and our guide was excellent. because there are no textiles, furnishings or artwork, photography is allowed. If you are interested in architecture, architectural detail or decorative crafts this is a great place to see and record excellent examples.

I must mention the gift shop, which has many attractive items and an excellent selection of books.

If you have an interest in antebellum southern architecture this is an excellent example. Nearby Magnolia Plantation is an 1890s home that the owner added plexiglass columns to in the 90s to make it like Tara. Middleton is an authentic site, but greatly damaged and compromised.

There are two self-guided walks. I only took the short river walk. There is no food here and no restaurants nearby. So pack a picnic lunch to take. advantage of all there is on offer here

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Wow! Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your guided tour of the house and a visit to our museum shop. Please visit us again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A "must see" Charleston plantation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was the first plantation that we visited in Charleston, and it set the bar high! Wonderful tour guides -- plan on doing the "Connections" program as well as the house tour. We also did the DVD tour of the grounds, which was beautifully presented.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you! We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful day experiencing the historic house, landscape, and the Connections program. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drayton Hall also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Drayton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drayton Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.