We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice piece of history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drayton Hall

Drayton Hall
3380 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414
843-769-2600
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #12 of 103 attractions in Charleston
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This Georgian-Palladian gem, built in 1738, is America's oldest plantation house open to the public.
Milltown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Drayton name is all over Charleston. Start here for a view of part of their history. The introduction outside the gift shop and the tour of the house are worth the trip.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for coming to visit! We're so glad you enjoyed your time here and hope you come back soon. There is always something new to learn at Drayton Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    199
    61
    22
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Antebellum mansion.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Everything on this tour was done perfectly. Our tour guide knew his history and the house. If you are looking for a restoration w/furniture and artifacts, this isn't the place to go. It is being maintained as an historical sight and proved to be very interesting. We especially like the privy! The lawns are beautiful and it is nice to stroll around down to the river. Family history was enthralling.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are so glad you had a wonderful time at Drayton Hall and were so enthralled with the history of the site. Please come back and spend some more time here, there are always new and exciting things being uncovered that we love to share with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tour is better than expected.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The person who led the one-hour tour was excellent. She spoke well and was clearly extremely knowledgeable about the property and its history. It was better than expected and we are very happy we took it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your time here and appreciated our tour guides. Every single one of them is impressive in their own unique way and they are part of the reason people keep coming back to Drayton Hall. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Truth”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you visit Drayton Hall basically the admission includes a tour of the main house and a small number of exhibits (poster boards on easels)the extolling the importance of the Drayton family. For a well researched history of the Drayton family please see "William Henry Drayton" by Keith Krawczynski. Drayton Hall currently lacks a visitors facility. Slavery is presented through "The African Connections" located outdoors near the gift shop. For those interested in either the history of slavery in the South Carolina Low Country or the landscapes and gardens, I recommend Magnolia or Middleton Place (Both located a short distance from Drayton Hall ).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We regret that you were dissatisfied with your experience and found little to enjoy at Drayton Hall, a National Historic Landmark. Since opening to the public in 1974, Drayton Hall has been celebrated for its iconic architecture, house tour, historic landscape with nature walks and self-guided tour on DVD, 1790s African-American cemetery and interactive history program, museum shop, and more. "Connections: From Africa to America," is a 45-minute program offered three times a day that uses maps, historic documents, and artifacts to trace the story of Africans from Africa to the new world, through slavery, emancipation, and into the 20th century, and to connect visitors with the site’s African American Cemetery, one of the oldest documented African-American cemeteries in the nation still in use. Visitors to this sacred place walk through a memorial arch and discover interpretive panels and brochures about the community that once existed here. Drayton Hall always strives to tell a more complete story of its 275-year-history and of its people, both enslaved and free, in order to provide our visitors with an accurate and compelling portrait of life on a Lowcountry plantation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“History At Its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The plantation house and grounds have been meticulously preserved, but not restored. Different from most historical sites and a treat. Stroll down to the banks of the Ashley river and see where the barges took the cotton and indigo to Charleston and then to sea.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your time at Drayton Hall. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drayton Hall also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Drayton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drayton Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.