We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens, but plan well.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Plantation & Gardens

Magnolia Plantation & Gardens
3550 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414
800 367-3517
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 96 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of the oldest garden in America.
derby, kansas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens, but plan well.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We toured the gardens took the nature tram, had a bite of lunch then did the swamp garden. I would not recommend doing the tram and then walk the swamp tour, very much the same thing. Plus no maps and tiring. I wish we would have done the cabin tour instead. The gardens would be really nice when either the azealas or the Camilla's were blooming.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    893
    606
    249
    76
    47
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So relaxing - A real getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

As struggling graduate students, my fiance tried to be really picky with what we saw when on our weekend getaway to Charleston. We chose to try Magnolia for it's great reviews and relatively descent price. We chose to also take the tram tour which ended up being really nice and a great way to see all the grounds in a short time. We also ate at the Pineapple Cafe which had surprisingly great food for a concession-stand-type eatery. A huge bonus for me was the ample shade along the garden trails and the option to just wander around the grounds. The only reason I don't get it five stars is because I think it's a little much to charge a person extra for each tour (i.e. $8 more per-person for the house tour, $8 more for the tram/boat tour etc)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folly Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Springtime Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Walk around the many paths, some along the river to see a quiet plantation filled with greenery and flowers. Try to come in late March through April to see the showy azaleas. There are other things to do here, but I always go to see the flowers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Always good visit when we go here we love the place and the animals, did a boat tour it was great the captain was great, although I forgot his name he was great! Beautiful place full of history!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Very informative and beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent an afternoon here on a Friday. There is a fee for each attraction you want to do which you could easily spend almost 70.00 per person. We did the Nature boat and From Slavery to Freedom tour.

Slavery to Freedom Tour-45 minutes long. We got onto a shuttle to where the slave houses were located. We got about a 20 minute informative session from the tour guide on about 150 years of slavery. He really knew his stuff. We then toured the homes. The entire tour was very eye opening and gives a great idea on just how far we have come.

Nature boat Tour-45 minutes long-This was very relaxing. Our tour guide was great and pointed out alligators-we saw 2, birds, the state tree, fish jumping out of the water and information in general about the Ashley River. It was interesting to realize that it was once all a rice field

We walked through the gardens and also went into the petting zoo. This was pretty neat. They had rabbits, goats, deer, chickens, peacocks all walking around. They also had many different animals and reptiles in cages. You could buy food to feed them as well.

Overall, it was enjoyable, but tiring! Allow at least 4 hours if you are doing the 2 tours, the gardens and the zoo as that is about how long we were there. You will learn a lot of history and view beautiful grounds. I would also recommend going later in the day as there tends to be a lot of field trips during the school year.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Plantation & Gardens also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Magnolia Plantation & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Plantation & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.