We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antebellum mansion.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drayton Hall

Drayton Hall
3380 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414
843-769-2600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 106 attractions in Charleston
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This Georgian-Palladian gem, built in 1738, is America's oldest plantation house open to the public.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Antebellum mansion.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Everything on this tour was done perfectly. Our tour guide knew his history and the house. If you are looking for a restoration w/furniture and artifacts, this isn't the place to go. It is being maintained as an historical sight and proved to be very interesting. We especially like the privy! The lawns are beautiful and it is nice to stroll around down to the river. Family history was enthralling.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are so glad you had a wonderful time at Drayton Hall and were so enthralled with the history of the site. Please come back and spend some more time here, there are always new and exciting things being uncovered that we love to share with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    228
    65
    24
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tour is better than expected.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The person who led the one-hour tour was excellent. She spoke well and was clearly extremely knowledgeable about the property and its history. It was better than expected and we are very happy we took it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your time here and appreciated our tour guides. Every single one of them is impressive in their own unique way and they are part of the reason people keep coming back to Drayton Hall. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Truth”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you visit Drayton Hall basically the admission includes a tour of the main house and a small number of exhibits (poster boards on easels)the extolling the importance of the Drayton family. For a well researched history of the Drayton family please see "William Henry Drayton" by Keith Krawczynski. Drayton Hall currently lacks a visitors facility. Slavery is presented through "The African Connections" located outdoors near the gift shop. For those interested in either the history of slavery in the South Carolina Low Country or the landscapes and gardens, I recommend Magnolia or Middleton Place (Both located a short distance from Drayton Hall ).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We regret that you were dissatisfied with your experience and found little to enjoy at Drayton Hall, a National Historic Landmark. Since opening to the public in 1974, Drayton Hall has been celebrated for its iconic architecture, house tour, historic landscape with nature walks and self-guided tour on DVD, 1790s African-American cemetery and interactive history program, museum shop, and more. "Connections: From Africa to America," is a 45-minute program offered three times a day that uses maps, historic documents, and artifacts to trace the story of Africans from Africa to the new world, through slavery, emancipation, and into the 20th century, and to connect visitors with the site’s African American Cemetery, one of the oldest documented African-American cemeteries in the nation still in use. Visitors to this sacred place walk through a memorial arch and discover interpretive panels and brochures about the community that once existed here. Drayton Hall always strives to tell a more complete story of its 275-year-history and of its people, both enslaved and free, in order to provide our visitors with an accurate and compelling portrait of life on a Lowcountry plantation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“History At Its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The plantation house and grounds have been meticulously preserved, but not restored. Different from most historical sites and a treat. Stroll down to the banks of the Ashley river and see where the barges took the cotton and indigo to Charleston and then to sea.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your time at Drayton Hall. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting Piece of History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The uniqueness of Drayton Hall lies in the fact that the house itself is about 275 years old and -- in all that time -- it's never been significantly altered or modernized. As cliched as it may sound, it really is like going back into time. The house tour (about 45 minutes) is very informative and stresses the mission of preservation of the structure rather than restoration. The house is not furnished, resulting in a real "bare bones" kind of feel inside. The formal balanced Georgian architecture is really beautiful and inside there are lovely moldings, columns, capitals, etc. Without the distractions of interior furnishings, you can really appreciate the fine details.

The property is lovely with a wonderful Ashley River view, but don't come here expecting formal gardens because there are none. There is, however, a not-too-long marsh walk with a brochure that explains points-of-interest along the way. There is also an African-American cemetery on the property. I've now visited all three historic plantations on the Ashley River and they are each worth seeing for their own unique flavor. There are lots of picnic spots on the Drayton Hall grounds if you'd like to bring a lunch and stay a bit longer.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your time here at Drayton Hall and enjoyed our unique architecture and preservation philosophy. We are always discovering new and exciting things that we love to share with our guests, so please come back and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drayton Hall also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Drayton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drayton Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Drayton Hall to your Saves list