We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Plantation & Gardens

Magnolia Plantation & Gardens
3550 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414
+1 800-367-3517
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 214 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: South Carolina's Most Visited Plantation and Gardens. National Registry of Historic Places. Ancient Oak Avenue. Tours full of History. World Famous Gardens of the 19th Century "Romantic Style". Selected by Travel + Leisure (2014) as the only South Carolina garden deemed one of "America's Most Beautiful Gardens". Reconstruction Period Plantation Home Tour. Award Winning Slave Cabin Tour. Very popular Nature-Train Tour. Rice Field Boat Tour. Family Oriented. Petting Zoo and Nature Center. Audubon Swamp Self-Guided Tour. Amazing Nesting Rookery. If you have only one Plantation to see, don't miss us!
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I entered review under magnolia. Plantation with charleston tours. Alice was great tour guide. A lot of walking. Kids would enjoy nature tram.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,017
    692
    275
    80
    48
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Felton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful glimpse into American plantations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We booked our tour at tourist information in Charleston. Our guide was really well informed. She was excited to share her knowledge about the gardens, curiosities, and fmailies who have called this beautiful real estate home.
The docent at the plantation house was very knowledgable. She was inviting and never rushed you throught the house.
Overall, I would highly reccomend a visit to Magnolia Plantation. The guided tour was great but, I would have liked to have been able to spend more time on the grounds.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent but little pricey for what you get”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It's an interesting historical place and quite beautiful. But, I find the price a little steep for what you get...and the only reason I can't give it 5 stars.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Go there for the grounds! :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The plantation house itself was an average one and didn't actually look quite like an impressive, imposing antebellum plantation house like Shirley Plantation house that I've been to in Virginia, for example. But, the grounds were ABSOLUTELY phenomenal! After coming through an entry lane lined with oak trees on both sides, there was a big green-grassed area in front of the main house with ponys and peacocks wandering in it and beautiful yellow flowers and there was a nice rest area with a restaurant there as well. The REAL beauty of the place, though, was at the back and left side of the house (facing the house) with flower gardens, quaint and charming bridges, statues, and there was also a big wooden boat there that had carried rice bags up or down the Ashley River back in the days since Magnolia in those days was a rice plantation. And, what's totally worth doing while you're there is their "nature train" that will take you to the Audubon swamp area just a little further from the house where you'll see alligators (some resting on the ramps!), blue herons, etc. Also saw along the way on the train were slave cabins (little neat one-storey ones) and ancient oak trees (ancient as in 500 or a thousand years old!). There's also a boat tour which I can't comment on since I didn't do it, but it sure must be nice being on the Ashley River on that boat since the view of the river from the banks where the plantation is was quite beautiful and peaceful :).

I went there on a tour bus (Charleston Finest Historic Tours was the one I used, I'm sure there are others too) from Charleston Visitors Center on Meeting St. in downtown Charleston. Was a great tour, $50 was totally worth it with the to/from transportation (cabs in Charleston I found them pretty expensive!), admission and also the nature train included, and above all an outstanding driver/tour guide, thank you Charleston Finest and also the train driver who narrated the swamp :).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Magnolia Plantation Garden Tour and Swamp Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We visited Magnolia plantation to see the gardens and the swamp. They were located about half an hour from our hotel and really easy to find.

We had mixed reviews on our visit. The petting zoo was not good. My husband about knocked himself out by hitting his head on the snake cage roof. He was bleeding profusely for a while there and the staff was pretty oblivious. Because we had already paid he wanted to stay and walk the gardens I had wanted to see. He is a tough sweetheart!

The gardens were beautiful but not well marked. The map we were given did not have markings on the trail. So we pretty much wandered to see what was around the next bend. You were not lost, you just had no idea where you were going to end up. The flowers were pretty and I would love to visit in early spring.

We also purchased the swamp tour, this is something I would skip next time. I thought we would see more wildlife but basically were dodging bikers on the trail. So I would save my money and skip the swamp. We saw 1 bigger gator, birds and a couple of turtles.

So all in all I am not sure I would visit again. The flowers were pretty but it would have to be early spring before I would come back again. Some path markers would go a long way to helping the garden experience.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Plantation & Gardens also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Magnolia Plantation & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Plantation & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.